We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$208
View deal
Priceline
US$219
View deal
Agoda.com
US$187
View deal
Hotels.comUS$208
Booking.comUS$208
ZenHotels.comUS$294
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveller rating
293
187
141
79
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
293
187
141
79
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives cape town outdoor shower an overnight stay buffet style buffet lunch sparkling wine south africa private game reserve horseback safari welcome drink following morning tour guide spa facilities couple of hours their natural habitat aquila
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 788 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2021 via mobile

Our first visit to Aquila was unfortunately rather disappointing. The standard accommodation was fine and the pool area and grounds were great , but the food left a lot to be desired !!! For a 4 star establishment , the food was very very poor. The food was just mass produced , lacking flavor and poorly prepared. Definitely no trained shef in the kitchen. I actually returned home with a very upset stomach and cramps , which I suspect resulted from the fish.
I must however compliment our game drive guide Trevor , who was great. He is very knowledgeable and has a great passion for his job and the Aquila animals , as well as having a great sense of humor. All in all , the poor food , breakfasts aside , left us rather disappointed !!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank robinpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquila Collection, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2021

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2021

Aquila you are amazing. From the staff, the kiddies only game drive, marshmellows on the fire every night, two additional game drives with sundowner, the kids corner, stargazing and so much more. I highly recommend Aquila. When your kids cry because we had to come home, you know how special this place is. Aquila, thank you for an amazing weekend!
February 2021 - family getaway

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ClaireBester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquila Collection, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2021

Thank you so much, Claire. We appreciate your 5-star review and we are so happy that you enjoyed an amazing weekend, as you put it :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2021 via mobile

One of my preferred family destinations. Their covid protocol is brilliant. They are pedantic on the safety of guests and staff. The service was superb and friendly. We had a family chalet and it was so opulent in its tasteful furniture and designed to give privacy and family time too. We saw the big 5 and educated to each animal, even fun facts to keep us entertained. Aquila is by far still one of the best places in Africa. Ohhhh and had a great massage in the spa.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SamP3446
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquila Collection, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2021

Thank you for this great review, Sam. We are so glad to hear that you felt safe and enjoyed the full Aquila experience! We hope you'll return soon.

Best wishes,
Team Aquila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2021 via mobile

We had an awesome time just to short. Food was excellent and the staff are friendly and go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. The game drives are amazing.
The ambiance of the place is awesome and they are strickly Covid protocol. Loved it and will definitely come back and recommend wherever we go. Thumbs up.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 610annelener
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquila Collection, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2021

Thank you very much for this wonderful 5-star review. We appreciate that you'll share your great experience with others and that you hope to be back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021

Booked an overnight stay for last March, COVID meant that this had to be cancelled. Aquila said that they would refund yet 9 months and countless ignored emails later I still haven’t received it. I can’t comment on how beautiful the place is as I don’t intend to visit if this is how they treat their paying customers!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank BethN1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews