We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Private Home in the Jungle”
other traveller has booked this property
BEDROOM
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
BEDROOM
BEDROOM BEDROOM
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
BEDROOM
BEDROOM
BEDROOM
BEDROOM
EXTERIOR
KITCHEN
LIVING ROOM
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
LeahVO
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Lovely Private Home in the Jungle”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I can't even explain in words how amazing this property was! I stayed here with my boyfriend for 6 nights during our 8 night stay in Costa Rica (this home was already booked the first 2 nights so we stayed at another home closer to town that was still nice, but not even comparable to this beauty). It was really nice to be able to watch wildlife (toucans, monkeys, sloths) while showering! This home is about a 10 minute drive from town and the driveway is about 1/2 mile long, so having a vehicle (4x4) is pretty much a must. Manuel and Emmanuel were the best hosts I've ever encountered. They helped us with everything from shortcut advise for driving to Panama (which ended up being a 45 min amazing drive), to best nearby restaurants, best excursions, etc. We loved just sitting on the patio watching wildlife and the jungle views. There is also a garden path that has everything from pipa trees to cinnamon trees! This was a wonderful experience and I can't wait to go back with my kids to experience it as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and Jungle Views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanManAla...
Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Truly Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for eight nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. We were captivated by the sights and sounds of the rain forest around us day and night. Each morning we were awakened to the sound of the birds and monkeys. At least four times the monkeys swung through the trees behind the villa. We not bothered very much by the insects or mosquitoes even though we did not always wear repellant. Even the rain showers we had were pleasant and did not disrupt our plans for sightseeing. Our hosts were very nice and helpful when we needed them, but we had plenty of privacy too. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a memorable vacation.
Here are some tips to make your vacation to this part of Costa Rica more enjoyable:
1) If you fly into San Jose, Don't drive yourself to this part of Costa Rica - it's just too stressful. Hire a shuttle to bring you to Puerto Viejo and you can rent a car from POAS near the Hone Creek gas station.
2) Bring plenty of cash. A lot of stores and restaurants here do not accept credit cards or even if they do, the system may be down, etc. There are some excellent restaurants very close to Villa Toucan, but they are expensive, but so are groceries, and you will not find many good fresh vegetables or meats in the stores near here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being so close to nature and the variety of wildlife we saw here
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindy G
Kuranda, Australia
1 review
“A beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 for a stay in December 2012

If you are looking for something different, Villa Toucan is just that. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens it is quite, clean and comfortable. Visits from the wildlife are a joy. We saw toucans every day, monkeys, tiny squirrels and lots of different birds. It is quite unique and had everything we required to make our stay very pleasant. Try to arrive before 5:30pm as it is best to clink it up the driveway before it gets dark on the first day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the wildlife visits
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique house with gorgeous view”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I, with our two children (ages 5 and 7) very much enjoyed our stay at Villa Toucan last summer. We had no problems finding the place or getting situated once we arrived...we were greeted upon arrival and received great assistance with everything, from operating the room "safes", to getting the wi-fi turned on, to providing extra binoculars for wildlife watching!

The charming house has a terrific location, high enough to get a cool breeze and with beautiful views from the deck, and very private. The layout of the house is quite unique, essentially two walled-in bedrooms, separated by an open-air deck, which doubles as a kitchen, with open-air/outdoor bathrooms accessible via each bedroom. We loved watching birds (many, many oropendola, toucans, parakeets, etc.) and monkeys from the deck, especially just as it starts to cool down in the late afternoon. Waking up very early to nearby howler monkeys would be annoying, except the sound is just so amazing and incredible (no matter how many times you hear it), that it becomes an exciting daily event on its own.

The only (minor) issue/concern was that because of the open-air nature of the house, there are bugs--particularly at night, we really couldn't turn on lights in the kitchen (or even leave flashlights on for more than a minute or two at a time) or it would attract bugs, including, on two occasions, a flying queen bullet ant! We actually killed both of them! We quickly learned that at night, it's easiest to just go in the bedrooms and close the doors before turning on lights. (I will say that I came to feel some love for the beautiful "golden orb" spiders that spin their protective webs in bushes, trees, and eves of the house, guarding against bugs!) The deck and view are so spectacular that the owners really should upgrade to some nice patio furniture to enhance guests' ability to enjoy them. There was a plastic table and some plastic chairs, which were perfectly adequate, but certainly not up to the level of the beautiful deck itself and the spectacular views.

The house is only about a 5-6 minute drive to several charming and beautiful beaches (and the best restaurant in town). Every day Emmanuelle Pinto brought us fresh eggs from their chickens (and these eggs were truly the best-tasting eggs I've ever eaten)!! It was a great stay...be sure to visit the nearby Jaguar Rescue Center for one of their regularly scheduled tours, definitely a highlight!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, views from the deck
Liked least: The bugs (mostly ants, a few bullet ants)--not specific to this house, just comes with living in such an open air jungle environment)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vida97
Battle Ground, Washington
1 review
“one of the most peaceful and great energy places to rent”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at Villa Toucan in the month of April, 2013. It was exactly the place my daughter and myself were hoping for. If you are looking for peace and great energy in the depth of nature, then Villa Toucan is the property to experience. You can enjoy the jungle right at you front door and be very close to everything that happens in the city at the same time. We loved the experience and will not think twice to come back for a second visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm family like hospitality
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing