We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Vicky V

Experience Weekend of 8 June 2024

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jun 2024
The staff is very friendly.
The place is lovely
Game Drives is very nice

Food is horrible, wish i could help them and show them what to do. Old pastries and bread. Tasteless veg, worst steak of my life, cant even cut it. No drinks included, not even water. Have to pay separate for it. No problems with cheap products, please just make it tasty and fresh .Suggestion: Do something small that small kids will also enjoy please. Don't close your saving dishes, it make the potatoes and rosties soaky. Rather put in on a nice tray on a hot plate. Do not use fake egg mixture, please use proper eggs for scramble eggs, grill your tomato slices. Al dente veg please, not veg swimming in water.
There was also a hair in the smoked chicken slices.

Not great snacks on game drive, could definitely improve it.
Not good value for money.

Room had rats/mice stuck in aircon, it kept us awake the whole night.

The seats of the safari vehicle was so wet in the morning and we had to sit on that wet seats. Suggestion: Please ask your staff to at least wipe the water of the seats before your clients sit on it. We didn't pay cents for this experience.

Further on it was very nice experience. Just a few stuff you can work on to make this place the best safari experience in the country.
The food definitely need works ASAP

Vicky
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aquila Safari, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback. We're glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and enjoyed the lovely location and game drives. However, we are deeply sorry that your experience with our food and certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.

We strive to offer the best safari experience, and your suggestions will help us make the necessary improvements.

Thank you again for your candid review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Ploeg Cottage
  • ZenHotels.com
7.1 km from Aquila Private Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dirt road leading to the Rangers Reserve entrance
No booking fees
    6.9 km from Aquila Private Game Reserve
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    25.8 km from Aquila Private Game Reserve
    Free parking
    Pool
      8.3 km from Aquila Private Game Reserve
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      1004.3 km from Aquila Private Game Reserve
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Exterior of building
      • Agoda.com
      9.0 km from Aquila Private Game Reserve
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      R 4 358
        2.3 km from Aquila Private Game Reserve
        The Entrance
        • Hotels.com
        • Expedia.com
          R 3 978
        • Priceline
        48.8 km from Aquila Private Game Reserve
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        Swimming pool
        R 1 783
        • Hotels.com
        • Booking.com
        • Priceline
        49.0 km from Aquila Private Game Reserve
        Free parking
        Pool
        View more hotels in Touwsrivier
        Reviews (969)
        Filter reviews
        969 results
        Traveller rating
        385
        212
        158
        98
        116
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        385
        212
        158
        98
        116
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews game drives cape town outdoor shower buffet style buffet lunch private game reserve overnight safari quad bikes following morning welcome drink our tour guide morning drive water buffalo wild animals horse riding amazing experience great safari
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        4 - 9 of 969 reviews
        Reviewed 4 June 2024 via mobile

        We had a three nights stay at the Safari Reserve planned ourselves quad biking tour Game Reserve spa treatment. Every member staff was amazing. They went above and beyond expectations after the first night we were told that because of room availability they would upgrade us free of charge. this was something that they didn’t have to do and if we hadn’t of known we wouldn’t of minded but the fact that they went to such great lambs to provide us with free bottles of wineand a room upgrade was amazing. The communication throughout the trip was brilliant and a great use of modern technology.

        Room tip: If you’re staying for more than one to 2 nights this Safari trip in the afternoon is the same so it’s better to mix up your days and nights
        Date of stay: June 2024
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank Ash S
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Aquila Safari, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

        Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us and that our staff made your experience exceptional. It’s fantastic to know that you enjoyed the quad biking tour, Game Reserve, and spa treatment, and that our team went above and beyond to make your stay special.

        We're delighted that the complimentary room upgrade and bottles of wine added to your enjoyment. Our team strives to provide the best possible experience for our guests, and your kind words are truly appreciated. We're also glad to hear that our communication met your expectations and helped enhance your trip.

        We hope to welcome you back for another amazing stay in the future. Thank you again for your kind feedback!

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 27 May 2024 via mobile

        We stayed for two nights in a family lodge with our four year old.

        Beforehand the communication I had with the bookings team was good, I had a few problems with my card payment as I was outside of South Africa.

        We arranged for a pick up, which went pretty smoothly, the hotel we were staying at can be a bit hard to find for drivers! The drive back to Cape Town was fine too, apart from an initial mis-calculation over how many people could fit in the minibus. A second minibus and driver were swiftly found and all was well.

        The accommodation was “safari chic” a thatched cottage and rustic interior. The hotel dining room was luxury though! The food was excellent, a piping hot buffet varying daily. At breakfast tea, coffee and juice is provided, and there is a kettle provided in the accommodation.

        Game drives were great. Not all the animals are truly wild, some are rescues and live on the reserve. The driver was knowledgable, and knew where to stop the vehicle to wait to get some great close up moments. Got free drinks and snacks half way round the evening game drive.

        Only problem was that the toilets and sinks were really high up, and we could have done with a stool available in the public loos for the 4 year old to stand on to reach!

        Date of stay: May 2024
        Trip type: Travelled with family
        Thank Rsdavie
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Aquila Safari, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

        Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you and your family had a great adventure during your stay. It's wonderful to know that our communication and booking team were helpful, and that your pick-up and return journeys were smooth despite the initial hiccup with the minibus.

        We're glad you enjoyed the accommodation and found the hotel dining room to be luxurious. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the excellent and varied buffet meals.

        It's also great to hear that you had enjoyable game drives with knowledgeable guides who ensured you had memorable close-up moments with the animals.

        We hope to welcome you and your family back for another adventure in the future! Thank you again for your thoughtful review.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 30 April 2024

        I had a truly brilliant day tour to Aquila Nature Reserve. Located only 2-3 hours outside of Cape Town, it is easily accessible, and is home to the Big 5, should you be so lucky so see them!

        Upon arrival at the main lodge at the Nature Reserve (the departing area for the game drive), we were welcomed with your choice of a chilled glass of sparkling white/rose or a glass of juice for those who prefer nonalcoholic beverages. What a lovely treat and surprise! We were given out registration slips and proceeded to do a quick 2 minute check-in at the reception desk (the staff check and photocopy your provided ID). Took no time at all and staff were very lovely to deal with!

        The buffet lunch was timed perfectly for our arrival - 11:50am and already set out. The included buffet lunch exceeded expectations! There were many hot and cold dishes to choose from, for example, beef kebab, chicken schnitzel, grilled fish, rice, yams, potatoes, fresh cut vegetables, fresh cut fruits, dinner rolls, a large platter of cheeses, fresh salads and an assortment of desserts. It was delicious and great fuel for the upcoming safari. Drinks could be purchased from the bar. We were given about one hour to eat lunch, which was a perfect amount of time!

        Lunch ended at 12:50pm, and we then set off on our 2.5-3 hour game drive, which was fantastic! We saw rhinos, elephants, zebras, giraffes, lions, ostriches, wildebeest, antelope, springbok etc. The game driver/guide had a keen eye and was eager to help us get beautiful photos. Also, he was full of information about the wildlife we saw! We were particularly lucky that day to see all that we saw. Obviously, nature is unpredictable and sightings are never guaranteed!

        About three quarters through our game drive, we made a quick 20 minute stop at one of the camps in the park, where we were offered more sparkling wine and free bottles of water. This was also a good opportunity to stretch your legs and use the toilet again.

        We returned back to the lodge from our safari at approximately 4pm!

        I had a terrific day, and was extremely pleased with my visit to Aquila Nature Reserve! My photos are incredible and I believe us to be very lucky to have seen the lions! It was definitely a highlight for me during my stay in Cape Town and I am absolutely happy that I decided to visit!

        Date of stay: April 2024
        Trip type: Travelled solo
        Thank ilovetotravel2838748
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Aquila Safari, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

        Thank you so much for sharing your superb experience at Aquila Nature Reserve! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a brilliant day tour and found the reserve easily accessible from Cape Town. It's wonderful that you enjoyed the warm welcome with a chilled drink upon arrival and found the check-in process smooth and pleasant.

        We're delighted to hear that the buffet lunch exceeded your expectations with its wide variety of delicious dishes. It's great to know that the timing and duration of the lunch break were perfect for you, allowing you to refuel before the safari.

        The details of your game drive sound fantastic, and we're glad you had the opportunity to see such a diverse range of wildlife. Our guides take pride in providing informative and engaging experiences, and it's wonderful to hear that they helped you capture beautiful photos and shared their knowledge about the animals.

        We're so happy that your visit to Aquila Nature Reserve was a highlight of your stay in Cape Town. Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to spend your day with us. We hope to welcome you back for another incredible adventure in the future!

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 14 April 2024

        We had expected this place to be massive - but it wasn't. It was friendly, clean and spacious with beautiful views overlooking the reserve.
        We chose a room on the third floor with an interconnecting room for the kids and found this perfect with a luxurious bathroom, bed linen and incredible view from our balcony for sundowners!
        The dining hall was a little crowded at meal times but we always found a table. The food choice from the buffets was good, piping hot and topped up frequently.
        The drinks staff were friendly and efficient and being a family who dislike buffets, found this a surprisingly good experience.
        We were staying for 2 nights so had use of the spa - very highly recommended as this had a small pool in a secluded garden for spa users only as well as the 2 indoor pools (one warm and the other freezing).
        As for the safaris - we had Nicolas who was brilliant and found us 3 of the big 5! The truck was rickety but we loved it - the scenery was beautiful.
        We booked private tours for our full day - and wow! Our guy found us everything we wanted - giraffe and .... lions! The 3 females and the 1 male!
        We loved Aquila - it was perfect for us as a family of 4 and would recommend to anyone!!

        Date of stay: April 2024
        • Trip type: Travelled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank MiriEgg
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Aquila Safari, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

        Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that your family had an exciting and enjoyable safari adventure with us. It's great to know that you found our reserve friendly, clean, and spacious with stunning views.

        We're glad your room on the third floor with an interconnecting room was perfect for your family, offering luxury and a beautiful balcony view for sundowners.

        Thank you for your high recommendation of our spa. We're delighted you enjoyed the secluded garden pool and the indoor pools, providing a relaxing complement to your safari adventures.

        We're especially pleased to hear about your safari experiences with Nicolas and the private tours. It's fantastic that you were able to see three of the Big 5 and enjoy the beautiful scenery.

        We're so happy that Aquila was perfect for your family and that you would recommend us to others. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back for another memorable adventure in the future!

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

        Horrible experience. Total tourist trap, way overpriced, cafeteria style food, nothing luxurious at all about this place. Rooms are outdated, cold, heater stinks when trying to get it to work, balconies full of pigeon excrement, exposed and buzzing electrical boards in the room, pathetic array of animals. Quite sad to think we paid in excess of 600 dollars for one night. Avoid at all costs

        Room tip: Yes, avoid at all costs
        Date of stay: April 2024
        Trip type: Travelled with family
        2  Thank BellaMaePop
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews