We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic Birthday Stay At Bay View”
Review of Bay View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay View Lodge
Reviewed 8 March 2017

I absolutely loved staying at Bay View Lodge for my first trip to Mozambique. The lodge was huge even though we only came as a party of 3. The house can easily hold a big family or a larger party. They have everything you need from braai stand, to fully equipped kitchen etc. The rooms were clean, the nets had very small holes but nothing a plaster or tap can't fix. The sheets and towels were clean. It is right by the beach which was amazing and brings in a breeze against the heat. Restaurants were in walking distance and local clubs/music/bars and markets were just a 10 min drive out to Tofo. The staff are just unbelievably amazing. We got there a day late because we took the "Short cut" (don't do this, do not follow gps ask Bayview lodge if coming from JHB and driving) so they accommodated us to stay a day after our initial booking. The security washed our totally wrecked car to perfection as if nothing ever happened. They even washed our sneakers.

All around I am definitely coming back to Bay view lodge on my next trip

Tip: A can of Doom and a stick of peaceful sleep in each room would be helpful since we finished ours in just 2 days. The Mosquitos ARE REAL OUT HERE!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverWears T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2017

we had the most relaxing holiday, coupled with great diving. the room had a brand new aircon which came in handy. simple décor but the room had everything we needed. the management , Sharon and hubby were very helpful and we look forward to returning this year

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 454laurenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Self catering but the 2 beach bars are both very good so we always ate there. Beach is great. Facility is clean, secure, friendly and well run. Only negative is not being near a supermarket or ATM onsite, the beach at nearby Tofo is amazing and there's a small town market and ATM there, 500 M in a taxi each way. ($5 US). So worth spending some days over there. Dive shop here (Barra Reef) is good, did a nice shallow reef dive, good fun.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Fatboylimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

An affordable yet amazing accommodation right on the beach.
The room is self catering and fully equipped to your basic needs, but since the lodge is steps away from the amazing restaurant Green Turtle, do stop by and try the octopus thai curry !!!!

Will definitely return to Bay View, Couldnt have asked for better !!!

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed at Bayview for 12 days in August. We were in number 5 which is 30meters to the beach with a nice garden. All the units are very close to the beach.
The units are a little old but clean and more than adequate. The domestic staff come every day to keep the unit clean and were all very pleasant.
The unit has a bedroom with double bed and mozzie net. A lounge / kitchen with decent fridge and gas cooker. A nice deck with a braai and a couple of deck chairs for lounging around.
Its a two minute walk to the Green Turtle ( a really nice restaurant ) and Neptune's beach bar, very informal and reasonably priced for food and drink.
The management at Bayview were super helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them.
The internet is a bit slow but hey ..... are you coming all the way to the back of beyond to sit on your IPad ????

Room Tip: Number 4 and 5 are nearest the sea but they are all OK the farthest room is 100m to the beach so no...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
14,8 km away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#10 of 19 in Inhambane Province
61 reviews
9,2 km away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 14 in Tofo
180 reviews
86,6 km away
Zavora Lodge
Zavora Lodge
#60 of 111 in Inhambane Province
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
Mango Beach Tofo
Mango Beach Tofo
#2 of 14 in Tofo
36 reviews
1,9 km away
Palm Grove Lodge
Palm Grove Lodge
#6 of 21 in Inhambane
26 reviews
1,1 km away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Inhambane
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Lodge

Address: Barra Road | Praia da Barra, 1300, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range: R747 - R3 337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay View Lodge is situated on Barra beach (Praia da Barra) on the northeastern tip of Inhambane peninsula with a long, sandy beach in front and an estuary behind the lodge. All units are within 50 m of the beach, offering self-catering or catered (full or half board) accommodation. The area is famous for snorkeling and scuba diving, and world famous for diving with whale sharks and manta rays. Inhambane town is one of the oldest trading centres on the east African coast, with one of the largest number of dhows (local fishing boats)occuring in the area. Guests can arrive over land - NO 4x4 vehicle needed - or can fly in to the lodge, with daily flights between Johannesburg, South Africa and Inhambane, via Maputo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing