We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 2 225
CongressPlazaHotel
R 2 521
Fully refundable before Sat, 09 Mar
Vio.com
R 1 969
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 552)
Filter reviews
3 552 results
Traveller rating
376
1 010
1 051
543
572
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
376
1 010
1 051
543
572
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grant park buckingham fountain gold room a lake view room an older hotel art institute lake michigan soldier field the bean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 232 - 1 237 of 3 552 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2016

The L train ran just yards from our room and construction equipment work woke us each morning. I had not done my homework to get a quiet room. The room is small. Have to squeeze by air vent to get to one side of the bed. You can only control the airflow not the temperature. Two lights in the room. Had to ask for decafe coffee for the room. Staff very nice and polite. Hallways are a dated. The location is convenient.

Room tip: Not facing the L trains or construction.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wjlusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for choosing The Congress Plaza Hotel, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

My family stayed here March 31-April 5 and I would definitely say that you get what you pay for. The room was super cheap compared to most Chicago hotels and the location was perfect for walking to all of the places we wanted to see. The hotel itself is pretty run down (other than lobby area) and had a bit of an eerie vibe. The room was clean but could be updated. The bathroom was mediocre; cold shower, shelf hanging out over the sink, crooked toilet. My family couldn't sleep at all the first night (not sure if because of hard beds or just feeling a little creeped out), so we left a day early, but staff was nice enough to refund our last night. Overall it was not ideal, but it's fine for a two day trip.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ls12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences encountered during your stay at The Congress Plaza Hotel, we look forward to the opportunity to host you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Congress Plaza for two nights on my first visit to Chicago. The hotel was nice. The front desk was friendly. Although the hotel was old our room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint would be Raphael's Restaurant. It is a very small place with a limited menu. I paid $75 for a glass of wine...steak dinner and dessert. I was not happy with any of my food. The hotel was good for the price

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank nicolemY9311VL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for choosing The Congress Plaza Hotel, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

The hotel location is very nice, a little too far from the main stores, but still great location. Breakfast not included, and very expensive, better walk and find another place. The Air conditioner did not work, a window had to be opened all the time. Rooms very old, bathroom needs some upgrade. Depending what room you are at, you will walk in a maze to find, there is so many doors to find your room. Very good location, very old old old hotel.

Date of stay: April 2016
Thank aldmarff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences encountered during your stay at The Congress Plaza Hotel, we look forward to the opportunity to host you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

It was a 3-generation girls' getaway. Arrived early and our lake view room was ready. Disappointed lake was so far away--foggy a lot and hardly ever saw it, but looking out onto the street was fun too. Room was really hot. Had to get maintenance to fix it because we couldn't get control box open. Quick service, and he opened a window for us. Beds were comfortable, but unfortunately, we were awaken just after midnight by very loud shouting from neighbors in the next room. I was patient for a short while, then pounded on the door between our rooms. They quieted for a while, then started up an hour later. Not a great night of sleep, but it was not the fault of hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful from check in to check-out!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carrol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Thank you for choosing The Congress Plaza Hotel, we look forward to hosting you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews