We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolutely wonderful property and an amazing...”
other travellers have booked this property
The White Cottage reflecting in the pool at 'Ginger & Cacao' property.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The White Cottage reflecting in the pool at 'Ginger & Cacao' property.
Pool in the jungle at 'Ginger & Cacao'. The White Cottage and the pool area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The White Cottage reflecting in the pool at 'Ginger & Cacao' property.
Pool in the jungle at 'Ginger & Cacao'.
The White Cottage and the pool area.
The pool area and deck at dusk. Perfect for romantic dinner by the pool.
Welcome to The White Cottage!
The White Cottage interiors.
Views of the ocean and the pool from the cottage.
Fully equipped kitchen, with dishwasher including, and dining area at the cottage.
Verandas. Perfect to relax after a long day at the beach and enjoy the ocean views.
Ocean views from 'Ginger &  Cacao'.
Verandas for al-fresco dining.
Bath & shower at the cottage. Not on the picture, a spacious walk-in closet.
Alfa-male howling monkey on our trees.
White face capisine. Always curious, always adorable and always looking for something to steal:)
Our most beautiful visitors, the amazing toucans!
Punta Uva beach at its best!
Villa Cacao at 'Ginger & Cacao' property.
Ocean view deck at villa Cacao.
Ocean views from villa Cacao.
Sitting - sleeping area at villa Cacao.
Fully equipped kitchen, with dishwasher including, with jungle & ocean views at villa Cacao.
View of bar & deck from the kitchen at villa Cacao.
Deck with bar at villa Cacao.
'White Corrals' bedroom with master bath at villa Cacao.
'White Corrals' bedroom.
Punta Uva beach on a perfect day.
Puerto Viejo beach.
Punta Uva beach at low tide.
Sloth-mama, the most gentle animal.
Villa Ginger at 'Ginger & Cacao' property.
Villa Ginger with jungle & garden decks.
Dining area by the jungle deck at villa Ginger.
Fully equipped kitchen with dining area at villa Ginger.
'Red Corrals' bedroom by the jungle deck at villa Ginger.
'Red Corrals' bedroom.
'Red Corrals' bedroom.
'Blue Ocean' bedroom at villa Ginger.
Bathroom with jungle views at villa Ginger.
Guapo & me. We found him on the ground, enjoyed few special moments with him. Now at the Sloth Cente
Punta Uva beach at sunset.
Caretakers' cottage, with the property laundry.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Dan C
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolutely wonderful property and an amazing time!!”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first time in Costa Rica and this property along with the location could not have been better...it exceeded our expectations completely. We reserved the whole property as we had three couples, all family members. We did not get a chance to meet Zvezda as her furry little friend/companion, Princess was sick and she was in San Jose with her. We love dogs also and Z truly is one of those individuals too! But she kept in touch with us throughout our stay by phone and showed a true desire to make certain we were comfortable and that our stay was going good. As past vacationers have stated, Punta Uva beach is literally a 10 minute walk away, not crowded at all, especially weekdays, snorkeling is good and evening walks with the sound of the waves..well, priceless. The town of Puerta Viejo is very close to the property both by car and bicycles. There is plenty of grocery stores for your food items and also some amazing restaurants to dine at. If you are into sports fishing, check out Wahoo Sports Fishing...Captain Pino was awesome and we brought home two meals fish! As I stated before, this property was perfect in every way, very private, away from the main service road, much wildlife including a large iguana that visited us every day and many toucans. The pictures that you see on TripAdvisor show exactly what you will see in person. The caretakers, Pablo and Sandra were very caring and cordial also and showed a sincere interest in making our stay a pleasant one. Thank you again Vzezda, we hope to return again someday! Best regards, Dan Carlson.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heynavysa...
Bath, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise!”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ginger & Cacao was an EXCEPTIONAL place to stay! Spacious, clean, inviting and made for the perfect relaxing vacation. Could not have asked for better. Great private pool and the beach was just a walk down the road (10 minutes tops). The owner went out of her way to make us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the caretakers. The disappointment was we had to leave our paradise and return to reality. THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH for making our vacation something EXCEPTIONAL!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
360Marie
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodations and holiday.”
Reviewed 25 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Wonderful place to stay, clean, spacious and the wildlife was spectacular. Could not have asked for better. Great private pool and the beach just a 10 minute walk away.
The owner Zvezda went out of her way to make us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble for her or Pablo and Sandra the caretakers.The only disappointing thing was we had to leave this little piece of paradise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
Dear Maree, thank you for your review! You were great guests, it was a pleading hosting you. I'm so happy you enjoyed your vacation with us and appreciated nature and wild life that we are so blessed to have. Wishing you the best! Zvezda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianaVq...
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Beautiful, wonderful, relaxing!!!”
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We booked our stay during the second week of the month. The weather was beautiful with warm party cloudy days and rain during the late afternoon/evening. It was humid as expected but not overwhelmingly hot. There aren't many mosquitos around the property but there is plenty of wildlife for you to enjoy. During our stay we saw monkeys, a sloth, birds, butterflies, etc. It truly made you feel like you were in an exotic place surrounded by nature.

The property is gorgeous. Zvezda was wonderful host who welcomes you and makes every effort to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. We stayed at Ginger & Cacao and both homes exceeded our expectations. They are clean, comfortable and are beautifully decorated with modern and traditional Costa Rican touches. It was just a beautiful place to stay. The pictures don't do it justice.

The beach is close by within walking distance. You can also rent bikes at the bottom of the road which you take to other nearby beaches. I highly recommend going down to Manzanillo. The beach is way calmer and much prettier though Punta Uva is wonderful as well.

We highly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely recommend this place and look forward to coming back to visit soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2016
Dear Adriana, thank you! You and your friends were wonderful guests and we really enjoyed having you. I'm happy you and your friends had a good time at our Ginger & Cacao property and in amazing Caribe Sur. Wishing all of you Merry Christmass and a very Happy 2017!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaFlind...
Flinders, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rainforest Beach Retreat”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the whole property (it has three houses on it) so that we would have privacy, and it was a perfect place to hang out if not out exploring the area, and had everything you would want - full kitchen, wifi, tv etc. Zvezda, the owner, went out of her way to make sure we had everything we wanted, she even made a trip from San Jose with some groceries I had asked for which she didnt think we could have got in the area (we didnt have a car). There was a mini supermarket though called El Duende Gourmet nearby that did stock everything, along with the most sensational freshly baked croissants - chocolate filled ones were sensational! The caretakers, Claudia and Adonis were very helpful and although they didnt speak English and I have limited, very basic Spanish, we were able to communicate. It was wonderful waking up in the morning to the sound of the Tucans croaking! The sound of howler monkeys were equally great, but they sound like something out of a alien horror movie! The only negative of the location would be the hill leading up from the main road, OK at night, but in the middle of a hot, humid day, you nearly expire walking up it!!!! but luckily there is an outside shower and pool to fall into upon reaching the property! good exercise anyway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor area around the pool, hammocks, shade, beautiful tropical garden
Liked least: Walking up the hill leading to the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing