We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Lawry's The Prime Rib
Reserve with OpenTable
Lawry's The Prime Rib is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #118 of 10 734 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$55 - US$75
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Magnificent Mile
Cross street: Ontario and Rush Streets
Transit: Easy Access from Michigan Avenue CTA Bus Stops. CTA Red Line stops are conveniently located within blocks of our restaurant at Grand/State and Chicago/State.
Description: A Chicago treasure since 1974, Lawry's The Prime Rib is located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile. It occupies the 1890's McCormick Mansion that became the renowned Kungsholm Puppet Theatre. Enjoy the rich history, comfortable elegance and unique menu featuring our famous Roasted Prime Ribs of Beef served tableside from gleaming silver carts. Expect great tradition, warm hospitality and award-winning dining in this Windy City landmark.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Lawry's will make you think you are the most important people in Chicago! Prime Rib was the best wet ever had eaten! Just a nice place to be treated like kings and queens and to have great food

Thank winks1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon T, Manager at Lawry's The Prime Rib, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you winks1996 for the great review and WOW! We're very happy that the prime rib was spot on and are overjoyed that our entire staff made you feel welcome and treated you like royalty. We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 1 115 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

The plate of food served as the entree here is delicious. The prime rib is perfectly cooked, the potatoes are sweet and creamy and the gravy just right. they do skimp on the Yorkshire pudding - which is a shame because they are so delicious. Not sure why everyone can't have their own whole popover, instead of cutting them up and serving just a portion. The "Dinner and a Show" as our waitress put it is a bit dated - as are the waitress uniforms, which are offputting. I get the idea of staying with tradition, but a modernized update would be a better choice. I would skip the sides, they aren't needed and nothing out of the basic ordinary - despite the server's inference that you need another veggie. The spinning salad is plenty. also, don't bother with the Diamond cut, it adds the bone, but nothing else. California Cut is perfect.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eminahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon T, Manager at Lawry's The Prime Rib, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you eminahan for the review. Glad that the prime rib was perfect and that the mashed potatoes were just right! Next time you come in, please ask for extra Yorkshire puddings. We're more than happy to bring out more. We apologize that you found the uniforms offputting. As you know we're a very traditional restaurant and the "Brown Gown" has been with us since, we opened the doors in 1938. A lucky charm of sorts. We will share this with the family. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Chicago is home of the Steakhouse and Lawry's competes well with them all. My Prime Rib was excellent and my wife claimed her steak was the best she had in years. The sides complimented our meat with flair. The service was beyond description. All adds up to the most memorable evening of the year!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lmjarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon T, Manager at Lawry's The Prime Rib, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you lmjarl for the great review. Does it get better than seeing "the best of the best" We're very happy that service and cuisine were spot on. So glad we were one of your most memorable evenings of the year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

When I go to Chicago I go to Lawry’s. It is always fantastic. The best Prime Rib I have ever eaten. All the sides are delicious and the service is perfect. Great wine list too. If you come to Chicago and miss Lawry’s you are missing a true dining experience.

Thank adam-kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon T, Manager at Lawry's The Prime Rib, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thank you adam-kelley for the five star bubbles! We appreciate your enthusiasm for our restaurant and appreciate your ringing endorsement of telling others that when they come to Chicago, we are a must. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

It’s been years since I’ve been to Lawry’s over 20. My memory is one of when people dressed up to dine at this iconic place. Times have changed. Casual dress and screaming kids are part of the ambiance unfortunately.
The food is still excellent my prime rib melted in my mouth, and the mashed potatoes and gravy, delicious.
Great service, priced well, my groups first time here, they enjoyed it immensely.
I’ll always come back. Thanks

2  Thank Dick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon T, Manager at Lawry's The Prime Rib, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thank you Dick S for the review. We're pleased that your group of first timers enjoyed everything and that the food was "excellent" and that the service was "great". We love seeing the phrase "I'll always come back". we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lawry's The Prime Rib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing