We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aquila Private Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
Loganda Karoo Lodge(Touwsrivier)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$161
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Milner Hotel(Matjiesfontein)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$122
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Draaiberg Farm(Touwsrivier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
222
148
102
59
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
148
102
59
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape townon arrivalbuffet stylefood was greatan overnight stayrescue centreamazing experiencekruger parkwide varietylunch and dinneroutdoor showergreat safaritake photossouth africawelcome drinkhour drivegreat value for money
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Great to see the Big 5 and beautiful property, but definitely felt like people were being pumped through. Much busier and more commercial feeling than I had hoped. Front desk staff needs serious help in being welcoming, friendly, and answering questions. Would much prefer an alternative to the buffet--got really old for a 2 night stay eating every meal there. Also buffet lends itself to the feeling that people are just being pumped through. Nice spa, and had fun on the trail ride. But next time will look for something more intimate and more wild, so that we don't see fences and lions not in enclosure, etc. Kids club was the best part, as well as the babysitting service. Our kids had a great time in this indoor/outdoor space.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBGWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquilaSafari, Public Relations Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hello.

Thank you for writing to us about your most pleasant Aquila experience. We offer a child-friendly safari experience, and we are glad that your kids enjoyed themselves at our property.

The spa is a really luxurious treat to the Big 5 experience.

Thanks for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I have a stayed at Aquila a couple of times, and the experience is always a treat! Just a 2 hour drive from Cape Town allows for a convenient African bush getaway - even if just for 24 hours.

Staff are always friendly and the schedule of activities runs to time. Being a smaller reserve allows for ample and varied animal-sightings - with most if not all big game seen over the course of the two drives - afternoon and evening. The Arc is also a wonderful initiative!!

On this particular trip we made use of the wonderful Tranquila (clever name) Spa facilities - what blissful relaxation!! Sauna and Steam Room... mildly heated waterfall pools... and excellently trained therapists - from the local community too! We had wonderful massages and facials, as well as manicures and pedicures and felt totally revived afterwards. I would HIGHLY recommend using the spa facilities at Aquila.

The food was particularly delicious this trip ...being a buffet it's incredibly dangerous for the waistline... MORE!
I loved the African dishes - the kudu steak was superb, as was the eland stew. All 3 meals are eat all you like - one just needs to be disciplined to not overdo it!

Our room was lovely - we love the fact there is no TV in the rooms - it forces you to be present and to slow down. And bathroom facilities were lovely - rain shower!
As a Cape Tonian I was very impressed to see the politely worded signs imploring people to conserve water during this drought crisis.

Thank you for a wonderful stay! Looking forward to the next one

Room Tip: If you can afford a hotel room overlooking the reserve, you're in for a treat!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RobynB_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquilaSafari, Public Relations Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi!

Yes, we agree: all guests should at least have a spa tour! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest at the reserve. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This has been on our bucket list for a long time and we were very excited about going.Our overall experience was great, we had a fabulous time, our room was lovely overlooking the park. Premier Room. Nice balcony, with chairs and a small table. Bedroom was nice, bed was comfortable and bathroom nice. Small things , didn't replace our water in the fridge, no ice or ice tray in the fridge. Restaurant is big and impersonal, food is buffet style and was fine. Desserts were very cake type desserts which is not everyone's cup of tea. Game drives were fine, not a lot of game but for first timers I suppose it was OK. Driver tried his best to make it interesting. Wine stop on the drive was fine with a few snacks.
We went to the Spa, very very nice great facilities and a nice treatment, a bit on the expensive side , but nice. Heated swimming pool, steam room and a sauna.
Restaurant service for drinks was.......not quite what it should be but OK, prices of the wine quite high.
Fabulous location, fabulous place , needs tweaking to be called a 4 star establishment, we had a lovely weekend. Would we go again.............no.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank davidP651AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquilaSafari, Public Relations Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Good day.

Thank you for the overview review of your recent Aquila visit. As mentioned, the spa is fantastic experience which adds to the already exceptional facilities at the reserve. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Was welcomed with a welcome drink and before our sunset Safari we had the most divine buffet lunch which as included in the game drive package! Staff were very friendly. Our Sunset Safari was such an amazing experience which we will treasure forever! We had the best tour guide ever. Thank you Wayne for all the information and the laughs! You made our Safari an experience which we will treasure always! The setting of Aquila Reserve is picturesque. Will take away Amazing moments from our visit!

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank 354raylenef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquilaSafari, Public Relations Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hello!

This is a great review. We thank you for taking the time to write to us about your unforgettable Big 5 safari experience: memories to last forever!

Thank you for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

If you come to see the big 5 in efficient manner it's a great place as the tours are allowing this in very nice way
But when it comes to hotel services it's 100% can't do attitude
Everything is either impossible or badly organized
Food is based on buffet service (drinks excluded )which is average and bellow

All In all best option is to come only for a day tour and avoid any of the hotel services

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank ibar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquilaSafari, Public Relations Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Good day

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your Aquila visit. We appreciate your comments are we are glad that you enjoyed you Big 5 safari experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews