We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Living area and bedroom open floor plan High
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living area and bedroom open floor plan High
kitchen 1 bedroom apt downstairs Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Living area and bedroom open floor plan High
kitchen 1 bedroom apt downstairs
Bedroom
dining area by living are
Kitchen
Hallway
Outside front
Beach less than 1 mile
Beautiful beaches!!
The Lighthouse Outlet Mall over 100+ stores across the street
beach less then 1 mile
Washington Park
Zoo
Washington Park Free Music on Thurs 7:30 in summer
front
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Michigan City, Indiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matt T
1 review
“Great weekend getaway”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My fiance and I spent two nights in Michigan City, IN. Our stay at Darlene's rental was excellent. All amenities were present and the unit exceeded expectations. Close to shopping, dining and coffee. We highly recommend Shady Creek Winery and the Indiana Dunes State Park, both of which are less than 20 minutes away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to activities
Liked least: Property seemed to be on outskirts of a less desirable neighborhood but was not an issue
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margo G
1 review
“Good for a short getaway”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

First off Darlene is great! I have a tot and a dog and she was happy to have both as guests. The place is clean, and if you're in shape, in walking distance of the lake. She had drinks and water waiting for us (she even had a water bowl down for my pup, so sweet), and in the hall keeps beach towels for you to take if you forgot to pack your own. I am not detail-oriented and it didn't hit me that the living room area is only closed off from the bedroom by the curtains which made for some quiet nights after the little one drifted off (the picture clearly shows this is the case, just pointing it out for others like me). Wi-fi was strong.

Be sure to walk down to Cabo's for dinner and some ice cream, both were great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Darlene, who is great!
Liked least: It is a little farther from the beach and not near any other vacation rentals
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Byron, Illinois
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thank you!! glad you enjoyed your stay!! Please come back and stay with us again..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pamela C
Fairview Heights, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This apt is directly across the street from the Lighthouse Mall and two blocks down from the Farmers Market on Saturday mornings. This is our 3rd time we have stayed here and Darlene makes you feel right at home. When we first walk into our apt she has cookies on the table waiting for us. It has Satellite TV and free Wi-Fi access and a full kitchen with everything you would need to make yourself dinner if you wanted. It's clean and the bed is comfortable. We always get the downstairs room because it seems larger and she has a smaller apt upstairs. The steps are steep and narrow and my husband and I are older so it makes it harder to carry our luggage upstairs. This apt is so close to the main downtown area that we can walk everywhere. We even walked to the beach; but we have to drive our vehicle to take all of our beach chairs and cooler and umbrella.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay and your kind words!! Please come back and stay with us again!! Thanks Darlene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjbear6
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great apartment and great location”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was a first time visitor to Michigan City and was so happy that I found this amazing apartment and such a wonderful host! First off, the location CAN NOT BE BEAT! You can walk to anything and everything (except the casino... that might be a little far). The outlets are across the street, the beach is just under a mile, cute restaurants and pubs all nearby. If you don't stick with things in Michigan City, the train is an easy 5 minute walk making a day trip to Chicago completely reasonable. The train can also take you to Indiana Dunes State Park or you an drive and hike around the dunes.
Now for what will have me coming back... the apartment was amazing. Darlene has put a lot of love and care into this house and it shows. The décor is great and fits the Victorian home. The apartment is well appointed with linens, kitchen equipment, A/C, and a comfortable couch and bed as well as plenty of seating and space. I loved drinking coffee out on the front porch in the morning and planning the day. Darlene was a great host. She makes you feel welcomed with a personalized sign, plenty of brochures to help plan outings, beach towels, and recommendations for activities and food.
I loved my trip to the North Coast of the US having grown up as an East Coast beach goer... and I plan to return to Darlene's!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well appointed apartment and the hostess!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
So glad you enjoy yourself!! Please come again, you all are always welcome!! Have a wonderful summer!! Thanks again for your kind words.. Take care! Darlene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing