We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Sunday lunch”
Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Theale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Fox & Hounds is an exceptional warm welcoming pub. We boast great pub dishes, if you are looking for a traditional pub experience you will be sure to get it here. We offer a great choice of real ales and a big selection of wines at reasonable prices. We are also fog friendly in permitted areas of the pub,
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

We had a great time the food was awesome the best Sunday lunch I had for a long time . Always made to feel welcomed and are table was for 10 people this was not a problem. I would recommend this as you must go we have been for lunch and Sunday lunch always a amazing meal and great value for money. I have a health issue and I don’t eat large meals the small plates are the same as the main but smaller which is great for me. Thank you for always making us feel welcome x

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank dawnwellman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jstils, General Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Thank you for such an amazing review we pride ourselves on our legendary Sunday roasts. Please come and see us again soon and maybe try our legendary puddings too.

Miles, Jayne & The Fox Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2018

We came here for the first time for my sisters birthday meal. Upon entry we told the bar staff we had reserved a table. This was met by a 5-10 minute wait whilst someone checked to see where we were seated. My dad asked a question or two about the beer/ale. The boy at the bar responded but half way through was looking elsewhere and wandering round the bar. When we were finally seated, we were given the menus and told "we will be right back with you to take your order". 30-35 minutes later we were finally asked what we would like to eat. Which made us feel very much forgotten as tables around us were being served.

The food itself was delicious and the portion sizes were perfect! Just a shame about the service we received.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joshua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jstils, General Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Hi thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I’m truly disappointed and extremely sorry you felt our customer service was not up to it’s usual very high standards. Without constructive criticism we cannot train our new team to be as good as our university leavers. I have shown the team your review and moving forwards this will not happen again.
Please come back and sample our very best customer service . We would like to offer you a two course meal for two people on us. Just phone to arrange with
Jayne Tilsley (general manager)
01189 302295

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Came here from lunch, chosen via just looking on Google maps, and it was a great find. Its not particularly near a lot, but the food was very well cooked and delivered very quickly considering it was busy at lunchtime.

Prices as expected, and the beer was very well maintained - all different ones chosen and a good selection on draught from Wadsworrths. I'll be happy to come back here if I can.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Visited The Fox and Hounds for the first time after hearing about being an excellent Dog Friendly Bar / Restaurant.

The staff were friendly, punctual and accommodating and the food was excellent.

We will certainly be returning.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DanF1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jstils, General Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We are delighted you all enjoyed your Sunday visit here with us. Sundays are always a full day so we do advise booking.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warmest regards
Miles Jayne & The Fox & Hounds Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Every event we have had at The fox and Hounds has been a success, last years Christmas office Party, Family birthdays, group meeting and weekly lunch with parents and dog. I cannot praise this place enough.
This week we were part of a group of 26 elderly people. The food was it’s usual excellent quality. Jayne, Laura and Cher were amazing making it a very relaxed enjoyable time. nothing was too much trouble. Jayne never seems to be phased by anything she has a great team that really make you feel at home.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jstils, General Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor .
We really appreciate the amazing feedback you have given. It makes our job very worthwhile.
We love catering for small or big groups an absolutely any occasion.
We all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warmest regards
Miles Jayne & The Fox & Hounds Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing