We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped and comfortable cottage in a lovely...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Mouse Cottage

Mouse Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mouse Cottage
Mouse Cottage and village green Winter at Mouse Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Mouse Cottage
Mouse Cottage and village green
Winter at Mouse Cottage
Mouse Cottage and the village green in winter
Lounge
Lounge
Dining Room and Kitchen
Dining Room
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedded Room
Garden Terrace
All Saints 12thC Church Braunston
Sailing on Rutland Water
Horse Trials at nearby Belton House
Braunston Annual May Fayre
Braunston May Queen Procession
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Braunston-in-Rutland, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nokeyblok...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well equipped and comfortable cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

So well located 2 miles from Oakham and handy for Rutland Water, Nottingham, Stamford, Peterborough, Leicester with bus and train services to each if you want to leave the car behind. Some issues with the parking as there is insufficient room outside cottage if residents get there first, and some apparently deliberate blocking of space experienced. But you can park away from the property in another street if you don't mind doing so. This property has no internet access which may be an issue for those running websites who need to check in periodically but both local pubs have wifi as do some locations in Oakham. The cottage itself was otherwise perfectly equipped and furnished and the owners' communication was excellent, for which we thank them - we had a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to Oakham where you can park free all day if you're lucky, otherwise cheap enough. Rutland is a lovely county and easy to explore.
Liked least: Parking sometimes difficult due to neighbours.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Cottage”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We spent the week of 12th to 19th October in this great little cottage, it still has all the character of a small village house but with all mod-cons and comforts. We did not have the best weather but that did not spoil our enjoyment, the excellent Plough Inn is a short walk away and Oakham only a short drive. We also found time to visit the nearby cities of Leicester and Peterborough and on the one day it was fit to go for a country walk we found the footpaths well signposted through lovely landcapes. It was also very easy just to spend time in the cottage, it is very well equipped and is a great space to chill with a lovely atmosphere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being, albeit temporarily, part of a small ironstone Rutland village
Liked least: The frequent heavy rain, but probably not much the owners could do about that!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2013
We are very happy that our guests enjoyed their time at Mouse Cottage, we look forward to welcoming them back in the future. Marilyn and Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue c
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy cottage in great location”
Reviewed 27 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We spent Xmas 2012 in Mouse Cottage and had a relaxing few days in a warm, cosy atmosphere. The cottage had everything we needed and the village location was great. richard was very helpful especially as I ranfg him several times for directions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly village
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2013
We are very pleased that our guests had such a great stay at Mouse Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: The cold!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Dec 2012
We are really sorry that our guests stay was spoilt by a fault on the boiler, a full refund was the least we could do in the circumstances. The burner unit has been replaced and all is now working perfectly. Mouse Cottage is cosy again.

Marilyn and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lollomama
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous little cottage with all we needed for a great stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay in Mouse Cottage which was beautifully decorated and fully equipped with everything we needed. The secret garden up the steps was a tranquil and sunny spot - perfect for relaxing and reading. The cottage was so comfortable and felt warm and welcoming from the minute we stepped in the door. We were warm enough without the wood burner or fire but they would make it extra cosy on a colder day. Steep steps in garden and house make it unsuitable for people with restricted mobility. Although small it had everything and we fitted friends (family of 4) around the table for a meal when they came to visit. Two excellent pubs in the village with fab food which we enjoyed. Loads to do in the local area - walking, cycling, geocaching and lovely towns. Great communication from the owners including a thoughtful welcome to the cottage text. Lovely :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaint cottage with all mod cons
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2012
Needless to say, we were delighted with this glowing review and that other people loved Mouse Cottage as much as us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;