We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$581
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/07
Booking.com
US$584
View deal
FindHotel
US$647
US$573
View deal
The PeninsulaUS$646
PricelineUS$646
Destinia.comUS$647
View all 19 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 008)
Filter reviews
2 008 results
Traveller rating
1 722
170
71
22
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 722
170
71
22
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shanghai terrace lobby restaurant z bar fax machine room service four seasons dressing area turn down service executive suite michigan avenue the ritz carlton luxury hotel the magnificent mile hotel experience concierge desk the windy city mag mile
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2 008 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

Beautiful, comfortable room. Excellent customer service. Management sent up a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries on a bed of Turkish delight when they learned we were there celebrating our 11 year anniversary. We had a very restful night sleep on the super comfy bed.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank daniellel881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula Chicago, Other at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2021

Dear daniellel881,

Congratulations on your anniversary! We are delighted that you chose us to celebrate this special occasion. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Max Schroeder, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2021 via mobile

Clean, well appointed, modern rooms. The room technology including tablet controlled lights, sound, TV, etc is convenient. Excellent service and in-room dining experience. Food was very good. Great hotel for a staycation or romantic romantic retreat. Beautiful, well maintained hotel common areas. Unforgettable experience even with some Covid restrictions!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank The M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula Chicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

Dear The M,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the technology, in-room dining and cuisine. Thank you for recommending us for staycations and romantic getaways. We try our best, even with COVID restrictions, to have our guest leave with a special memory of their stay.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Max Schroeder, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2021

The Peninsula Chicago is a fabulous hotel. From the moment we got there, we knew we would be well taken care of. We were there for 6 nights and knew we wanted to stay somewhere that was comfortable and luxurious. The Peninsula checks both of these boxes. Honestly, the place is akin to a cocoon you never want to leave.

Whoever invented their PenChat is brilliant - chatting with staff to get information was so great.

It's been a long, hard year because of the pandemic and it was so nice to escape from every day life for a short while.

We ate at Shanghai Terrace twice. The food and service are amazing. Get that tempura shrimp appetizer. I am going to dream about those meals for months.

Definitely book services at The Spa. It's a dreamy place. The massage therapists hit the right spots too!

There are certainly many luxury hotel choices in Chicago. Our favorite was the Four Seasons. But now...it's the Peninsula all the way! We will certainly return.

Finally, a shout out to the amazing staff - Gary, Taylor, Joy, Beth/April, (in the spa) and the GM, Max, all brought their A game.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula Chicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

Dear andreama,

We are pleased to know that you had an amazing visit. Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed every facet of your stay. I will be sure to share your comments with our team members you highlighted and we look forward to welcoming back soon.

Kind regards,
Max Schroeder, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

Well i usually stay at this hotel or the four seasons but i must say i keep returning to the peninsula its by and far the best hotel in Chicago service suites, everything is 5 star so do stay here and dont complain about the rates you get what you pay for

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Troll8773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula Chicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Dear Troll8773,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula as the place to stay when visiting Chicago. We are delighted to hear from our loyal guests and thank you for your continued patronage.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Max Schroeder, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2021 via mobile

Enjoyed an overnight stay with my daughters (6 & 3). Booked directly with the Peninsula and mentioned the girls in my comments; I was blow away by the thoughtfulness of the staff from the moment we arrived. Hugely impressed by Vince, the manager who took time to personally greet us and chat with the kids about some of their favorite things. Entering our room, the staff had left a complimentary fruit bowl, cookies, and gummy bears for the kids. We loved doing the Peninsula scavenger hunt (you can see them wearing the bellman’s hat in the pics, graciously shared by the staff for the hunt). When they completed the game, Vince was at the finish greeting them with one of their favorite things as a prize! Everyone was so attentive and kind, from Vince to the concierge to the in-room dining staff and service team. My girls also loved the kid sized robes and adorable peninsula bear slippers! We enjoyed the socially distanced pool - reservations needed in advance but very easy to do, and I appreciated that I could cast to the tv from my device for some Netflix time and a much needed mom-break. I’ve stayed at the Langham as well and service & hospitality-wise, there is absolutely no comparison; the Peninsula is the absolute best.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GrapeJade8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula Chicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Dear GrapeJade8,

Our team is happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience! We are so glad you and your daughters enjoyed the treats, scavenger hunt and pool time.

Thank you so much for choosing The Peninsula Chicago, we really appreciate it and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,
Max Schroeder Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews