We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Finca Amanecer

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
bbq area The pool area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
bbq area
The pool area
stairs to the terrace, this overlooks the pool area
terrace area
bbq area
the finca doesn't look that big on this photo, but the cave is to the left of the stairs
mountain view, great walk to the top of here, 2 hrs up, 1 hour down
pool bar
twin bedroom
double room main house
ensuite master bathroom
master bedroom main house
main house kitchen
main house living room
pool area
cave house bedroom
cave house kitchen
cave house family bathroom
cave house living room
the orchard, many fruit trees grow here, feel free to pick and eat whatever is in season
La Murada
the main village road, La Murada, 10 minute walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Finca -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Orihuela, Province of Alicante, Valencian Country

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alibri196...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wow!!!
Stayed hear mid August with my family, 10 of us in total, and had such an amazing holiday at this beautiful finca that none of us wanted to leave !
The main house was immaculately presented with tiled floors throughout, gorgeous bedrooms and a fully fitted kitchen. The owners had thought about everything from a corkscrew to a washing machine to make our stay as comfortable as possible! The attached cave house is truly amazing! It's a little maze of bedrooms, living areas a bathroom and games room! As it's built into the land it keeps really cool, even during the scorching hot August days! The teenagers in our party absolutely loved the cave as it was their own self contained space! Really quirky!! The outdoor space is split into three areas. This again was wonderful for our large party as we never felt on top of one another, there was always a place to sit in peace if needed. Immediately outside the main house is a large patio, lovely for relaxing in the evening whilst the barbecue cooked away. Down from this into a lower level is the fantastic pool area. Lots of sun loungers for lazy days! The pool was cleaned twice during our stay. The views here are breathtaking, the gorgeous surrounding mountain terrain in all its glory ! Further down is a gravelled garden area, where you can sit and just take in the view!
The local village of La Murada is within walking distance, although i would recommended to have car when staying here as there is so much to explore! The village is what I class as "real Spain". It's not Benidorm so expect the locals to speak to you in Spanish! There is a great choice of small bars, restaurants a supermarket, bread shop, fish shop etc and the best pizza take away ever!! We had a few hilarious nights out in the Village where everyone made us feel welcome, particularly as the wine flowed and we became braver with our limited Spanish!!
We loved the whole holiday experience here!
The owners could not have done enough to make our stay such a great one, their finca is beautiful and I will, without a doubt be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
752SteveP
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay !”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a week in September with family and friends. absolutely loved the villa and everything was absolutely spotless. Martin and Dawn are amazing hosts and are very welcoming (The Paella night was great fun !!) La Murada's bars and eateries are brilliant and also very welcoming. Thoroughly recommended !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Going home !
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bubbles14
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic villa!!!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We are a group of 11 ladies aged 23-62 who have just returned from a weekend at Finca Amanecer and would definately recommend it. The villa was spotless, had great accommodations, pool and outdoor living area's. It's 20 minutes walk into the town which has some great tapas bars and a very, very good Indian restaurant. The Sunday market was very good and although we struggled with the language we met some lovely locals who were all very welcoming. Martin, who owns the villa was very helpful and accommodating. We used suntransfers who were also really good the driver (sorry can't remember his name!) was english and very knowledgeable about the local area. We loved the pool area and spent a lot of time chilling in the sun. The only criticism we had was the local alarm clocks - cockerals!!! There were quite a few however they added to the spanish rural feel! If you are looking for somewhere not to far from the airport which is clean, spacious and comfortable with an authentic feel and good facilities this place is great!!!

Thanks Martin, we loved it and had a great time!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good & Bad”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Good:
Village excellent for amenities, bars & market and access to other areas and beach.
Position of finca to village
Position of pool and size of finca
Owners response to fix and replace items and whole booking process.
BAD:
No one to meet us on arrival
Dampness in cave, after two weeks black mould on walls and bedding. Dehumidifier supplied which had to be emptied several times a day and did not help much.
Should only be advertised as a four bed for this reason. We had two members come down with a chest infection who slept in the cave.
Pool only cleaned once in two weeks
No bed linen change in two weeks because a washing machine provided. Could have paid extra had we known to have this
Advised to check everything on arrival as the owner tried to charge us for two already damaged bar stools, which were not adequate for use by water.
Owner also tried to charge us for electric for use of a personal fan in the cave
Owner also tried to charge us for an extra guest which was wrong.
This finca is in a village and has a lot of livestock around I.e. Cockerills, dogs and goats so a little noisy early morning but you do get used to this.
The finca does have neighbours and we were made aware on our return home that they complained to the owner about us being noisy for two nights. Had we been made aware we would of respected the neighbours wishes but 2 out of 14 is not too bad.

Overall we had a lovely holiday as a family in this area of Spain

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
Finca response
No one to meet us on arrival.
We were at the finca 2 hours prior to the guests checking in, they were delayed at the airport picking their cars up. We spoke to the guests to inform them that we had an airport run to do ourselves, we gave them full instructions of how to get the keys from the key press that is located on the gate. Once we returned from the airport we immediately called to check on the guests, they seemed more than happy with everything at the finca, and were all sat on the porch having a drink.

Dampness in the cave.
The finca also includes a 19th century authentic cave house. The atmosphere inside the cave is unique and for that reason we provide 2 dehumidifiers. We ask our guests to run these units at our cost and empty the water that is collected.
We have never had an issue with any of the other guests at the property experiencing damp and mold! However I would also like to point out that all our numerous other guests that enjoyed the cave house and the cool temperature ensured that they did not leave damp towels and swimming clothes strewn around the cave. As you will see other guests comment on the lovely coolness the cave offers for the kids on very hot days.
The guests who have given us this negative review also claim that 2 of their party got chest infections from the cave…… On the 2nd day I was told my one of the guests that a couple of them had chest infections already, we commented on how much the sun and lovely hot weather would soon clear this up!!

Pool only cleaned once in 2 weeks.
These guests only saw us clean the pool once in 2 weeks, however the pool was cleaned each week and also checked upon another twice, we tended to go to do the pool checks very early in the morning so as not to disturb the guests during the daytime when they were relaxing by the pool.
Our pool is chemically balanced and checked and we never have any issues with it. It surprises us that if the pool was so dirty then why didn’t these guests contract ear infections??? And if it really was so dirty why didn’t they bring it to our attention on the numerous times we visited the property to replace the many items that were broken by the guests…. Kettle, DVD, iron, fridge shelf!!! Or perhaps these guests were happy to swim in a dirty pool if it was indeed dirty like they claim.

No bed linen change.
This Finca is a self catering house NOT a hotel.
We provide a washing machine and clothes line and pegs for guests to wash not only their bedding and towels but also clothes if they wish.
All our previous guests have used the washing machine to launder their bedding and towels….. However these guests chose to sleep in dirty bedding and continue to use dirty towels for the whole of their 2 week stay. These guests stayed at the finca in August when the average temperature was probably about 100 degrees, these guests chose not to use the air conditioning facility that we charge a nominal fee of 25 Euros a week to cover costs, so you can imagine the condition of the bedding and the towels after a 2 week stay….
If the guests had any concerns over housekeeping or lack of house keeping then perhaps they should have brought it to our attention at the time. Again It’s made quite clear to guests that this is a self catering finca and not The Hilton!!

Tried to Charge for breakages.
These guests broke 3 bar stools, we have a suspicion that they had been thrown in the pool, never before have we had any problems with the bar stools with previous guests.
Kettle, DVD and iron ‘broke’ we never charged for these.
Bats and balls left for people to use had gone missing… we never charged for these.
The fridge shelf got smashed, we charged 25 Euros for it to be replaced.

Charge for electric fan.
We keep our costs down and pass these onto the guests, if they don’t want aircon, they don’t pay for it, the same goes for the fans.
It is in the contract that if a fan is going to be used then its 10 euros a week, this is purely to cover costs, electricity in Spain is very expensive and we only charge to cover our running costs of the units.. These guests borrowed a fan off a family member who lives in Spain and used it for the 2 full weeks and expected the electricity to be free!

We charged for an extra guest.
The extra guest was a family member who lived in Spain, we were asked if it was ok for her to stay for the weekend and bring her dog with her. We agreed to this for the weekend, however she along with her dog stayed for the full 2 weeks. The dog had obviously made its bed in the cave house, specifically in the kids play room.
What these guests forget to mention is the dog dirt that was found around the garden and the orchard, the dog hairs that were all over the finca and the terrace and the extra deep clean that we had to pay for to get all the dog hairs removed from the rugs in the play room.

The noise from the livestock.
The finca is in a Small Spanish rural town, if you don’t want to hear animals and country side sounds perhaps our finca is not for you and Benidorm would be more suitable where I’m sure there will be much worse noises!

Neighbours complaining about noise.
The neighbors are very nice accommodating people and for them to complain it suggests that the noise was very loud, we have had lots of guests staying at the finca and these neighbors never complained about anyone before. The neighbors were also actually away on holiday themselves for most of the guests stay, so thankfully they probably missed a lot of the noise.

I would like to point out that we always leave a feedback form for all our guest, this gives us a chance to improve our finca and put in place any necessary changes and improvements.. The feedback form from these guests was excellent in all areas. Unfortunately trip adviser won’t let it be uploaded.
There were no issues what so ever until we contacted the guests regarding the condition the finca had been left in.
The sheets had blood stains on, we threw these away and bought new ones, even though these guests did ask us just to wash them. The sheets and towels were incredibly dirty and sweaty due to not being washed for 2 weeks, the house was full of flies, dog dirt left around the garden, the smell from the property was appalling and took a deep clean with lots of bleach to get the property back up to our standard. We have never experienced guests who have disrespected our property like these people did and it infuriates me that they leave a very one sided review of our property, I hope we have addressed all the issues that they have raised, and take a look at all the other fantastic reviews we have had from our numerous other fabulous guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham...
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A fantastic holiday ”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a fantastic family holiday!

The pictures on the website don't reflect just how big this place is. The pool area is perfect for all the family. It's safe as there's a gate to stop the little ones getting down there on their own.
The air con is great, especially when it reaches 40 degrees!
The keep the cave cool and the flies out you have to have the doors closed as much as possible. Don't close the Finca door if you don't have the key though as it locks and the owner has to come out to let you in! I recommend keeping the key in the cave in a safe place.
The town is great if you like typical Spanish towns like we do. There's a really good range of tapas restaurants. All very cheap and friendly. Our favourites were Tono's for a nice 3 course evening meal and the tapas bar next to the supermarket (Tapeo?) and Bar Eloy was good for lunch.
There's a really good market on a Sunday with food and clothing etc. It's amazing how many stalls there are in what seems to be quite a small town.
There's loads of local supermarkets but the 2 best ones are in Albertera which is about 10 minutes away. Try Mercadona as it's good value and has lots of choice.
The coast is about 30 minutes away. We went to Guardamar and Torrevieja. Both busy but there's plenty of room on the beach as long as you don't mind being a bit further away from the restaurants and other amenities.
Murcia is worth a visit but don't go at 3pm like we did. 42 degrees and everything closed.

We never normally go back to the same villa but there's still plenty to visit and we are planning on coming again next year after 8 years of villa holidays in various places.

Dawn and Martin are very helpful and are always at hand if you need anything. Very relaxed and friendly.

A brilliant and very relaxing break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
thank you, it was a pleasure to have you stay, and big thank you for looking after the property as if it was your own
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing