We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Jerk. Jamaican Barbecue
Get food delivered
Ranked #61 of 447 Quick Bites in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: River West
Description: Hip, laid-back joint featuring Jamaican BBQ, Rum Cocktails, Craft Beer, exceptional service, plus sports on TV.
Reviewed 10 September 2021

great food, good location, wonderful staff, clean environment. We enjoyed eating Jerk BBQ at the restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2021
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank gkcm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2021

The food is always good. However, they are frequently out of brisket and usually substitute pork for our order. But, the pork is really fatty and they do not provide adequate portions like they do with the other meats We have given this place multiple chances and do not think we will be back.

Date of visit: August 2021
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank 729nichola
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021

Every bite was seasoned to perfection. Delicious food, a clean and friendly atmosphere. I can't wait to get back.

Date of visit: August 2021
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank jefwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dion Solano, Owner at Jerk. Jamaican Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Thank you so much! We appreciate your feedback and business! We pray you stay healthy and safe especially during these most difficult times. Bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2021

Unlike the 1st time I came last year, I ordered the Brisket Dinner w/Mac & Cheese & Yams. I didn’t get 1 piece meat without fat on it. The Mac & cheese wasn’t premium, which I paid for, it was cheese mix. Yams were ok. I’m not coming back! I was still hungry.

Date of visit: July 2021
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank ChicagoDarylJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dion Solano, Owner at Jerk. Jamaican Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Greetings Daryl, So sorry that your experience was not what we are known for! We would like to make this right. We are always appreciative of constructive feedback good or bad. It's the only way for us to be better and stay consistent. Brisket will have fat and the team does try and compensate by adding extra meat. The flat of the brisket will be leaner and the point will be fatter but usually the more highly sought after piece of meat. You should always get an enjoyable piece of meat from us regardless of the fat. Clearly you did not. Please reach out via contact@jerkgrill.com so we can take care of you. Our goal is to not leave anyone hungry after dining with us. We will also do a quality check on the Mac. Looks like we hit the mark the first time and with a less than pleasurable experience you are now not coming back. Sad to see that. We hope to win you back but understand - please continue to support small businesses and stay safe. Bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2021

Bought food from the Humboldt Park location, waited an hour. Tried calling the number listed on Google, disconnected number. The employee at the center said they decided they weren't working that day. I called the Chicago location, an employee wrote my number down and said I would have a refund within 3 days. I called back a week later and could not get anyone to answer! Still no refund!

Date of visit: June 2021
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank ramseykory88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dion Solano, Owner at Jerk. Jamaican Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Greetings. First I would like to apologize on behalf of all of us at Jerk. The last thing we ever want is to not feed our guests. Please email us ASAP at contact@jerkgrill.com with your contact information, what platform you ordered from, date and time.

The information that the CloudKitchen representative gave you was not correct. We sadly had to close that location for good due to not having enough staff. This is an issue plaguing all industries at the moment post pandemic. It was not because "they decided they weren't working that day". In transferring those accounts they inadvertently got turned on briefly without our knowledge. CloudKitchen management has been notified and addressed giving out the correct info to customers are also going to assist in trying remedy this for you. That representative should have been able to assist with your refund.

If you did order through one of our delivery partners and not Toast then they would have your money as we get paid by them directly. We will assist in getting your refund but they may require talking to you. We will always go to bat for our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jerk. Jamaican Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Jerk. Jamaican Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.