We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another lovely year at Dolphin Gites....”
other traveller has booked this property
Heated pool at night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated pool at night
Lounge Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Heated pool at night
Lounge
Dining area
Front of gîte
Heated swimming-pool
Local beach in Brétignolles sur mer
Dining-room
Bedroom area with king-size bed
Shower room
Bedroom with double bed and single bed
View from patio
Heated swimming-pool
Dining-room
Cycling
Table-tennis and Wi-Fi area
Play area
Local beach in Brétignolles sur mer
Gardens
Barbecue in the garden
Gardens
Festival 'La Déferlante', May, Brétignolles sur mer
Front of gîtes
Dining room
Heated pool
Play area
Gardens
Apremont
Local beach, Brétignolles sur mer
Local beach
Local beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
La Chaize Giraud, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PJS01
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Another lovely year at Dolphin Gites....”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was our 5th year at Dolphin Gites and what an amazing two weeks we experienced. 13 out of 14 days of blue skies and sunshine. This enabled us to enjoy the delights of the nearby sandy beaches, mainly Grande Plage this year ,where there were certainly some significant waves for surfing coming in off the Atlantic and great for those budding surfers of all ages. Dolphin Gites remains a high quality establishment where families can enjoy the pool and attractive peaceful surroundings as they look for solace from everyday life. Our son is now almost 7 years old and we decided to visit Puy du Fou for the first time. Amazing! A must.... The site is magical and we have never seen a similar park with such quality shows anywhere else. Restaurants visited during the stay in the evenings included Auberge du lac on Lac Jaunay, Le Val d'Aure (Landevielle), Restaurant de la Gare (Commequiers/near Velo Rail and our favourite). These are some quality restaurants (nearby) at very reasonable prices, even more so with the recent strength of GBP/Euro.
We have already booked for next year in 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There are so many activities to experience in a small area and enjoying the friendly and warm atmosphere at Dolphin Gites
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your review which is much appreciated. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Dolphin Gîtes and we look forward to welcoming you back next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rea M
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location and family friendly”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a lovely week here in September. Dolphin Gites were restful, even though there are a few Gites in the complex, each one gave a privacy that was appreciated.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maz00
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We went to Dolphin Gites in August this year with our two boys aged 4 and 8. This was our first experience of a Gite in France (having stayed in yurts previously) and it was wonderful.
Cathy and Howard are great hosts, really welcoming. There was a drinks evening during the week which was a great idea to say hello to the other guests.
The Gite (we were in no 6) was huge! It was sparkling when we arrived! Excellent kitchen, fully equipped and backed onto the play area which was wonderful for our boys.
The Gites are in a fantastic area, close to great beaches and towns. Our boys were hooked on body boarding but there is a swimming pool on site also. Supermarkets are close by..but the baker visits the Gites every morning so you don't need to get organised until much later! I would definitely return to the Gites and encourage others to try it.
Would also like to mention that we had no trouble getting our deposit back - we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcoming nature of hosts, cleanliness of property
Liked least: that we cannot return next year!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJS01
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great family holiday in the verdant Vendee region”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from our 4th stay at Dolphin Gites and our second in Gite 6 (Old Logis). Everything, once again, more than exceeded our expectations. Our stay was very relaxing in this little haven, away from the outside world. The location and the style of this gite make this a home-from-home, with everything provided to cater for all.

It was nice to meet up again with familiar faces around the pool during the day and for a couple of pleasant soirées, organised by the hosts Cathy and Howard. Children of all ages mix well together and adults can therefore relax, knowing their children are playing with others in these safe surroundings.

We were really sorry to have to leave Dolphin Gites but we will be back next year in 2015, along with our friends who have yet to discover the delights of the Vendee region for themselves.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbara r
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sad to leave our little slice of paradise in the Vendee...”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Another wonderful stay in Gite 6 for the 6th year in a row! We love the clean and comfortable space within this Gite; it is full of charm and character backing on to a beautiful area to eat with views of the stunning gardens.
As always, Kathy and Howard and their family were great hosts and luckily due to the weather we had two wonderful evenings meeting other guests over wine in their garden.
The pool is clean and refreshing and never too busy so we relaxed a lot in our first week and enjoyed the local beaches in the second week.
This holiday just works for us as a family; we have met some amazing people over the years whom we now regard as friends as people keep returning year after year. We have found a winning formula and our thanks to Kathy and Howard for another really special set of memories for 2014. Needless to say, we have booked for next year!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Dolphin Gites. We value all our guests and appreciate your comments. We look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing