We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$675
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/09
The Peninsula
US$675
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/09
Trip.com
US$644
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/09
Booking.comUS$675
Hotels.comUS$675
travelup.comUS$724
View all 20 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 023)
Filter reviews
2 023 results
Traveller rating
1 732
173
71
22
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 732
173
71
22
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shanghai terrace lobby restaurant z bar fax machine room service four seasons dressing area turn down service executive suite michigan avenue the ritz carlton luxury hotel the magnificent mile hotel experience concierge desk the windy city mag mile
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 2 023 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

Well i usually stay at this hotel or the four seasons but i must say i keep returning to the peninsula its by and far the best hotel in Chicago service suites, everything is 5 star so do stay here and dont complain about the rates you get what you pay for

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Troll8773
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula Chicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Dear Troll8773,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula as the place to stay when visiting Chicago. We are delighted to hear from our loyal guests and thank you for your continued patronage.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Max Schroeder, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2021 via mobile

Enjoyed an overnight stay with my daughters (6 & 3). Booked directly with the Peninsula and mentioned the girls in my comments; I was blow away by the thoughtfulness of the staff from the moment we arrived. Hugely impressed by Vince, the manager who took time to personally greet us and chat with the kids about some of their favorite things. Entering our room, the staff had left a complimentary fruit bowl, cookies, and gummy bears for the kids. We loved doing the Peninsula scavenger hunt (you can see them wearing the bellman’s hat in the pics, graciously shared by the staff for the hunt). When they completed the game, Vince was at the finish greeting them with one of their favorite things as a prize! Everyone was so attentive and kind, from Vince to the concierge to the in-room dining staff and service team. My girls also loved the kid sized robes and adorable peninsula bear slippers! We enjoyed the socially distanced pool - reservations needed in advance but very easy to do, and I appreciated that I could cast to the tv from my device for some Netflix time and a much needed mom-break. I’ve stayed at the Langham as well and service & hospitality-wise, there is absolutely no comparison; the Peninsula is the absolute best.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GrapeJade8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula Chicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Dear GrapeJade8,

Our team is happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience! We are so glad you and your daughters enjoyed the treats, scavenger hunt and pool time.

Thank you so much for choosing The Peninsula Chicago, we really appreciate it and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,
Max Schroeder Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2021 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights at The Peninsula. It was wonderful. The location is perfect and the staff was excellent. The executive suite views were second to none. The suite was touch control for everything from lights, tv, music! The view from the bathtub is worth the trip. We will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank calvin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula Chicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2021

Dear calvin s,

Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your kind review. We are delighted to hear you were pleased with the location, customer service and room. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,
Max Schroeder
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2021 via mobile

We are here for my husband and my birthday. We were treated so kind from getting a room upgrade to a surprise fruit basket being delivered. The bed is like sleeping on clouds. We used the soaking tub before venturing outside. We enjoyed the large dining area for lunch. The high tech in the room was fun to play with!
We definitely will be back.

Linda & John Mora

Date of stay: April 2021
Thank wiks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula Chicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2021

Dear wiks10,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago to celebrate your birthdays. We are delighted to have been part of your special occasion. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you plan to return.

Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm regards,

Max Schroeder
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

This property lacks the wow factor one gets when visiting the Peninsula in Hongkong.
We only stayed for one night and staff was very courteous and friendly, and as stated by other guests: nobody attempts to go out of their way to help. Front desk was friendly, but the experience was not above or beyond a Marriott Check in.
Our reservation incl. an upgrade and we were given the choice of either waiting a good hour for said upgraded room, getting a room right away without the upgrade or take an upgraded room that is wheelchair accessible. Not the 5 star treatment one hopes for.
The room (accessible, on high floor) was nice. Not wow. Decor and technology could use an update. For an accessible guest room the room and hallway felt small and narrow. Not even sure how one would get in the bathroom in a wheelchair.
For 5 star hotel, I don’t expect having reservations for the pool or workout room. And if it is part of their COVID response, then offer guests to make a reservations prior to arriving, instead of turning guests away “oh?! You don’t have a reservation ?!?! “
Bad management to have a hotel full of guests and not enough staff on site. Room Service 30minutes in 5 star is not meeting expectations. The bar is only open on Fridays and Saturdays - and we were asked to skip the lobby cafe , as they had not enough waiters - really?
No turn down service...
nobody at the Concierge desk most of the day or evening ...
quite disappointed.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Teutonflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula Chicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2021

Dear Teutonflyer,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I'm so sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations.
I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experiences in detail directly. Please contact me at maxschroeder@peninsula.com.
Thank you. I look forward to connecting with you soon.
Warm regards,
Max Schroeder
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews