We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cead mil failte- 100,000 welcomes”
other travellers have booked this property
Front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front door
Kitchen Second bedroom: 2 singles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Front door
Kitchen
Second bedroom: 2 singles
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Winnetka, Illinois

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TrishWood...
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“cead mil failte- 100,000 welcomes”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were absolutely delighted with the cottage and stayed there for 10 nights in April. It has everything you could possibly need for a very comfortable stay. The kitchen is extremely well equipped with full sized refrigerator and washer and dryer. There were extra blankets and pillows upstairs in the closet. The little patio area at the front was perfect for sitting out in the warm sunshine. Although we arrived very late, Maggie's husband was there to welcome us. It is near the lake and a nice walk to the nearest park. The beds were very comfortable but the sloping ceilings could be a challenge for taller guests. I used the Metro to get home one evening it a pleasant walk to the station.We would love to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen
Liked least: couch
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine378
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great 4 night stay”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for 4 nights while work was done at our place. Maggi was very friendly and ensured that we had a great stay. We were very happy that we chose this over a stay at a hotel, the convenience of having a kitchen and also 2 bedrooms definitely helped as we were staying with our children. The location is very convenient and we loved the peaceful neighborhood. I definitely recommend this and would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kela K
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy and Comfy Cottage”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This cottage is a charm. Maggie was very helpful and settled us into her lovely cottage despite our flight delays resulting in our late evening arrival. The pictures in the advertisement do not do justice, the cozy little home is much brighter. There were plenty of pots and pans and the owner was even kind enough to provide her rice cooker when we requested one. The cottage was very clean. The little garden, the walking trails, parks and a short drive to the lake, made for a very relaxing stay. Maggie was also kind enough to extend our check out as our flight back was not until late evening. Overall this was an excellent rental and we will be back !
KB

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela V
Holland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Graduation Celebration”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stated at this lovely quaint "cottage" and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rob and Maggie are terrific hosts. You walk through a door into a secret garden and hidden adorable cottage. While it's in the suburbs north of Evanston, it took us only 10 minutes to get to Ryan Field for a graduation celebration. Cottage is well stocked and close to shopping if you need supplies. Very quiet and private and truly a lovely experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness and
Liked least: Was a tad difficult to find but Maggie was watching for us and quickly directed us to the location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath D
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Excellent escape from the average Chicago vacation hustle!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Imagine waking up to crisp morning air with light fog and making your way down to the beach to watch the waves crash into the shore, back-lit by the sunrise. Now head back to the cottage for an espresso and breakfast. All before you head down to Chicago via the train. If you stayed at a hotel, you'd be standing in line at a local coffee shop while you figured out if you had time to eat or not before the Aquarium opens!

The cottage was well stocked. Towels, bed linens,and comforters galore!
The Kitchen was well equipped. Dishwasher, gas oven and stove, espresso maker, toaster oven, and of course a fridge. All this with a washer and dryer? Yes, leave half you clothes at home, just pack a carry-on. It's all possible if you stay at the cottage!

One stop at the local stores and your stocked for the stay. The money you save on not eating out will allow for a day of shopping downtown! Or maybe an extra tank of gas for the car you rented that you can park at the cottage!

There are not many places that you can stay on vacation that will make you feel at home but this is one of them. The bed is so comfortable it really amazed us even after reading the previous reviews on how nice it was.

Here is the best part, the owner's hospitality is wonderful, not lacking and not overbearing. The place is professionally cleaned and you can tell.
We will not hesitate to book the cottage next year when we're in town for a friends wedding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quite location
Liked least: No cable/sat, but HD over the air was available.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing