We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Family Holiday in the Heart of the Rural...”
other traveller has booked this property
Heated pool at night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated pool at night
Lounge Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Heated pool at night
Lounge
Dining area
Front of gîte
Heated swimming-pool
Local beach in Brétignolles sur mer
Dining-room
Bedroom area with king-size bed
Shower room
Bedroom with double bed and single bed
View from patio
Heated swimming-pool
Dining-room
Cycling
Table-tennis and Wi-Fi area
Play area
Local beach in Brétignolles sur mer
Gardens
Barbecue in the garden
Gardens
Festival 'La Déferlante', May, Brétignolles sur mer
Front of gîtes
Dining room
Heated pool
Play area
Gardens
Apremont
Local beach, Brétignolles sur mer
Local beach
Local beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
La Chaize Giraud, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PJS01
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Holiday in the Heart of the Rural Vendee Region”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was our 7th visit to Dolphin Gites in the rural village location of La Chaize-Giraud and experienced once again an amazing family holiday. The village shops have now expanded to offer some art and craft shops and the village festival in early August is certainly something worth seeing, with music and locals bringing in local residents and tourists a-like. The local beauty salon is also certainly worth a visit if you are looking to wind down while on holiday (my wife and friend went there), be it for a facial or a relaxing massage. We went to Puy du Fou (nothing similar in the UK!!) for a 2nd time and once again found the re-enactments truly amazing. An absolute must for any visitor... For younger children, up to around 12 years of age,the nearby pleasure park 'plage des dunes' is also certainly worth a visit and children enjoy, bouncy castles, water slides, go-karts, trampolines, mini-golf and can easily fill a day. For those who like surfing/body boarding, this area provides several opportunities to hone your skills.
The accommodation in Old Logis at Dolphin Gites was once again of a very high standard and is very comfortable. Every known utensil has been supplied and ensures cooking in the gite remains a simple task. This is a large gite and the outside table/ parasol and chairs ensure you can enjoy the evening sun, while sharing evening meals al fresco or drinks in the evening. The jewel in the crown for us are the outdoor pool and the large high-walled gardens overlooking the church from this gite. When lit up at night (as it does in the day!), this looks spectacular. Sharing the Dolphin Gite site with other families, allows children to mix and play together in the garden, swim in the pool and pit their table -tennis skills against each other in table tennis area and finally dare I say it, the free Wifi also allows them to stay in touch with the electronic world (with parental permission of course!!). The nearby restaurants are certainly of a high standard and 'Restaurant de la Gare in Commequiers and le Val d'Aure in Landevieille are certainly worth consideration in our opinion. There is so much to see and do, if that is the type of holiday you are looking for, along side relaxation on the beaches. We are still finding new things after 7 visits. We will be returning to Dolphin Gites next year. A wonderful family holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a descriptive review. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable holiday, filled with visits and activities, and we look forward to welcoming you all back next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taxifor4
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Little piece of paradise. ”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed in gite 6 recently and it was perfect.It is situated in a very quiet area and you can almost hear the silence . Although we were unlucky with the weather there were enough breaks in the cloud to ramble around the area.The 2 restaurants recommended to us by the owners were top class.
Our 2 lads really enjoyed playing football in the garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We really hope to be able to accommodate you again in the future and hopefully you will be able to enjoy the gardens and the pool in the sunshine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afirbwkso...
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in August 2016

We love these gites. They are family-run and family-friendly, well maintained and just lovely to stay in. Lots of great beaches and things to do nearby as well as a stunning pool. We've been twice so far and plan to return again. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryliz12...
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed in the new cottage at Dolphin gites. It was our second visit and hopefully will not be our last. Our hosts were fantastic, the cottage was spotless and all on one level. It gave us a measure of privacy whilst being part of a small complex - the best of both worlds. Near to some very nice beaches especially Normandeliere and the twice weekly market in Bretignolle is well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the owners and the facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased that you had a nice holiday and we hope to be able to welcome you back at Dolphin Gîtes in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venna
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from 2 weeks holiday at Dolphin Gites and are missing it already. The Old Logis is great accommodation and the area it's located in is wonderful.

Gite
What the photos don't show is just how well appointed the gite is. The kitchen has everything you could need (for the first time we didn't eat out at all) and there is a BBQ too. There is also a collection of English novels, French novels and DVDs: really good DVDs so I caught up on recent releases and my daughter is now addicted to Gerry Anderson's back catalogue :-) The kitchen diner is large and easily accommodated us on a couple of rainy days.
The grounds around the gite are brilliant too. The large garden accommodated all the children safely while adults socialised. The pool area was lovely too and used every day. Plus, every morning the local baker visits to let you work through his various pastries each morning. It would take a stronger person than me to resist that temptation!
The best thing about the gites are the owners, Cathy and Howard. Cathy and Howard are pro-active is letting you know useful info (we arrived on a bank holiday so shopping hours were useful) and the info on the website, and in the gite, was brilliant! The optional social drinks do's were great in letting both adults and kids get to know each other. And Cathy's French lesson was fantastic!

Area
There is just so much great stuff to do: we need to go back to do the things we missed! The beaches are wonderful but there are loads of great activities too (see the website as the details are great). We flew to Nantes and it was an easy drive from the airport.

I would recommend the Dolphin Gites to anyone, definitely 5 stars!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Dolphin Gîtes. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing