We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and family friendly”
other traveller has booked this property
Heated pool at night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated pool at night
Lounge Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Heated pool at night
Lounge
Dining area
Front of gîte
Heated swimming-pool
Local beach in Brétignolles sur mer
Dining-room
Bedroom area with king-size bed
Shower room
Bedroom with double bed and single bed
View from patio
Heated swimming-pool
Dining-room
Cycling
Table-tennis and Wi-Fi area
Play area
Local beach in Brétignolles sur mer
Gardens
Barbecue in the garden
Gardens
Festival 'La Déferlante', May, Brétignolles sur mer
Front of gîtes
Dining room
Heated pool
Play area
Gardens
Apremont
Local beach, Brétignolles sur mer
Local beach
Local beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
La Chaize Giraud, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rea M
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location and family friendly”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a lovely week here in September. Dolphin Gites were restful, even though there are a few Gites in the complex, each one gave a privacy that was appreciated.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maz00
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We went to Dolphin Gites in August this year with our two boys aged 4 and 8. This was our first experience of a Gite in France (having stayed in yurts previously) and it was wonderful.
Cathy and Howard are great hosts, really welcoming. There was a drinks evening during the week which was a great idea to say hello to the other guests.
The Gite (we were in no 6) was huge! It was sparkling when we arrived! Excellent kitchen, fully equipped and backed onto the play area which was wonderful for our boys.
The Gites are in a fantastic area, close to great beaches and towns. Our boys were hooked on body boarding but there is a swimming pool on site also. Supermarkets are close by..but the baker visits the Gites every morning so you don't need to get organised until much later! I would definitely return to the Gites and encourage others to try it.
Would also like to mention that we had no trouble getting our deposit back - we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcoming nature of hosts, cleanliness of property
Liked least: that we cannot return next year!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJS01
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great family holiday in the verdant Vendee region”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from our 4th stay at Dolphin Gites and our second in Gite 6 (Old Logis). Everything, once again, more than exceeded our expectations. Our stay was very relaxing in this little haven, away from the outside world. The location and the style of this gite make this a home-from-home, with everything provided to cater for all.

It was nice to meet up again with familiar faces around the pool during the day and for a couple of pleasant soirées, organised by the hosts Cathy and Howard. Children of all ages mix well together and adults can therefore relax, knowing their children are playing with others in these safe surroundings.

We were really sorry to have to leave Dolphin Gites but we will be back next year in 2015, along with our friends who have yet to discover the delights of the Vendee region for themselves.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbara r
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sad to leave our little slice of paradise in the Vendee...”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Another wonderful stay in Gite 6 for the 6th year in a row! We love the clean and comfortable space within this Gite; it is full of charm and character backing on to a beautiful area to eat with views of the stunning gardens.
As always, Kathy and Howard and their family were great hosts and luckily due to the weather we had two wonderful evenings meeting other guests over wine in their garden.
The pool is clean and refreshing and never too busy so we relaxed a lot in our first week and enjoyed the local beaches in the second week.
This holiday just works for us as a family; we have met some amazing people over the years whom we now regard as friends as people keep returning year after year. We have found a winning formula and our thanks to Kathy and Howard for another really special set of memories for 2014. Needless to say, we have booked for next year!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Dolphin Gites. We value all our guests and appreciate your comments. We look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan j
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An upsetting experience”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I was excited about visiting dolphin gites after reading other reviews, but unfortunately our experience did not match those of others. The gite itself was basic but clean and fairly comfortable (apart from the beds / bedding). It was well equipped. The garden is lovely, as is the pool area. The surrounding area is pleasant with lots to do. There is a useful folder in the gite with suggestions for restaurants and days out. On arrival, we were met by cathy. I expected a warm welcome, having read other reviews, but this was not the case. We arrived in pouring rain and my three boys were warned by her not to take dirty footprints into the gite. She then made some comment about the fact we had three boys, and asked if they were well behaved. I wondered if she was joking, but given later events, she clearly was not. She gave us an extended list of rules, including some I found strange such as no bare feet on the lawn, no water guns / large inflatables /food/drink/ umbrellas by the pool. During the week, she barely spoke to us and her husband did not speak to us until checkout. The Tuesday evening drinks reception did not happen but we were not told it would not be going ahead. Cathy had asked me on check in to use her supermarket clubcard and the points gathered would go towards the drink soirée, but that was the last I heard of it. Anyway, we enjoyed our week and arranged to pay fifty euros on departure for final cleaning. It is a very small gite, only one bedroom and an open plan living/dining/bedroom so this would seem ample to cover cleaning. However, on checkout, cathy became very unpleasant and told us that she could not return our 350euro deposit as the gite was "filthy", "the worst she had seen in ten years". I had cleaned the gite every day except the last with the very limited cleaning equipment available. All bins had been emptied, all utensils either cleaned and put away or in the dishwasher. There were no marks on soft furnishings or walls. There were about twenty toy bullets on various corners of the floor as my son had dropped a packet, and she was very angry about this. There coffee machine was on the floor as the kitchen is short of surface space/plugs. The machine itself and the pot were both missing lids, hence some coffee marks on the tiling. Again, she was furious. She described the surface top oven as filthy. It had been used to cook two pizzas and finish off BBQ meat once. There was a half cm dent on an ikea type kitchen unit (I think most owners who rent properties, myself included, would view it as 'wear and tear'). I had never noticed it and none of us had any knowledge of having done it, and we were essentially accused of being dishonest. Howard said he wanted to keep our deposit for three weeks In case any damage became apparent (this was after cathy had already scrutinised the place). Eventually, we agreed that we would wait on site while the owners further examined the gite. After this, cathy appeared with our full deposit and her manner was polite again - she had stopped shouting and making offensive comments- but she did not apologise. The whole experience was utterly bizarre and upsetting, especially for our boys who were distressed by it. We rent self catering properties three times a year and have done so for many years. We have never before had any issues with owners / deposit / cleanliness of accommodation on departure. I would not advise dolphin gites to families with lots of sons, as I think this was the issue! If you are going and you get bad vibes on check in, check the property like you would a hire car and report all damage at once to the owners (our bed was broken on arrival and rather than making a fuss, my husband just fixed it - I got shouted at about that too!), and be cautious not to surrender your deposit to cover ongoing maintenance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Dolphin Gites. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay as we aim to provide the best possible experience for everybody. We are serious about customer service and have the same standards for all our guests. On this occasion, we felt that there was an issue with the state of the gite on your departure. We hope that you have a more positive experience should you decide to stay at Dolphin Gites in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing