We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant both amazing service ”
Review of Grotto San Rocco

Grotto San Rocco
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Pugerna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$85
Cuisines: Barbecue, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

We just looked up on trip advisor what is a very good grotto close to the lake and we found this very amazing place.
As already mentioned it's difficult to go there, but it's worth to go there!!!
We had a nice conversation with the owner and he recommended us the very best dishes of his cuisine!
We have been amazed by the wonderful view from the terrace.
We had a 3 course dinner with the most excellent cuisine, very good quality and a amazing service!
We would recommend this place to everyone who want to have something special in Lugano and around.
Thx a lot!!!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Rayk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel W, Manager at Grotto San Rocco, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you here at Grotto San Rocco.
Kind regards from Caprino

Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2016

This restaurant is hard to get too., unless you have a car, its on the Italian side of the lake Lugano. The other alternative is to take a water taxi but this cost adds to your expenses but I think the public ferries stop at the restaurant. Good fresh local qnd other seafood at reasonable prices, good wines. Great views over the lake right at the doorstep.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

Exelent food and service! Went there with my husbend, and enjoyed lunch near the Lugano lake. A real pearl on the lake shore!

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Rinat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

I went there with my wife and my kids,, the view was so romantic at sunset. Besides, there were people around had been enjoying their meal while laughing and chitchat..

So relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere..

The food was so delicious and well made.. We liked the sea-pass fish dish.

The stuff was so friendly and they help us very well to avoid pork and meat to have vegetarian food.. As we are muslims

Special thanks to Mr. Michel..

We are planning to visit the restaurant again.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Hamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

If you take the boat ride around lake Lugano, one of the stops is San Rocco. It has one restaurant and a few houses so most people don't get off, but we decided to try it. It was some of the best food we have had in ten days mostly in Italy. The appetizer they brought out to start it was very good (antipasti), and we took the servers advice on some good house wine that was a white merlot (it was refreshing on a hot day). The salad with pears was unique and tasty. We had a delicious gnocchi and spaghetti Emilio that were enough for three of us. We finished with an apricot tort that was light for a hot day and delicious. We had about 2 and half hours between boat stops, and it was no problem on a hot day as they have great shade trees, and the food and drinks were so good. Plus, that view was great.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank MizzouLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grotto San Rocco also viewed

 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Grotto San Rocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing