We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and quiet - just what we were looking...”
other travellers have booked this property
Settlement Home nestled in the heart of the Galena Territory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Settlement Home nestled in the heart of the Galena Territory
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Settlement Home nestled in the heart of the Galena Territory
View from our back deck in the Spring
The Galena area offers picturesque scenery
Waterfall near Settlement Homes
Owners Club
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Galena, Illinois

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bill M
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet - just what we were looking for!”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This two story, pet-friendly home just outside Galena was exactly what my wife and I wanted for a short excursion with our two dogs. Very accessible to both the natural beauty of the Mississippi River parks and the charm of Galena. Also a great place to just get away from the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“comfortable”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is clean, well maintained and very comfortable. We would stay there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cleanliness of the place
Liked least: there was no gas for the grill ........ or maybe we just could not turn it on.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monokus
Aurora, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice change of pace from a hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Everything that previous reviewers said was pretty much the same (luckily there was no dog barking during our visit). Versus a hotel, it was very nice to have multiple room options for privacy. A tiny annoyance was the fact that the cable TV was out. The owner did come out personally to check on the connections but it was just that random cable outage that happens to everyone. (Wi Fi worked perfectly though and he has a Roku upstairs so we were all good).
Used the kitchen for cooking, bathrooms did their job. A/C was awesome during the heat. A-OK in our book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY21
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect home away from home”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

It was a great getaway - quiet, peaceful an relaxing. Cottage has everything you you need and more. We enjoyed our time here and definitely will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullyo
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect except for one thing...”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Dog down the way never seemed to be let out. Poor guy, Just always in a corner of the living room with the blinds down. In a crate?
We worried about him and still do....not a bad barker or anything just sad.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing