We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$151
View deal
Expedia.comUS$151
Agoda.comUS$151
Hotels.comUS$151
PricelineUS$151
TripadvisorUS$151
ZenHotels.com
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
42
18
7
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
42
18
7
4
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2019

In my travels I always seek a shelter of tranquility; Looking Glass Inn is such a place. Leonora and her staff are very welcoming and keep an immaculate home. I definitely recommend. I love the porch swing!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank run_g_e_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlislehouseinn, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

We are so happy to have been your shelter. What a lovely sentiment!

The porch swing is even better in warmer months - please come again soon - it will be waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2019 via mobile

We only stayed for one night and even we arrived after 11.30 pm checkin was no problem. The neigbourhood is really nice and the breakfast was very delicious. Highly recommendable stay for families as well.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Chbrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlislehouseinn, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2019

We are so pleased you enjoyed your quick visit to the Carlisle House Inn. Linger awhile on your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2019

This massive old home is now a B&B. It is located very near the city center and entertainment areas in a historic part of Indianapolis. This is a great location if you are visiting the city or friends in the area.
The rooms are well-worn, but everything is clean, and the staff are really helpful. The breakfast is a highlight of the B&B, with a large assortment of foods, and a different cooked breakfast offering each morning. Whether you eat meat or are a vegetarian, you'll be pleased with the breakfast.
Walk around the neighborhood on an early morning or evening. The houses in the area are beautiful.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlislehouseinn, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2019

Thank you for the 5 star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely B&B with lots of character. Yes it's quirky, but in a lovely old fashioned way. The housekeepers of this Inn were a lovely family who were kind and polite and eager to make sure their guests were comfortable.
I stayed in the Willow room which has an ensuite including a shower cubical. Very comfortable bed. I was on a business trip and I slept very well. Makes a change from the big chain hotels.
I recommend this B&B.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Heldron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlislehouseinn, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thank you for the lovely review! We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We spent a night here two nights ago, our first time. We were way-impressed!

The house is beautiful; the neighborhood classic and interesting; our room super-quiet and furnished very nicely, and the staff person (I wish I could remember her name; her daughter was assisting her) could not have been kinder or more helpful. Breakfast on Sat. was quiche--delicious, with many bread selections available. We felt lucky as there was only one other room occupied when we were there--had the house virtually to ourselves. Very reasonably priced--roughly the same as a 3-star hotel, maybe less--and we were within walking distance of the Benjamin Harrison home, which was why we were in town. We'd definitely stay here again. In fact, the night before we stayed in a regular hotel in another city and slept poorly. We both slept like babies at the Looking Glass!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlislehouseinn, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

You have made our day! Thank you so kindly. We appreciate positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews