We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute and Quaint”
living room view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room view
backyard kitchen view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
living room view
backyard
kitchen view
stop 2 beach
puzzle nook
bedroom with queen bed
bathtub with shower
sitting area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Michigan City, Indiana

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mel m
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute and Quaint”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice place to stay. Neighborhood is small and quiet with similar homes all around.
We bbqed and just hung out as a true vacation. The casino is 5 min away and there's a grocery store right down the main highway. The lockbox was a little sticky but my husband got it open.

The place was very clean. The tub didn't drain very well so make your showers quick. I have to say that the crickets in the basement kept me up the first night, but I caught them and put them outside the next day.

We'll probably stay here again if we need to get away again. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close enough to get away for a day!
Liked least: Google shows a pipe leaching into the beach by the house.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachcomb...
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic little place~ super clean and well stocked!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

This is a great little one bedroom with a nice stocked kitchen incl coffee maker and coffee grinder. We came for a couple of nights and went to the beach two days and drove into a white sox game and did the city one day- only about 45 mins away. The house has a nice open family room with pull out couch. There are beach towels and plenty of bath towels, but we also brought our own beach towels. We had four boys age 10-12 with us. We used the pull out couch and brought an air mattresses.. there is a rollaway also in the closet. There was a nice table to play dominos in an alcove area also. It was bit tight but with kids it didn't make much difference.

It was close to the beach but with all our gear it was better to drive and park about 6 blocks away near the zoo. Walking would have been fine without a cooler or umbrellas or anything. The parking was only $7 and there was plenty available. It is in and out parking so you can leave as needed. The beach is really nice with great lifeguards. The first day it wasn't busy so we parked pretty close to the beach. The second day we went was Sat so it was busier. We paid $7 again but parked in an auxiliary lot past the Senior Center and walked a short way over a dune with a boardwalk and it was less crowded on the beach down the way a bit. Definitely bring shoes to walk on the beach bc the sand is hot and it a little bit of a haul from parking to the water.

The house was perfect for us. We were not there that much except to sleep, but it has a nice deck with patio furniture and a grill but we didn't use it. It has a nice yard for playing catch. There is a washer/dryer in the basement as well as a shower and toilet. Great for boys!

It was also super close to the casino- walking distance, the outlet mall... the neighborhood was very quiet and residential with plenty of parking in the back.
The house was super clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but perfect for a getaway! I already reserved it again for next month! Camille was easy to work with via email messages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The price, close to the beach, great kitchen, and bathrooms
Liked least: everything was great. Nothing too fancy to worry about...
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJTravels...
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Affordable and convienant”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Charming affordable and convenient cottage sits in a quite neighborhood with all the amenities. On foot we where about 3 blocks Lake St. to Lake Shore Dr. to Sheridan Beach access , or you can follow Lake Shore Dr. around to the East side of Washington Park and there is a beach access trail ,by car you want to go past the Zoo heading west on Lake Shore Dr. just past the Zoo Washington Park gate parking entrance is on your right there is a $ 7.00 parking fee .There is so much to do at this park so pack up and be ready to spend the day .There is a Amphitheater ,Senior center on your east side ,Washington Park Zoo has lots of steps as well accessible ramps ,water park for the kids , volley ball , Lighthouse Museum , Marina , bathrooms as well portal pots ,on the Fri - Sun there is bike ,kayak etc. and a eatery over by the volley ball area ,there is a eat in restaurant behind the Lighthouse Museum as well a carry out eatery by the marina there is many memorials throughout this park .For fishing if you don't want to fish off the Cat Walk to the lighthouse there is a area behind the Lighthouse Museum you have to cross street heading west as soon as you will enter a area where there is a fountain, memorials, bench's to sit and watch the boats entering and exiting the Marina traveling under the raised bridge this area follows around and you can fish any where along here .The DNR open Mon - Fri for fishing permits on Water St this sits behind The Lighthouse Museum .The locals recommend Pine Lake to fish and boating ,from the cottage E 12 left at light onto E Michigan Blvd. 35 turn right onto 39 just about a 20 - 30 min drive .You can catch the Tram near Water St , I believe Beverly Shores or the Pines at the Tram Station for about a 30 min ride to Chicago .Route 12 has several access points to National Lake Shore like Mount Baldy etc. these parking lots fill quickly follow 12 in Chesterton is the State Park .This is the perfect cottage for a getaway with family or friends .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Affodable close to every thing
Liked least: Needs umbrella on deck in direct sun am -pm ,fire safety grill bottom is rusted out ,safety handrails at all steps in side and out
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WkNGetawa...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OldIe but goodie!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This was a charming old house that was very clean and comfortable. The bright interior made the place cheerful and restful. The furnishings were retro shabby chic even though I don't thing the owner intended it to be that way. Doesn't matter because it worked. The house is located very close to the beach but it would be quite a haul to walk. To drive and park is what we did and parking was $7 for the day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was clean
Liked least: No wi-fi and closeness to beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nano57
new Castle IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 1 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We have never done this before and this experience was great.  The house was super clean and close to all the things that we wanted to do.  Camille was very accomodating and easy to work with.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing