We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage for our family”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Headland, Kent

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Indoors or out - your choice!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Indoors or out - your choice!
Master bedroom with garden views
Versatile room that can be used to sleep two (with a pull-out trundle), one, a baby, or simply to re
We are right opposite the Pines Gardens - a National Trust property. Lovely for walks
Local Kentish wines, ales and lagers from Biddenden are a great addition to your Kent holiday
Kitchen, table laid and waiting to start the evening! Table extends and can be used for four
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Margaret's Bay, Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lilymay05...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage for our family”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Headland for May half term and it was booked only two day before we were due to stay. We were very lucky to have got it for our holiday. We stayed with our two young children who are 6 and 2 years old. We were all very impressed with the cottage as soon as we walked in. The cottage is well equipped and it's at a great location! It's opposite the Pines gardens and the tea room. The tea room served really good food at very reasonable price. Our cottage is 5 minutes from St Margerate's Bay and on the footpath to South Foreland lighthouse. Many great tourist attractions are in easy reach distance. We won't be able to go to all the place we want to go this holiday so we will be keen to come back again and we would be very happy to come and stay at Headland again! Also the owners were very helpful and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A very disappointing week's holiday, we left after two days.
We acknowledge that the apartment was clean, well appointed and comfortable except for the main bedroom.
The height of the double bed was totally unsuitable for senior citizens (like us) or anybody with mobility problems, and it was almost impossible to get around the end of the bed.
Technically this property can sleep 4 people but in reality this is far from practical.
The final straw was an extremely noisy fridge which was very intrusive and caused 2 sleepless nights and 2 far from relaxing evenings.
Judging by the visitors book, we are not alone in our criticism.
Sadly we would not return or recommend this property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, and would like to respond to the issues you have raised.

1. Suitability of the property for 4 adults. The apartment is 41 sq mt which is comparable to 2 interconnecting hotel rooms. In the property description, we specifically mention that whilst the property could accommodate 4 adults, we do not recommend this due to the size of the property. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable, and feel it is our obligation to warn anyone wishing to rent the property for 4 people. In your request, you indicated that it will be just 2 adults with your niece visiting for 1-2 days, hence we did not additionally advise you during the booking process that a 4 adult occupancy is not one we recommend. If we were to list as 3 persons, we would not be able to accommodate families with more than one child, or parties of 3 adults plus a child, and we think (and also professional agencies such as English Country cottages think) that such accommodation options are perfectly fitting with the property.

2. Height of the double bed in the main bedroom. We acknowledge that the height of the bed in the main bedroom is not very easy for people with mobility problems. There is another bed in the 2nd bedroom that is much higher so that our guests can use it in case they find this bed more comfortable

3. Fridge: We take the comments from our guests very seriously, and will look into replacing the fridge with a new one asap.

I would like to call out that our visitor book reflects positive feedback from a large number of our guests that have enjoyed their stay - both in terms of the comfort of the property itself as well as natural beauty of the surrounding area. This is reflected in a large proportion of our guests that are repeat visitors as well as the 4+ star rating our property has received from English Country Cottages (Gold Award for 2014).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidgZ55...
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Headland is a smart, self sufficient and well equipped 2 bed apartment with the owners house above. Superb walks straight out of the road in front to the lighthouse or down into the village. Also loved the shingle beach at Deal and Walmer. There are some minor niggles like noisy fridge and pumped drainage. Should really be a 4* rating but 2 van loads of builders turned up to work in the main house banging about above us which we hadn't been warned about. That wasn't great so rating downgraded to 3*

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location. superb dog walks on the doorstep
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
Dear Guest,
we are pleased that you found the location excellent, and enjoyed the apartment. I am sorry that we had not advised you in advance that there will be some works on the main house on the last day of your stay only. The truth is, the works had only been agreed one day before.

Considering that I charged you nothing for adding one extra person and a dog to your booking, as well as spent half an hour with holiday lettings helpdesk to enable you to move the booking without penalty by two weeks due to no fault of mine, I was hoping you could excuse this oversite on my part of not letting you know about building works in advance.

Please also note the works were conducted 3 floors above your apartment, in the attic.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby10t
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent !”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Our stay at Healand cottage wasn't ready for our first nights stay, however the owners of the cottage booked us a nights stay at a local hotel, inclusive of breakfast, free of charge. This was not an inconvenience, but a lovely surprise and a wonderful nights stay.
Headland cottage was very impressive on our arrival, spotlessly clean, and very well equipped for our stay. Fresh linen, free Internet, dishwasher, washing machine and fridge freezer. We couldn't have asked for a nicer little cottage. The area is very idilic with the local pub a must to visit.
All in all we would defiantly be booking again for a visit, well worth every penny......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and the fully equipped cottage
Liked least: Had to go outside for signal for mobile
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie B
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning”
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

St. Margret's Bay is a very special place. The location of this accommodation is very remote and peaceful. Wonderful walks right from the doorstep. Good base for exploring the local area, Dover Castle, White Cliffs. the light house, Deal etc.. The apartment itself is spotlessly clean, perfectly equipped and cosy. It has WIFI but mobile connection is limited. It has two bedrooms but was perfect for the two of us. I would not hesitate to recommend this apartment to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No mobile coverage ( I am discussing with Vodafone)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendation, and for sharing your impressions of St Margaret's and Headland. Chuffed :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing