We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent value for a break in the Yarra Ranges”
other travellers have booked this property
The private entrance to your suite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The private entrance to your suite
Lounge with gas log fire, air-con and piano Lounge has flat screen tv and dvd's for your use
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The private entrance to your suite
Lounge with gas log fire, air-con and piano
Lounge has flat screen tv and dvd's for your use
Looking toward your private dining room
a perfect place to relax
Breakfast provisions are provided
Special dietary requirements are catered for.
Your queen bed comes with electric blanket for those cold nights.
The bedroom is spacious with built in robes
The second bedroom with 2 single beds
The second bedroom with gum tree mural done by local artist in 1992
Your private bathroom includes a cast iron claw foot bath
Toiletries are provided for your use
The back garden where the birds come to visit.
Your private patio to enjoy a relaxing drink
Rainbow Lorikeets that visit occassionally
King parrots and kookaburra enjoying the patio
Our friendly Kookaburra that comes to visit every few days
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Upwey, Greater Melbourne, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
james j
Ulverstone, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value for a break in the Yarra Ranges”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

we stayed at rosella cottage for two nights while attending an exhibition opening at nearby Burrinja Gallery. The cottage was excellent value, and we could not fault it. Highly recommended and we would happily return if in the area..

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26leah
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“a charming cottage in the beautiful dandenong ranges”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and i and our 3 year old son stayed at Rosella bed and breakfast for a 2 night getaway from the hustle and bustle of Melbourne city. i am very pedantic with cleanliness and i must say that upon arrival the cottage was immaculately clean as well as a very comfortable bed and couches. the cottage was furnished beautifully with taste and charm and had all the comforts you would expect from luxury accomadation. we loved the log fireplace to warm us up in the evenings and overall it was a lovely getaway.
i must also mention that we were suprised at how many books and toys and games there were in the second bedroom that we weren't expecting. our son was kept occupied for hours and even let us sleep late in the morning!! Thankyou Irene and Duncan for such a lovely stay, we hope to be back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: log fireplace, electric blankets, super comfy couches
Liked least: bath. it was clean but too small for the two of us together.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toomanyke...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in April 2015

A private, cozy, comfortable 2 bedroom cottage. Perfect spot to base ourselves to explore the area.

It felt just like being at home with own lounge room - with fire place, TV/DVD Player and DVD's to choose from, 2 large bedrooms with ample space for a small family.
The owners couldn't have been more accommodating, they set up a small trundle bed in the main room for our 3 year old and he loved it!

There is no kitchen, however Duncan and his wife provided a breakfast hamper every morning with clean dishes and took the dirty ones away each day.

If I'm every back in this area I would definitely look at staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent - Peace, tranquility, comfort”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed a weekend in Rosella Cottage. It was superb. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. It has everything you need. The owners are lovely. Great eating around the area. A beautiful setting. Many walks in the area as well as on site. I would recommend it without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pensees20...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOOK NO FURTHER”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Travelling to the exquisite Dandenong area? Look no further than this cottage for a most homely place to reside. You will be richly blessed by the stellar hospitality of Irene and Duncan
Ferguson. The cottage is spotlessly clean and the "extra touches" such as bathing by candlelight are unique. I found the bed exceptionally comfortable, and the crockery and cutlery exceptional too. One wakes up each day filled with the joys of the surrounding birds, such as the renowned Rosellas and the King Parrots. The LOCATION of this cottage is just what I required to explore the surrounding area and to prepare for my research work at hand.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing