We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
102
77
28
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
77
28
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate parkgus grissomnature centerfried chickenhuge fireplaceindoor outdoor poolair hockeydvd playergrist millrocking chairsstep back in timeping pongrustic furniturepersimmon puddingdouble queenhoosier hospitalitysmall lake
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2017

The Spring Mill Inn is inside the Spring Mill State Park in Mitchell, IN. We went to the Spring Mill Inn the Sat night before Mother’s day for supper with a group of 6. The dining room opened at 5 and we were there when it opened. We all had the buffet and it all looked very fresh. The salad bar had 4 different lettuce/greens choices, along with toppings, cottage cheese and other salads and dressings. They had an orange poppyseed dressing that must have been a house dressing as I have never seen that before. It was really good.

For the hot items, they had corn, mashed potatoes, green beans and cooked apples that were the best I have ever had in a restaurant. For meats, there was meatloaf, catfish, Salisbury steak and fried chicken that was awesome!! They say it is hand breaded and it was so light and tasty! They kept bringing out more fresh chicken! There was bread and butter at the end. There was a whole table of desserts, however, we weren’t wowed with anything. They had cobblers and chess pie and granny cake and pecan pie.

You do have to pay per car to get into the park, but if you have a chance, you should go, eat at the Inn and then don’t forget to walk around the village and visit the old mill!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Cebu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor F, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you for reviewing your experience while dining with us in our Millstone Dining Room. It is great to hear you enjoyed our delicious buffet while stopping by. Look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

My friend and I took a hiking trip to Southern Indiana. We decided to stay over-night at the Spring Mill Inn at theSpring Mill State Park. Let's talk about the park, first. It is wonderful. It has a pioneer village with a restore working mill that grinds corn meal on the hour throughout the day so that you can see the mill working. This would be a wonderful place to bring the kids. The inn staff were very friendly and helpful. Check-in was easy. The inn still uses keys to get into the rooms. The wifi is good. The food at the inn was good and the staff were friendly. They had a buffet for $11.00 that was very reasonable. After dinner, I went down to the indoor/outdoor heated pool. It is always nice when you can sit outside and listen to the breeze blowing through the trees. I plan to come back again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank jbenimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor F, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Sounds like you had a great trip visiting us. We were happy to meet your expectations in every aspect. We look forward to your next visit. Please contact us if you need any future assistance.

Kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Spent another delightful Easter Sunday and following Monday at the Inn. It was it's usual great time with the beautiful outdoors and grounds. Lobby is so cozy, they even lit the fireplace for Sunday night which made it even more cozy. Easter buffet was fabulous with great selections of food and desserts were top notch. Waiters were very attentive and nice. They had served a great number of people on Sunday and the chef's were tireless in keeping the buffet supplied with delicious hot food. Next day was quiet and peaceful and a great way to unwind.. Rooms are very comfortable and a good night's sleep is assured. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor F, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

We love that you enjoyed your Easter Weekend with us at Spring Mill Inn. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Lovely location inside the state park with hiking trails nearby. Older cozy lodge building but all up to par! If you cannot handle steps they have a ramped entrance. We liked the restaurant too; it was a good value, esp. the salad bar! No complaints. We were in the 1975 wing, very typical hotel room & bath. Even have games in the lower level and book nooks. The Village just opened for the season and the Old Mill Building is impressive with the water wheel and grinding stones and giant gears circa 1914 in the Village heyday.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoosierIU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor F, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thanks for the review. Sounds like you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and visit to Spring Mill Inn in Spring Mill State Park. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at the Spring Mill Inn previously, as well as other state park inns. A five star glamorous motel it is not, but I wouldn't love the Spring Mill Inn if it were.
The old girl has her charms to be certain. Upon arrival, the beauty of this inn takes you. Built with limestone from the area, the inn is a perfect compliment of stone and wood. From the cozy recliners on the porch, to the lobby with its easy chairs around the fireplace, the atmosphere almost begs you to relax for a spell.
We got room with two queens. Nothing fancy, but very inviting. Beds were soft, the lamps looked like tree limbs with small birds on them, and there were multiple pictures of nature on the walls. Our room was on the fourth floor, on the back of the inn. With the trees not in bloom, we had a great view of the creek that runs behind the end, plus the bonus of watching larger birds circling the treetops.
As stated earlier, this is an older inn, not a luxury hotel. The windows look like the originals, and the heater was a little outdated. But I loved them.
The bathroom, on the other hand, left a lot to be loved. The tub was small, and the water never got what I would call hot. The biggest drawback is the overall design, where the sink is not separate from the bath area. This did prove to be inconvenience.
Overall, the room is what we expected, more cabin than suite. One funny feature, which throughout the inn, was two of the television channels were mixed up, with the picture on one channel, the voices on another. It was rather interesting watching the Teen Titans while listening to Die Hard.
The food at the dining hall was good. Myself, I have always thought the restaurant at Turkey Run is tops of the inns, but Spring Mill Inn runs a close second.
The indoor pool was surprisingly warm. The inn has two wonderful lounge areas.
Overall, the experience is exactly what was expected. A getaway to the woods, staying in comfortable but rustic inn, full of charm and evidence of simpler times. This review is only about the inn. The park itself is another amazing story. The Spring Mill Inn is what it is, and I love it.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor F, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Thank you for giving us such a detailed review! It is so wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Spring Mill State Park. We look forward to your next visit. We appreciate you loving Spring Mill as much as we do, quirks and all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews