We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
29
25
15
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
25
15
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews under new management traditional pub young lady decent breakfast piping hot comfortable room comfortable stay attending a wedding bonfire night road noise full english breakfast car park landlord roundabout hayley taxi gravy
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2018

As owners of our own pub, we needed a break to recharge ourselves. We needed somewhere we could take our dogs, after a google search we chose The Blacksmiths Arms.
It was a good choice. Mark and Hailey are great host's. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we walked through the door.
The room was clean, tidy and nicely decorated. As with any freehouse improvement's are on going.
We ate evening meals twice and both time the food was good quality and well presented. One evening I had a steak (medium to well done) it was cooked to perfection and very tender.
Mark knows his ales and they are kept very well.
We would not hesitate to go back to The Blacksmiths Arms.
Good luck and best wishes to Mark and Hailey in your new venture at The Blacksmiths Arms.
Thank you for the bacon sandwiches :o)

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PaulJackie201014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Hi Paul and Jackie,

Thank you for your review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you staying with us and glad we could have a couple of drinks with you too.

We can't wait to call up and see you in the very near future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

We called in on way back from Sheffield Park and we were not disappointed.

Mark the landlord certainly knew about the different beers available and the food we had for lunch was freshly prepared and very tasty.

We understand that Mark and Hayley have only been there for five weeks but would certainly have no hesitation in going back again if we were in the area again. They were so friendly and welcoming

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rushwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

When we arrived we were shown to room 3, the housekeeper had to make the room up for 2 as she had only made it up for 1 despite us booking weeks in advance, whilst we were settling in we noticed the kettle, cups etc were in a drawer, the lock on the window was broken and therefore on permanent open lock (listened to the refrigerator unit all night), there were cobwebs everywhere, none of the electrical items were PAT tested, the extractor was missing in the bathroom, only a hole in the ceiling, the light above the sink was crooked, only 2 towels were provided. Faeces on the bottom of the toilet seat. The bed was too short for my husband (he is 6 feet tall), several of the drawers on the bedside cabinets came off when you opened them, and the ceiling light in the bathroom was an ordinary energy saving bulb that should be a moisture resistant sealed bulb. The shower had a broken tile, it leaked because a washer between the pipe and the shower was missing. The door to the bathroom did not close due to 2 missing screws and 2 loose ones.
We were also informed that when the pub was closed we would need to use the metal fire escape at the back, this was covered in frost in the morning and was fairly dark at night.
The next morning we went down for breakfast, we were asked what we wanted but we did not know what was available as there was nothing in writing, my husband asked for a cup of tea with his breakfast and was told that the machine did not make tea, no offer of her making one was made, the orange juice was warm and the breakfast was ok. We could not pass on any comments regarding our stay as the only person there apart from other guests was the cook/cleaner/housekeeper.

Room tip: Go to the Travelodge Bowship roundabout near Hailsham
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Miles,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that your experience whilst staying with us wasn't what you'd expected. We are continuously trying to improve so your feedback is important to us.

When you arrived the room was ready and a couple of additions to the room had to be made so it was equipped for 2 people. This was an error on our part but in no way inconvenienced you as it was being rectified as you arrived.

The tea station is kept stored away so that all of the surface space is available for your use. We are not the only place that does this and we believe it to be much more efficient when it comes to preparing the rooms for the next guests and frees up space for people who don't want to use it.

Now we are aware of the problem with the lock on the window this will be repaired. You would not have been kept awake all night by the refrigeration unit though as it doesn't run all night. I know his to be a fact because I live on the premises.

All items that need to be PAT tested were done, the ones which aren't PAT tested such as the TV, Kettle, and fan are all under 1 year old so there is no requirement to do so. There is a grill missing from the extractor, the extractor is a central unit which runs throughout the whole building. The picture shows only that the grill is missing, and it will be replaced.

The bed is a standard size and we have much taller people than your husband regularly staying here with no problem. I'm 6'4" and have no issues.

Other maintenance is regularly carried out and any other issues will be checked and rectified.

The fire escape conforms to standards that are set out regarding fire escapes so if it had been frosty in the morning they would still have been safe. There is also adequate lighting at the top and bottom.

On the day you arrived both myself and my partner were in the pub all night. We are managers of the business so had you come to see us with your concerns we could have addressed them at the time. The owner prepares all of the rooms herself and should there be a problem with cleanliness in them she would rather have your feedback than not.

On the day you left you were served breakfast by the owner of the business so you could have addressed your concerns to her. If the orange juice is warm then we could add some ice, though all of our orange juice is stored in either a fridge or a chiller.

I would suggest that should you have problems in the future in any establishment in which you are staying then you could mention it at the time so that your stay will be much more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

In need for lunch we stopped off here and were warmly greeted by the new managers, Mark and Hayley, and tucked into a lovely lunch. It was the usual pub grub but tasty and quick service, we understand that given time the menu may well be updated and we look forward to going again to try it. My companion has sight and mobility issues and it was lovely that Mark and Hayley were so helpful in getting us in and seated comfortably.
We will be going back

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Nichola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

It was a pleasure to have you come in and see us and I hope we will see you again soon. Warmest Regards, Mark and Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We stayed in pub/hotel this weekend. Excellent location for the venue we were attending. It is just off a roundabout so accessible for the area. Mark and Hayley the managers were brilliant, a great partnership that made our stay and weekend very enjoyable. They were very quirky/ humorous and attended to all our needs.

The rooms were tastefully decorated, with lovely comfortable beds, we had five rooms for various family members attending a wedding.

Room tip: Room seven has open plan shower/ toilet!
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wendyhutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Thanks for your review Wendy, it was a true pleasure to have you all staying and maybe one day you'll call back. Best wishes, Mark and Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews