We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1 030)
Filter reviews
1 030 results
Traveller rating
757
225
35
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
757
225
35
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog loversmuddy bootsdog ownersboth nightscar ferrydog friendly placecumbrian breakfastbeatrix potterlake districtthe pubbunk bedsfamily roomhuge bedhill topevening mealroll top bathpie
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1 030 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I visited the CuckooBrow for supper on Sunday 23/6/2018 - what a fabulous atmosphere the staff and food could not be faulted. We loved it so much we booked for our evening meal for the rest of our stay in the Lakes.
The GM Head Chef Loredan - what a great chap and Michaela and Ryan could not be more pleasant and professional- all I can say the food is Devine the staff fantastic- the combination is fabulous- we have been coming for a meal to Cuckoo Brow whenever we come to the lakes - never have we had such great food, service and atmosphere- all I can say FABULOUS! - well done guys!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Cuckoo Brow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so pleased to read your glowing review of another terrific meal here! We love that we were able to top ourselves and give you the best meal you have had here over the years, a lovely accolade! Loredan, Michaela and Ryan are chuffed to be mentioned by name as well. We will look forward to welcoming you back again! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family (two adults, one child and one baby) stayed here during our trip to the Lake District. It was a very cosy, very rustic feeling hotel but we were made to feel most welcome.

Our room was on the ground floor and was very large. Our oldest child had the bunk beds and our baby had our travel cot which fitted in the room. The very large bed was so comfortable and the clean modern bathroom had a shower and bath which suited us all. The lovely touches to the bunk beds section of the room were the Beatrix Potter books and reading area, which our oldest child loved.

The dining area was just along the corridor and my only complaint was the late time for evening meal. Food was only served from 6pm, which because it was all beautifully made from scratch, is perhaps quite late for a young child. But when it arrived, we couldn’t complain as the food was so delicious. The choice at breakfast was great too. Continental and cooked to please all tastes.

All in al, this hotel really was lovely and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If travelling with children or disabled people, state so as there is no lift and the building is old with stairs.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank laurac3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Cuckoo Brow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Brilliant to read your lovely comments about your stay! We are so pleased you and your family had a nice time. We loved reading your comments about our popular family room and delicious food too! We really hope to welcome you back again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you do anything at all during your stay in the Lakes you must eat here! The attention we received and the food which was recommended to us was superb. The menu is really varied so needless to say we're going back again.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Cuckoo Brow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Love those comments! Thanks for taking the time to post them and for your all-important 5 star rating. Everyone works so hard to prepare and serve delicious meals and it is always lovely when people shout about it a bit on here! Thanks again and we will look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Gluten free fish and chips were a great treat. The chef was happy to discuss gluten free options.
Nothing too much trouble.

Good range of meals without being too extensive.

Doggy friendly in restaurant which was perfect for us and our 4 legged friend.



Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Madaboutdoggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Cuckoo Brow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for posting your review! We're only too happy to cater to any and all dietary requirements, and happy to discuss everything, as you know! So pleased you were able to bring your dog along, always nice to meet a new pooch! Hope to welcome you back in the future! Thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here and you cannot put into words how beautiful this place is ... from its location to the amazing food and lovely staff ....our room was gorgeous with its roll top bath .. I will recommend it to everyone and will definitely return ... Loved it ...

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank sandralockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Cuckoo Brow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We cannot be happier to read your wonderful review, it means so much to us! Thanks as well for the 5 star rating. Everyone works very hard to keep the Cuckoo Brow a comfortable place to visit for our guests to be able to relax and recharge. So pleased we did so for you! Until the next time you are looking for such a break, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews