We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 842)
Filter reviews
1 842 results
Traveller rating
868
498
287
121
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
868
498
287
121
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspump roompublic hotellibrary barthe gold coastian schragergreat neighborhoodrush streetlincoln parkcommon areasguest roomsfew blockslake michiganupon checkmag milethe magnificent milethe looplobby
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1 842 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2018

I booked this hotel on a whim after reviewing the website. Before our arrival, we received a welcome letter from Travis, the guest relations manger. Nice touch! The suite was wonderful as was Travis! In fact, the entire staff was helpful and friendly. We had a fantastic stay and will definitely stay here on return visits.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank daniela v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis H, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

daniela v,
Thank you for this awesome review! It's great to hear our suite was great and fit your needs, but even better to hear about our service! We can't wait to see you back with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

My husband andI got a great deal through the Hotel Tonight app. The hotel was in a wonderful location close to Michigan Ave.,the lakefront, lots of eateries and best of all, our son’s apartment. We have tried many hotels in the area through hotel app. The Ambassador was very clean and the room was “functional”...no frills. I really liked the lobby with its long tables and ample seating as well as the ice cold fruity water available for the taking. My three complaints are as follows: the air conditioner, which was much needed on the 90 degree days, was SO SO loud that I could hardly sleep; the paint in the bathtub was peeling and kind of gross; there was a well stocked mini-bar but no coffee machine in the room. Would we stay here again? Perhaps, in colder weather, if the price were still right!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank unicent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis H, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

unicent,
Thank you for leaving us feedback on your experience. I am sorry to hear you had some troubles with your room and appreciate the information, we will look into that bathtub and air conditioner. In the future we do have coffee makers available and would be more than happy to bring one up to the room. Please reach out to me at Thoward@journalhotels.com as I'd love to hear any more feedback and assist you with your next booking. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

I had a business trip to Chicago and brought my wife and teenage daughters with me. The Ambassador was recommended by friend. We loved it! Awesome location, excellent service and beautiful neighborhood. We highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank John-Cros012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis H, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

John-Cros012345,

These are the reviews we love to read! Thanks for taking the time to leave us your kind words. We hope to see you back with us during your next trip to the Windy City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

This was our fifth stay over the past three years at this magnificent hotel. We loved The Public and now we just "like" the Ambassador Chicago and here's why; the decor is Zen-like and peaceful and that sets the stage for an oasis in the big city - and that's all good - however, this time we had a real issue with the in-room ordering from the menu and the individuals at Booth One, the Ambassador's restaurant. After our second day of ordering room service we asked specifically if we could substitute two items per two dishes. When the items arrived we were charged a significantly higher amount for the same items we ordered the previous day. We did not sign the room check and received a rather rude call stating that the changes in the fee were due to our substitutions. First, the call arrived at the inopportune time of when the food should have been consumed, and second, the individual was rude about this matter. We were told that another manager would return our call about this issue and, during the next two days we never received that call. We attempted to resolve this issue at the front desk - and everyone was gracious, however, the extra fees remained on our bill. The bottom line here is, if we were going to be charged extra for the substitutions we should have been told. We asked specifically if we could "substitute", "make a change to one item within the order" and no one informed us that there would be a significant fee to do this.
This is a long way of relaying the title of this review "Be Sure You're Specific When Ordering Room Service" because the Room Service folks at Booth One misinformed us and never followed-up to make this wrong a right. We wanted to enjoy a final dinner at Booth One during those remaining days, however, we chose not to due to this incident.
Enjoy the hotel - it is beautiful, Booth One and Room Service, not so much.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunabluestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Much better and cost effective hotels in the area to consider. The landmark location is dated - restaurant downstairs is limited, food just ok but way overpriced. Service personnel are professional and courteous.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sgreenstein155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis H, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

sgreenstein155.
Thank you for your transparency- any and all feedback is useful and appreciated. I'm glad that you noticed the hospitality our staff provides. Its disappointing to hear, however, that you found some other areas to be lacking. If you would please reach out to me at Thoward@journalhotels.com I would like to hear more about your stay personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews