We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream honeymoon”
Review of Bay View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay View Lodge
Reviewed 3 September 2015

We spent our honeymoon (Aug '15) at Bayview, what an amazing experience! Right from the start Catharina was so helpful and friendly, Sharon and Gideon were incredible, always willing to go out of their way to ensure we had a good holiday, and the guards and cleaners were always smiling and friendly. Our unit was 70 steps (we counted) from an unbelievable swimming beach (long, flat, no rocks, warm water) and maybe 100 more from Neptunes beach bar (cold R&R's and good food). One evening as we reached the beach (60 steps in) we were greated by two hump back whales breaching and hitting the water with their tales! The unit was incredibly well maintained and kitted out (gas stove, stainless steel pots, aircon, fluffy towels and comfortable bed). As for Barra the area it is heaven on earth, the most incredible beach and estuary I have ever seen (we spent one day watching flamingos and the other swimming with dolphins and whale sharks), the people are friendly and welcoming, and the we couldn't have asked for better weather. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are literally on the beach but unit 5 is something special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mickaelam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2015

Sharon and Gideon provided us with superb service, accommodation and facilities.
The beach was honestly 100m from our door which made the only morning traffic
a beetle building his home. One of the best swimming beaches i have encountered with many
restaurants available for lazy days relaxing and tanning. Neptunes, a beach bar was also amazing if you are looking for a lounger cocktail or two just 2 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Ask for the units closer to the beach although all are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ttfromjhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed there during the long weekend,very pleasant and calm. We had a wonderfull time. We just got a little uoset because after the reception is closed you cannot get any assistence... I found out that the oven wasnt working after 6pm and there was no place I could go for assistance because the reception was closed. So if you going there, you better make sure everything is in good working order before 6pm. And I also wished there was a swimming pool... :(
But appart from that, it is great! :)

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ana Patrícia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catharina W, Public Relations Manager at Bay View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2015

Dear Ana Patricia

Thank you for posting a review and apology for the problem with the oven. The house to the right of our reception is where one of the owners of Bayview Lodge stay - permanently. We'll make a point of informing all guests in future that they're welcome to ask Sharon or Gideon for their assistance after hours.
If for any reason they are not available, the guards at the entrance will know who to contact for assistance.
Appreciate that you pointed this out to us and hope to welcome you back soon :)
Catharina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2015

We had cause to spend a few days in Inhambane in October 2014 after a glorious trip further north, and chose Bayview Lodge at Barra Beach to stay. Expecting it to be a let down after our stay at Pomene Lodge, it was a real highlight. The secret weapon was the absolutely fabulous restaurant there - called the Green Turtle - and run by French couple Joelle and Francois from Montpellier in France. It was astonishingly classy! Locally sourced fare, beautifully prepared and presented in a stunning setting on the beach. The waitresses were utterly charming too and Joelle and Francois are training up some local staff too. Such a pleasure! This is a real gem of a restaurant and I would have been blown away if it was in the middle of Cape Town but to encounter it here in the wilds of Mozambique was just so special.
From the start our stay in Bayview Lodge was good. Diane Bishop picked us up in her comfy car from the ferry and took us back to our cottage at Bayview Lodge which was a clean and spacious bungalow with the beach just a short stroll through some coastal bush. John and Diane were attentive hosts, and our stay was without incident. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caroline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2015

We stayed in Bay View Lodge over Christmas time and enjoyed the lodge a lot! Cleaned chalets, friendly and helpful management and staff, Fantastic position and Beautiful view on the ocean! It is not first time when we come with family and friends to spend holiday time in Bay View and will definitely recommend to everybody! Fantastic place!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ludmilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
14,8 km away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#10 of 19 in Inhambane Province
61 reviews
86,6 km away
Zavora Lodge
Zavora Lodge
#60 of 111 in Inhambane Province
55 reviews
9,2 km away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 14 in Tofo
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
Mango Beach Tofo
Mango Beach Tofo
#2 of 14 in Tofo
36 reviews
1,9 km away
Palm Grove Lodge
Palm Grove Lodge
#6 of 21 in Inhambane
26 reviews
1,1 km away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Inhambane
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Lodge

Address: Barra Road | Praia da Barra, 1300, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range: R747 - R3 337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay View Lodge is situated on Barra beach (Praia da Barra) on the northeastern tip of Inhambane peninsula with a long, sandy beach in front and an estuary behind the lodge. All units are within 50 m of the beach, offering self-catering or catered (full or half board) accommodation. The area is famous for snorkeling and scuba diving, and world famous for diving with whale sharks and manta rays. Inhambane town is one of the oldest trading centres on the east African coast, with one of the largest number of dhows (local fishing boats)occuring in the area. Guests can arrive over land - NO 4x4 vehicle needed - or can fly in to the lodge, with daily flights between Johannesburg, South Africa and Inhambane, via Maputo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing