We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$239
The James Chicago
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
US$537
US$499
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$320
US$287
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$327
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$653
US$525
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$311
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$228
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2 309)
Filter reviews
2 309 results
Traveller rating
1 826
390
65
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 826
390
65
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnico osteriathe original pancake housethe gold coasttavern on rushgreat locationcorner kingoak streetrush streetrain showerwalk in showerboutique hotelthe magnificent milewithin walking distancehotel baramazing hotelrestaurants and shoppinggreat shopping
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2 309 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay in downtown Chicago. Near any amenities you could require with a very helpful and friendly staff. We stayed only a single night, but visited the lobby bar as well as the Nico Osteria restaurant and both provided excellent food & service.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank apoirier6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear apoirier6,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Thompson Chicago! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with a great review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our bar's food and service. We thank you for praising our staff, hotel, and location and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved The Thompson Chicago. The location is perfect! Just a short walk to Michigan Ave, but without the noise and congestion. Easy access to the lake through the tunnel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, very focused on making sure everything is perfect and any need satisfied. We will definitely stay here the next time we are in Chicago! Can't say enough positive things about it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RMcDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear RMcDallas,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Thompson Chicago! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with a fantastic review and I am glad to hear that your experience was memorable. We thank you for praising our service and our Gold Coast location and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Convenient spot, walk to everything. Great room/view. Good bar for pre-dinner relaxation on first floor. Nice size room. Would definitely go back. Friendly staff was responsive to requests, and easy check-in/out.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Chuck B,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Thompson Chicago! We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with an excellent review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room's view as well as the bar area. We thank you for praising our service, hotel and location and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent four nights here for a family vacation. We enjoyed the ambiance and the staff. Our room had great views of the city. The location as convenient. The two double beds and room were just the right size for how little time we actually spent in our room.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank leojtracnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Leojtracnik,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent visit with us at the Thompson Chicago! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with such a great review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the view from your hotel room. We thank you for praising our service and hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great weekend stay. The hotel has a great location—conveniently located for restaurants, shopping, and attractions. The hotel itself was great—the room was quiet and comfortable, with cozy beds and stellar bathrooms, and the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. Definitely hoping to make a return trip.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Brent M,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent visit with us at the Thompson Chicago! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with an excellent review and I am glad to hear that your experience with our staff was memorable. We thank you for praising our service, hotel, and location and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews