We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect for pony and horse loving kids

For those who don't know what pony park city is, check out their webpage... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2014
bartnouwen
,
Belgium
Pony Nirvana for Girls

We saw a video featuring the Pony Park City ponies, and decided to spend a long weekend there... read more

Reviewed 26 July 2017
Mari R
,
Washington DC
Read all 64 reviews
  
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
27
20
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
20
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small children pony ponies cabin park shows dutch tears stay towels vacation netherlands kick home bite parents
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We saw a video featuring the Pony Park City ponies, and decided to spend a long weekend there during our vacation in Europe. Although we had been to Amsterdam, this was our first time out in the country in The Netherlands, spending time with Dutch and German families and their horse crazy kids (mostly girls). I had been concerned about not speaking Dutch but fellow parents either answered my questions in English or found someone who could. We had a fantastic time.
LODGING: Our cabin (M7, not one of the new A, B & C cabins) was basic but fine and clean. After a long, hot shower, I was happy. My daughter loved the bunk beds. We brought towels and blankets, but we found duvets and pillows at the cabin. For check-out, you don't need to go into the office. You place your cabin key in a bowl outside and get a metal Pony Park City box for school and a bag of popcorn for the drive home (or to the airport, in our case). The welcome package included a straw hat, a bag of chips, household supplies (one roll of toilet paper, trash bags, sponge, brush), and a horse-centric activity book. The laundromat opens at 10am; tokens and detergent are available at the office.
PONIES: Hundreds of Shetland ponies, some bigger, some smaller, some older and calm, some cheeky youngsters. I was surprised to see bigger horses at Pony Park City. These were ridden by teenagers -- the Shetland ponies are for the 12 or younger crowd. We chose to change ponies every day for variety -- you have the option of reserving a pony for the duration of your stay but cannot pre-reserve ponies. If your pony is not a good fit, you can ask for another. My daughter's favorite pony was Nelson #321, who she had on the last full day. She and lots of other girls had tears in their eyes when they said goodbye to their ponies. The Pony Patrol rides around the park constantly picking up poop.
ENTERTAINMENT: There were shows during the day (Zorro, cowboys and indians, etc.) for which you would tie your pony outside the arena. We did not attend these shows as my daughter wanted to spend every single moment with "her" pony. We participated in the pony trek, but unlike the video we watched, the trek was inside the park and not out in the fields. There might have been an explanation for this change, but it would have been in Dutch. Everyone who participated in the trek received a medal.
FOOD: The BBQ dinner was good and inexpensive. For our other meals, we had gone to the supermarket before arriving to the park and ate at our cabin -- like lots of other families.
LESSONS LEARNED: In addition to feeding the ponies with hay (each cabin has water and hay buckets, you get hay from the Giant Stable), we saw families bring carrots from home, so we would bring carrots with us next time. We saw families put clotheslines or ropes to fence their ponies in their patios while they spent time with them at the cabins. We had to use plastic chairs for our "fence." Lots of girls were wearing t-shirts and hoodies with photos of ponies they had met in previous years. We ordered one (the photo came from our camera's card) on Sunday afternoon after returning Nelson to the stable. Our personalized hoodie was the last one made that day, so we recommend that others order their tshirts or hoodies earlier in the day
In sum, we had a relaxing and fun three-night weekend at Pony Park City. It was a bit difficult to pay for the stay (payment only by wire transfer, emails in Dutch) but once we arrived, we were happy.

Date of experience: July 2017
4  Thank Mari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Finally booked a long weekend as a surprise for our ten year old horse mad daughter. And we had a lot of fun.
You can only check in from 2 pm. Our cabin was basic but ok for eating and sleeping. Although I think it will be a bit cramped if you are with more than four staying in it. If you are tall use the sofa bed. And unless you want to rent our buy everything, bring bedding, towels and food/drink from home.
The place is ofcourse very kids orientated; shows, miss pony election,...and ofcourse shetland pony's.
You can not reserve a pony in advance, so if you want a nice one que up. Once you have a nice one you can buy a lock to make sure it's yours for the rest of your stay. We had a different one every day, all with a different character. Some do bite and kick but there are plenty of nice ones too. But it is still an animal you're dealing with. And shetland pony's are a cheecky and stuborn bread of horse. They all looked well taken care off. Our daughter had lots of fun riding, brushing, decotaring her pony. There were many tears when we had to leave.
There is a laundry, small indoor pool which is open late, a Mexican restaurant which serves nice food, two souvenir shops, the saloon for a quick bite a drink or icecream, a few great playgrounds, a small supermarket... I would recommend the bbq in the weekend, serves great inexpensive food.
We would love to go again

Date of experience: July 2016
3  Thank belgiantravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

The parc it self is wonderful, facilities of the parc, theme of the parc and of course the horses of the parc are the strongest usp's of this parc, for small children who likes to ride horse, great place to stay.
But being paid € 500 for 3 nights while we have booked almost 6 months ago is not a low rate for 23m2 one bed room with two staple beds of 170cm long in a room like 6m2. There is a couch you can make a bed out of it and than it is 180cm long...living room is like the couch, a table some chairs snd a small kitchen with too little kitchen gear. Bath room is 7m2 and not cleaned well and really needs a new face.
But the worst thing is the facilities and the service, you pay for 500 for 2 nights and get no bed good, no towels and only one roll wc paper. You have to pay all separately and have to make your own bed.
Reception doesn't accept mail confirmation sent by some company but needs all on paper, while world go innovative and try to let people even check in before they come and work paperless, here uou won't come in without...reception doesn't pick up the phone as well....by tge way there is no room telephone to call them but use your own mobile....

Dirty, old rooms, shabby airco which doesn't work at nigt due to move sensors, so get ready to freeze.

Best thing is riding horse for the kids and the great food of Mexican restaurant.

We won't be back unless they change the interior and the room rates.

Date of experience: September 2015
7  Thank EylenO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014

For those who don't know what pony park city is, check out their webpage http://www.ponyparkcity.nl/. It's a western themed vacation park where you get a pony with your cottage. They have over 300 pony's. Check the pictures :-)

We, a family of 2 adults and 3 children aging between 4 and 13. We've been there 5 days and it was very very good for the kids.

First of all: Don't expect anything fancy about the cottages. This vacation is all about the pony's and being outside with your kids. And the pony's of course. The cottages are basic, enough room to eat and sleep with little comfort. We've seen a few cottages that look newer, they are located in the A, B and C area if you look at the map of the park.

The pony's: most of them are Shetland pony's. They are full of character so they require a strong hand from the parents from time to time to keep them at hand. But once you get the hang of it, perfectly good fun. And after a few days when the kids learned how to ride 'a horse' they keep them under control themselves. We only found out after a few days that you can also 'reserve' a pony once you got one you really like. More info on this in the saloon.

The Pony Park visit includes unlimited free entrance to 'Slagharen amusement park' located <5 mins drive away from the park. Go there! It's good fun. Don't expect an enormous amusement park with gigantic rides. But for sure excellent fun for young and old for a day.

There's evening animation in the saloon which is not that special, but a good laugh from time to time. There's a few show's inside or outside which are for sure worth the time. Check the schedule, which you will receive on your day of arrival.

Overall: even though we had 3 out of 5 days full of rain, we had seriously good fun with the pony's. We will go there again.

Tip: don't get to Pony Park City before 2 pm on your first day, they won't let you in.

Date of experience: August 2014
8  Thank bartnouwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews