We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little slice of paradise with a beautiful setting...”
other travellers have booked this property
California King sized bed w/ quality mattress and linens. A/C, Wifi, Satellite TV, Screened Patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
California King sized bed w/ quality mattress and linens. A/C, Wifi, Satellite TV, Screened Patio
Confortable living area. Fully equipped kitchen and dining room table.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
California King sized bed w/ quality mattress and linens. A/C, Wifi, Satellite TV, Screened Patio
Confortable living area.
Fully equipped kitchen and dining room table.
Full bathroom.
Hand Painted Toucan Bathroom Sink
The Toucan Stay Inn Private and Gated 1/2 acre +
Owner's cabin
Screened in patio with hammock, table and chair, massage table.
a place to read, nap or just relax 200 meters away
'Owner's Cabin'…with A/C, Wi-Fi, Satellite TV. A LUXURY ACCOMMODATION
Some of Our Garden Flowers
Tropical Foliage Envelopes our Lawn
Garden yoga Pavillon, Additional Seating and BBQ Grill
a visit to the Jaguar rescrue center.
As the Sun Sets In THe West......
The Toucan Stay  Inn (but 3 can\'t)...sometimes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Terri K
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Little slice of paradise with a beautiful setting in an amazing location!!”
Reviewed 3 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

As first time visitors to Costa Rica, booking the "Owner's Cabin" at the Toucan Stay Inn was definitely the BEST DECISION THAT WE MADE! My husband & I stayed 1 week at the Inn, and were lucky to have the hospitality, company & advise of the owner, Jon, throughout the week. First, I can't say enough about the private, secure setting with just a short stroll to the beautiful Punta Uva beach. The cabin & the grounds (gardens) were all very well maintained & very peaceful with an abundance of wildlife to enjoy. The cabin is very spacious with a comfortable king sized bed, full sized bath, full kitchenette, sitting area, tv/dvd, A/C, screened porch area (complete with massage table, hammock, & small dining table/chairs). To be honest, with the super powerful ceiling fans in both the cabin & on the porch, we did not once need to turn on the A/C, which was nice!

Things we loved:
1) Renting bikes & being able to ride them almost everywhere that we wanted to go. Jon was kind enough to call & have 2 bikes delivered right to us, VERY CONVENIENT!
2) Beach just a 2 minute walk from the cabin. Jon offered snorkeling gear as well as hammocks to string up if we wanted to make use of them.
3) All of the WONDERFUL restaurants very nearby (Pita Bonita, Selvin's, Chili Rojo, El Refugio, & Le Pecora Nero were the ones we made it to. ALL VERY GOOD!!)
4) Quite solitude every evening as we would wind down, but if you prefer the nightlife of Purto Viejo, it is just a short bus or taxi ride away.
5) I cannot say enough about the value of having Jon there to offer suggestions of things that I am sure we would have missed out on had he not recommended them (especially all of the great food). He even helped us to book our transportation back to San Jose for departure.
6) Waking up to all of the sounds of wildlife around & enjoying our first cups of coffee with them.
7) Having the pulparia (c-store) right across the street for snacks, beverages & other little essentials we may have needed.
I really could go on & on.....

Things that we disliked or were disappointed in...................yeah, I got nothing!!

It really was a perfect vacation spot offering tons to do, with a very laid back vibe as well, just what we were looking for. We definitely made a friend in Jon, even in the short time we were there. Many interesting stories & many good laughs!

We are telling our friends all about it & hope to return as a group to rent out the entire Inn (Owner's Cabin, Hose A & Hose B)!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2017
What a disappointing review. I thought you were happy here. LOL !!!

Seriously, THANK YOU SO MUCH for your wonderful review. It's a pleasure to have guests who are interested in experiencing our "area of paradise" here in the Caribe Sur (Southern Caribbean). Thanks for the accolades on my recommendations, but we are blessed to have such a plethora of good International Cuisine within such a short distance, so I could have even mentioned others equally as rewarding.

Again, it was a pleasure to have you visit, and we are thrilled that you had a great time...and even more thrilled that you want to return with friends, and take over the entire Inn and Cabin. Mention my name, and I'll give you a repeat guest discount. lol

Pura Vida, mi amigos!!! I look forward to hearing from you again.

Jon Stierwalt (owner)
Toucan Stay Inn, Punta Uva, Costa Rica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris040
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful trip highly recommend this place !”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Minute walk to the beach ! Clean and well maintained! MIKE the manager is so informative on where to go and what to see. Most accommodating! Safe secure property! Bus stop right there to catch to take you anywhere. Absolutely loved out vacation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed yourself, and that our manager, Mike, was so informative. We are thrilled that you mentioned how safe and secure you felt on our gated property, so close to the beach, and that you found your accommodation clean and well maintained. I do get a kick out of the fact that my American guests seem to forget to mention that we have air conditioning, which is not offered by my competitors in the area. We do hope you come back soon. Next time, bring 2 others couples and take over the entire property for yourselves. Wishing you a very big PURA VIDA!!!
Jon Stierwalt (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrynjan
tauranga newzealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Get away from it all!!!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We caught a bus from San Jose and after a 4 hour bus journey the driver dropped us at the grocery store right opposite Toucan stay door at Punta Uva.
Tropical garden complete with outside cabanas and outdoor areas to sit and enjoy the very tropical setting. 50 yards walk from a beautiful beach . Very safe swimming and a total "get away from it all".with lovely walks in either direction on the beach
Mike will make you feel totally welcome, and be available for any suggestions for things to do during your stay.We were sorry we could not stay longer than 3 days . Enjoyed the monkeys on the point, and the sloths in the trees!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B
Keswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect and Peaceful”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I just spent 6 days at the Toucan Stay Inn in Punta Uva, Costa Rica. It is difficult to say enough good things about the entire experience. We stayed in the Owners Cabin and it was perfect. The cabin was clean and well appointed with fully equipped kitchen, large bathroom, king size bed, satellite TV (which we didn’t actually use but I did try it out), a nice sitting area inside, and a screened in porch outside. The grounds are beautiful, flowers, plants, birds all in great abundance. The whole grounds are secured with fencing and locked gates.

Mike was awesome. Anything we needed he would either get for us, or steer us in the right direction. Bike rentals, taxis, groceries, liquor, or anything else we needed, Mike knows who has the best price. He arranged taxis for us whenever required. He set us up with restaurant reservations at some truly amazing places.

Mike also was good at not being there when not required. We could sit on the large tiled deck and eat a private meal without even being aware of his presence.

The location is ideal, steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen, and a short cab ride (or a bit longer on the bikes) into Puerto Viejo. The entire stretch of road is a gastronomic wonderland, everywhere restaurant we ate at (all recommended by Mike) served food that was so good it is hard to describe.

My only regret is not staying longer, but the airport shuttle did pick us up right at the gate which made the trip home much less stressful.

Thank you to Mike for making our stay a wonderful experience, we will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to the Beach, Peace and quiet.
Liked least: It rained for a whole day, otherwise no problem at all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth B
Pell City, Alabama
1 review
“Little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

What a wonderful slice of heaven. Booking with Jon and his wife was incredibly easy and instantly I felt like long lost friends. They were attentive to my needs, quick with responses and very professional. Upon arrival we were greeted by Mike (the property manager). He was courteous, kind, helpful and just wanted to make sure our vacation was perfect. Mike made recommendations for attractions and was a great resource for information on the local area. We stayed in the JOSE suite, which was just perfect. It was far enough out of town for a peaceful retreat, but close enough if you wanted to get a taste of a busier type area. The walk to the beach was less than 2 minutes and incredible. The water was the color or high priced gemstones and sparkled just the same, the road was littered with local flowers and flora for just the right jungle touch. There was a grocery store right across the street for quick everyday needs and even so local beer! We spent our days, hiking, diving and sightseeing and conclude with a beer or two on the lovely veranda. The veranda had a hammock to relax in and comfortable chairs for reading. It overlooked a well maintained garden that gave you the jungle feel from the safety of the house. The room had a newly renovated kitchen which was perfect for us to prepare quick snacks and the bathroom was large, much bigger than I expected. The B&B was a bit hard to find as there wasn't a sign, but other than that, it was AMAZING! It was the little piece of heaven that I needed to get away from this high paced, high stress life I live. You will not just leave here with a relaxed outlook on life, but some new lifelong friends. I would book in a heartbeat should the wind ever blow me back that direction... Pura Vida!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, size, accessability, price
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$125
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing