We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ancient Oaks

Ancient Oaks
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ancient Oaks
Sun terrace facing the swimming pool Scented pathway from the house to the carpark
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Ancient Oaks
Sun terrace facing the swimming pool
Scented pathway from the house to the carpark
Sun Deck with rocking chairs
Pool and sundeck
Outside hanger with barbecue and fridge
Outside  eating area with gas BBQ and drinks fridge
Dining Al Fresco
Entrance hall under the mezzanine
Kitchen Dining area
Vast open lounge/kitchen/dining room. Ideal for family parties
Large open kitchen/dining area
American style kitchen. fridge can deliver up to 150 ice cubes per day!
Master Bedroom
View from master bedroom
En suite to master bedroom
Triple bedroom
Large double bedroom
Downstairs Bedroom
Downstairs shower room
Staircase to mezzanine
Private garden
Drinks under the pergola
Spacious leefy garden
Private off road parking for 3-4 cars
Rock garden at Jaumatres
Boat trips at Crozan
View of gorge from the restaurant at Crozan
Games at Lake Sidialles beach
Cycling on the canal towpath
Cycling pit stop alongside the canal
Sidialles Lake with sandy beach, pedalos, canoes,.tree walks, ziplines and snack bar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Chateaumeillant, Cher, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Karen K
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for 1 week with 7 adults, 3 under 5's and a baby. There was plenty of room for all of us. The house is beautiful and exceeded all expectations. The gardens are lovely, plenty of room for the little ones to run about and the pool is superb. Dave and Di are fabulous hosts, even providing a meal on arrival (at a very reasonable cost), this was most welcome after a long drive. This is a lovely part of France and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ancient Oaks and hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan B
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Holiday House for all the Family”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from an amazing 2 week holiday at Ancient Oaks. The house exceeded all expectations, it was decorated beautifully and had everything we needed for 2 families with young children.
Most of our days were spent round the pool, which was the perfect size for the children to swim about it safely whilst we relaxed on the side and for us to cool off in when necessary.
Once the children were in bed, our evenings were spent in the outdoor BBQ area which was equipped with an impressive gas BBQ and a beer/wine fridge, both of which we got good use out of.
Dave & Di, the owners were great, on hand to offer advice and recommendations of things to do if needed.
We all had a great time at Ancient Oaks and would recommend anyone thinking about booking to go ahead as you won't be disappointed.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Oxf...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house in the heart of France”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here with family in June. The owners live next door and were very friendly and always available to give us suggestions on places to go and things to see.

The house is lovely and fully modern. All the bedrooms are of a good size and there is lots of room. I loved the kitchen which was very spacious and well equipped, but there is also a great bbq area and a nice pool to cool off in. The place has UK sky television and a big TV which was very good because we were there during the world cup and the boys got to enjoy the games.
.
The local area is exactly what you'd expect from rural France - lots of picturesque villages and little towns with plenty of vineyards making lovely wine, which we enjoyed whole heartedly . We went cycling a couple of times while we were there on bikes that we rented from the local town. The bikes were in good condition and the cycling was great - not too many hills!

Overall it was a great week, lovely area and the house is excellent. We are already talking about going back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: BBQ area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan m
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb quality accommodation in tranquil setting”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have hired a number of gites in France but this surpassed anything we had stayed in before. The property is big, and well equipped. Everything works as it should, including the pool, which was well used. Dave and Di maintained the pool on a daily basis. As hosts they are great sources of local information as required, but equally discrete.

The area is in the heart of France. It has wildlife in abundance, and masses of oak trees. While not full of obvious tourist attractions, we were never stuck for somewhere to go and explore or visit, and there are a number of country walks we have had to save for another time.

All in all, a great place to spend a relaxing but interesting couple of weeks and we were very glad we chose Ancient Oaks for our base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M
Kildare, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic family holiday home with every comfort imaginable”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

If you're looking for a home away from home with a pool and barbeque pit included look no further. Set in the middle of the French countryside this house is wonderful with every modern convenience and comfort imaginable. It was much bigger than any gite we have stayed in previously and was great value for money. It's wonderfully private, peaceful and quiet with a local shop about a kilometre away and supermarket about 8km away. There's lots to see and do in the region; Lovely walks, bicycles can be hired locally, lots of Chateau's to see, karting, zip wire/high wire activities among the highlights for us. The owners Di and Dave are fantastic with great local knowledge and were most helpful. They live next door but have a separate exit/entrance. They were always on hand if we needed them but never intrusive. A superb holiday from start to finish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. It was a wonderful place to saty
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing