We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Derinda House”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Galena, Illinois

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shirley M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Derinda House”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We enjoyed the quiet location and the friendly hostess. She helped us find the places we wanted to visit and she made delicious breakfasts. We also enjoyed the netflex at night.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Thank you for coming ,and I am happy you enjoyed the area.
Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seasoned...
Sawyer, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“We Could Not Have Been Happier”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Derinda House is a one-of-a-kind find. The house itself is elegant and you can tell it's been lovingly decorated and cared for with classical paintings and beautiful pieces everywhere. The owner is a wonderful host, and the breakfast was way more than we had thought it would be. We ordered the optional dinner the night we arrived and were WOWed...it could have come from the kitchen of a favorite restaurant. (Two of us had Salmon, and two had the Rustic Italian. Both were fantastic.)
The beds are very comfortable, and there are plenty of great pillows (a definite plus in my book.) The living area has great seating. There is a working fireplace for cold nights, and a fire pit in the yard if you're tempted to sit out by a campfire.
It's close enough to Galena to make the drive easy, but it's out in the country so you can get away from the crowd. And, the deck overlooking the peaceful back yard is delightful.
We would definitely go back the next time we're in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Thank you so much, Makes me think I should do this with my girlfriends.
I look forward to seeing you again.
Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheriual
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Girls getaway”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The home is very comfy and cozy. The owners live down stairs and we heard nothing. The best part is the welcoming hospitality along with a great breakfast provided by Sandy. Back yard view is beautiful and beds are quite comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you for coming to Derinda House,It is always great to here that guests enjoy the house. Hope to see you again.
Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KortneyPa...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed over the new year and had a wonderful stay! The house is spacious, clean and homey. Beautifully decorated and comfortable beds too. I didn't see it advertised but there's a hideaway bed so 6 of us stayed comfortably. Sandy was so accommodating on check in time and breakfast time! Breakfast was top notch too! The only thing I could have wanted was a hot tub after a long days skiing. Worth the drive out of galena with a beautiful view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
It was so nice to know that Kortney and here friends liked the house and, breakfast so much. I enjoyed the group and, I hope they keep us in mind for another time.
Thank you,
Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_gkslenn
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The property was very comfortable and relaxing, and the service was excellent!”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We very much enjoyed our stay at Derinda House B and B. The location of the house (country setting) and the space available made for a relaxing weekend for us all. Being able to spread out into the living room/ dining room, kitchen, and deck made it feel like home away from home. Sandy was very friendly and gave good suggestions for area sites to see. We plan to return for another weekend of exploring the area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
It is all worth while when guests are comfortable and enjoy there stay.
Than you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing