We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$225
US$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mozambeat Motel(Tofo)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barra Beach Club(Inhambane)
US$189
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa do Capitao(Inhambane Province)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Beach Village(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Jules(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Palmeiras Lodge(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$372
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dugong Beach Lodge(Vilanculos)
US$480
US$384
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$1 254
US$1 039
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
35
30
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
30
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringminute walkmosquito netsharonaccommodationmanagementlodgemozambiquefridgesanddiving
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2016

If you were closer to the beach you would be ON the beach! The self catering accommodation is simple but comfortable and importantly has air conditioning in all the bedrooms. Sharon who manages the lodge is a star and will go out of her way to make sure her guests are happy, even loaning you some of her husband's beer when you run out :)

Room Tip: Chalet 5 is the closest to the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015

We were headed for an other lodge but arrived when there was a music festival in the area. Most of the lodges were full so we ended up at Barra View Lodge. It turned out to be a very good place to stay. We got a whole house to ourselves about a hundred metres from the beach. The house was clean and well equipped. We have nothing to complain about. There was even reasonably fast wifi at the reception.
Next to us on the beach was a bar/restaurant called Neptunus that served quite OK food and at the end of our stay the Green Turtle opened. That's the restaurant right in front of the lodge. One rainy evening we had an excellent dinner there.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargarethaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015

We spent our honeymoon (Aug '15) at Bayview, what an amazing experience! Right from the start Catharina was so helpful and friendly, Sharon and Gideon were incredible, always willing to go out of their way to ensure we had a good holiday, and the guards and cleaners were always smiling and friendly. Our unit was 70 steps (we counted) from an unbelievable swimming beach (long, flat, no rocks, warm water) and maybe 100 more from Neptunes beach bar (cold R&R's and good food). One evening as we reached the beach (60 steps in) we were greated by two hump back whales breaching and hitting the water with their tales! The unit was incredibly well maintained and kitted out (gas stove, stainless steel pots, aircon, fluffy towels and comfortable bed). As for Barra the area it is heaven on earth, the most incredible beach and estuary I have ever seen (we spent one day watching flamingos and the other swimming with dolphins and whale sharks), the people are friendly and welcoming, and the we couldn't have asked for better weather. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are literally on the beach but unit 5 is something special!
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mickaelam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Sharon and Gideon provided us with superb service, accommodation and facilities.
The beach was honestly 100m from our door which made the only morning traffic
a beetle building his home. One of the best swimming beaches i have encountered with many
restaurants available for lazy days relaxing and tanning. Neptunes, a beach bar was also amazing if you are looking for a lounger cocktail or two just 2 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Ask for the units closer to the beach although all are amazing!
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ttfromjhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed there during the long weekend,very pleasant and calm. We had a wonderfull time. We just got a little uoset because after the reception is closed you cannot get any assistence... I found out that the oven wasnt working after 6pm and there was no place I could go for assistance because the reception was closed. So if you going there, you better make sure everything is in good working order before 6pm. And I also wished there was a swimming pool... :(
But appart from that, it is great! :)

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ana Patrícia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catharina W, Public Relations Manager at Bay View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2015

Dear Ana Patricia

Thank you for posting a review and apology for the problem with the oven. The house to the right of our reception is where one of the owners of Bayview Lodge stay - permanently. We'll make a point of informing all guests in future that they're welcome to ask Sharon or Gideon for their assistance after hours.
If for any reason they are not available, the guards at the entrance will know who to contact for assistance.
Appreciate that you pointed this out to us and hope to welcome you back soon :)
Catharina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews