We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!!”
Review of Spring Mill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mitchell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spring Mill Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Spring Mill Inn is my "home away from home", every time I visit my good friends in Mitchell, IN. It's always so quiet and peaceful there, wonderful landscaping, clean surroundings and rooms, as well. This time we stayed in an "Accessible" room, and it was excellent choice. Large room, with 2 beds, TV, desk/chairs, large bathroom, with roll in shower, grab bars, etc.
Only 'downsides' was low water pressure, and since it was down in floor below Lobby, they had a "de-humidifier" in room, that was noisy at night, if you left it running. We understood the necessity, and it did it's job, but was very noisy! Also, the AC/Heat Thermostat panel, was right above the bed and had a built-in night-light that you could not shut off!! Needless to say, one cannot sleep with a light above your head, glaring into your eyes! I solved the problem, by taping a 'brochure' over it, to block out light.
Dining room was excellent, as always......good home-cooked food, plenty of it, too.
Front Desk staff always good natured and helpful, too.
Cell phones will work outside and in upper floors of INN, but below the lobby, "zilch"........so if I wanted to text someone, had to go upstairs, or outside to get my phone to work.
Also, not enough hooks or places to lay your clothing or toiletry kits, in bathroom. Especially if you are sharing with other person.

All in all, excellent stay, and will return, again, when we are next in town.

Room Tip: Accessible room was on basement floor. Be sure to ask about the de-humidifiers and water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SRehbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor F, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you for your recent review of Spring Mill Inn. It is great you had an overall excellent stay. We are proud to be your "home away from home!" We look forward to your next visit. Kindest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2017

The Spring Mill Inn is inside the Spring Mill State Park in Mitchell, IN. We went to the Spring Mill Inn the Sat night before Mother’s day for supper with a group of 6. The dining room opened at 5 and we were there when it opened. We all had the buffet and it all looked very fresh. The salad bar had 4 different lettuce/greens choices, along with toppings, cottage cheese and other salads and dressings. They had an orange poppyseed dressing that must have been a house dressing as I have never seen that before. It was really good.

For the hot items, they had corn, mashed potatoes, green beans and cooked apples that were the best I have ever had in a restaurant. For meats, there was meatloaf, catfish, Salisbury steak and fried chicken that was awesome!! They say it is hand breaded and it was so light and tasty! They kept bringing out more fresh chicken! There was bread and butter at the end. There was a whole table of desserts, however, we weren’t wowed with anything. They had cobblers and chess pie and granny cake and pecan pie.

You do have to pay per car to get into the park, but if you have a chance, you should go, eat at the Inn and then don’t forget to walk around the village and visit the old mill!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Cebu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor F, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you for reviewing your experience while dining with us in our Millstone Dining Room. It is great to hear you enjoyed our delicious buffet while stopping by. Look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

My friend and I took a hiking trip to Southern Indiana. We decided to stay over-night at the Spring Mill Inn at theSpring Mill State Park. Let's talk about the park, first. It is wonderful. It has a pioneer village with a restore working mill that grinds corn meal on the hour throughout the day so that you can see the mill working. This would be a wonderful place to bring the kids. The inn staff were very friendly and helpful. Check-in was easy. The inn still uses keys to get into the rooms. The wifi is good. The food at the inn was good and the staff were friendly. They had a buffet for $11.00 that was very reasonable. After dinner, I went down to the indoor/outdoor heated pool. It is always nice when you can sit outside and listen to the breeze blowing through the trees. I plan to come back again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank jbenimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor F, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Sounds like you had a great trip visiting us. We were happy to meet your expectations in every aspect. We look forward to your next visit. Please contact us if you need any future assistance.

Kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Spent another delightful Easter Sunday and following Monday at the Inn. It was it's usual great time with the beautiful outdoors and grounds. Lobby is so cozy, they even lit the fireplace for Sunday night which made it even more cozy. Easter buffet was fabulous with great selections of food and desserts were top notch. Waiters were very attentive and nice. They had served a great number of people on Sunday and the chef's were tireless in keeping the buffet supplied with delicious hot food. Next day was quiet and peaceful and a great way to unwind.. Rooms are very comfortable and a good night's sleep is assured. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor F, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

We love that you enjoyed your Easter Weekend with us at Spring Mill Inn. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Lovely location inside the state park with hiking trails nearby. Older cozy lodge building but all up to par! If you cannot handle steps they have a ramped entrance. We liked the restaurant too; it was a good value, esp. the salad bar! No complaints. We were in the 1975 wing, very typical hotel room & bath. Even have games in the lower level and book nooks. The Village just opened for the season and the Old Mill Building is impressive with the water wheel and grinding stones and giant gears circa 1914 in the Village heyday.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoosierIU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor F, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thanks for the review. Sounds like you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and visit to Spring Mill Inn in Spring Mill State Park. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mitchell
17,4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bedford
96 reviews
14,5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
29,6 km away
Comfort Suites French Lick
Comfort Suites French Lick
#3 of 5 in French Lick
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26,9 km away
Best Western Plus French Lick
26,4 km away
Big Splash Adventure Resort
Big Splash Adventure Resort
#4 of 5 in French Lick
421 reviews
31,4 km away
Cobblestone Hotel and Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Mill Inn

Address: Highway 60 East, Spring Mill State Park, PO Box 68, Mitchell, IN 47446-0068
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Mitchell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range: R1 065 - R1 470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snuggled into a backdrop of stately oaks, this historic inn was constructed from native limestone during the late 1930s. As featured in Midwest Magazine, this location abounds in endless opportunities for recreation. Spring Mill Inn is located within the park, and offers modern conveniences that include a full service dining room, gift shop, indoor/outdoor pool, game room, and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spring Mill Hotel Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing