We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
CongressPlazaHotel
R 2 817
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Priceline
R 3 007
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Go to your Happy Price
Algotels
R 2 220
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Patrick L
Here for NFL Draft
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Apr 2016via mobile
Horrible decor, dated and dirty. My dog house is far better maintained. Paint job was done by 3 six year olds. Waiting 15min for Luke warm water and needing a space heater is an embarrassment for this hotel.
I had to stay here for 5-days. Torture.
Great location not with the lack of everything.
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
2.2 km from The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
1.4 km from The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
1.4 km from The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.1 km from The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.6 km from The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Restaurant
Room service
1.3 km from The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Restaurant
Room service
0.7 km from The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Free Wifi
Restaurant
3.5 km from The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.8 km from The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Chicago
Reviews (3 558)
Filter reviews
3 558 results
Traveller rating
376
1 011
1 053
545
573
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
376
1 011
1 053
545
573
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grant park buckingham fountain gold room a lake view room an older hotel art institute lake michigan soldier field the bean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 232 - 1 237 of 3 558 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Location is good. La Salla Railway station, metro station and congress bus stop are right across. Bell desk is friendly and helpful But thats about it. Right from 8am the houskeeping staff starts knocking on your door. Noise proofing is just absent, you can even hear every step anyone takes in the corridor. Even room heater is sent across only at request. Hot water comes after waiting for 15 minutes and wasting so much water. bath tub doesnt drain out. Horrible experience.

Room tip: Choose a room with main road view. Mine did not have any view.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FreeNomadicSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences encountered during your stay at The Congress Plaza Hotel, we look forward to the opportunity to host you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Stayed here for work, and would recommend it to anyone traveling.

The hotel is older and does show its age, but i think that is part of its charm. The rooms were clean, and the staff was friendly.

Will be staying here again!

Valet parking and other parking charges do apply....

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwhayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Thank you for choosing The Congress Plaza Hotel, we are delighted to hear your visit to Chicago was nothing short from exceptional. We look forward to hosting you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Location was good, right in front of Magnificent Park and close to nice cafes, restaurants and shops.
The room was huge but the bathroom too small.
Wifi was free but not working very well.
The hotel needs renovation as it is quite old.
Bellman was amazing!

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Gabry86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you for choosing The Congress Plaza Hotel, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

My friend and stayed Veterans day weekend for 4 days. We had no problems and experienced great customer service. The rooms do appear to be very dated but I actually thought that was kind of cool & different. The style of the entire hotel is vintage it appears, with a few touches of modern. I was told Jerry Springer guest stay here but I am not sure if that is true. I would definitely stay there again. I felt safe and there wasn't any noise during the normal bedtime hours. It walking ditance to Millennium Park and the Magnificent Mile.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you for choosing The Congress Plaza Hotel, we look forward to hosting you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Stayed 4 nights, Tues - Friday, checked out saturday. Knew it was a "2 star" going in, so wasn't surprised by things, BUT, a couple of complaints: very few electrical outlets you can get to, the mattresses, and the SMELL. By the fourth day, was finding it hard to move around. Definitely not an upscale mattress. More like the ones you buy from those furniture stores that stack up all their stuff around old gas stations! The smell was due to way overuse of some kind of air freshener "febreze" type (I think) that stuff seeped into my bag and clothes, and I carried that "fragrance" with me wherever I went! Had to roll the window down in the car on the way home from the airport because the scent was overwhelmingly sweet & floral ickiness. Did not even bring my bags in the house! That being said, the hotel was not expensive, and was walking distance close to several of the things you simply have to see (although after sleeping on that mattress, you may not feel like walking)! Seriously MIGHT POSSIBLY consider staying again after doing more research into other hotels & pricing. how much time do you spend in your room anyway? Did not try restaurant.

Room tip: Was traveling with family and they could not accommodate request to at least being in the same tower. Book rooms together if possible
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 327amk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences encountered during your stay at The Congress Plaza Hotel, we look forward to the opportunity to host you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews