We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$219
View deal
Expedia.com
US$208
View deal
Agoda.com
US$187
View deal
Hotels.comUS$208
Booking.comUS$208
ZenHotels.comUS$294
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveller rating
293
187
141
79
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
293
187
141
79
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives cape town outdoor shower an overnight stay buffet style buffet lunch sparkling wine south africa private game reserve horseback safari welcome drink following morning tour guide spa facilities couple of hours their natural habitat aquila
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 788 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2021

We enjoyed every moment with Aquila Private Game Reserve. Our guide Max 5* to him he is definitely a asset. Exec chef goes the extra mile- awesome. Quad safari a must do. gift shop has great souvenirs

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Este89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan van Schalkwyk, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2021

Thank you for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2021

My wife and I visited Aquila for an over night safari and had such a lovely experience. It was my first time going on safari and our guide was fantastic. The accommodation was good for the price we paid and the food was lovely. My wife is vegetarian and we were happy to find plenty of options for her meal times too. Definitely going back and will stay longer next time.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ZakoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan van Schalkwyk, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

That was fantastic to read. as well as your feedback about plenty of vegetarian options. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2021

I have been waiting now a full year for my sunrise and sunset safari refund, that was cancelled due to Covid 19 back in March 2020. At first I was sympathetic and waited patiently after sending many many emails and was told that I would have a response in 90 days - i am still no closer to seeing my money. Aquila are making is extremely difficult to get a refund - now after 12 months asking for proof of purchase, after being ignored effectively for 12 months and not receiving hardly any updates - even though I have sent them booking numbers. We spent a lot of hard saved money and we are being cheated into not getting a refund. Our friends in SA are now trying to help us by liaising with Aquila and they are being spoken to in a very ugly way. COVID 19 is affecting us all and I am appalled by how a "Luxury" company is behaving. I can see that they are offering safaris now as people are leaving reviews in 2021 - perhaps they need to take care of existing customers first?! I do not recommend, dealing with them is very upsetting.

Date of stay: April 2020
    • Service
3  Thank Michelleandfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2021 via mobile

Our first visit to Aquila was unfortunately rather disappointing. The standard accommodation was fine and the pool area and grounds were great , but the food left a lot to be desired !!! For a 4 star establishment , the food was very very poor. The food was just mass produced , lacking flavor and poorly prepared. Definitely no trained shef in the kitchen. I actually returned home with a very upset stomach and cramps , which I suspect resulted from the fish.
I must however compliment our game drive guide Trevor , who was great. He is very knowledgeable and has a great passion for his job and the Aquila animals , as well as having a great sense of humor. All in all , the poor food , breakfasts aside , left us rather disappointed !!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank robinpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquila Collection, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2021

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2021

Aquila you are amazing. From the staff, the kiddies only game drive, marshmellows on the fire every night, two additional game drives with sundowner, the kids corner, stargazing and so much more. I highly recommend Aquila. When your kids cry because we had to come home, you know how special this place is. Aquila, thank you for an amazing weekend!
February 2021 - family getaway

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ClaireBester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquila Collection, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2021

Thank you so much, Claire. We appreciate your 5-star review and we are so happy that you enjoyed an amazing weekend, as you put it :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews