We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
120
21
1
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
21
1
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local community south africa the river wild coast amazing place kayak trip beautiful location friendly and helpful staff bread very special place cheap price prawn curry great food quick walk peace and quiet stayed for nights amazing views
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay - beautiful and serene - great food, great Accomodation and a beach that must rate as one of the best in South Africa!

Pity about loud music and party going on to 2am on last day!

A must visit!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MIKuhlmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

The location is amazing! In a truly unspoilt landscape it’s a great place to explore and relax. Amazing deserted beaches nearby and great coastal walks. We stayed in a safari tent and it was great. Comfortable beds where you can lay and watch wales jumping in the ocean! Ablution blocks are ok. They’re clean. The men’s urinal has one of the best view to pee to!!! Highly recommend this place. Would suggest to bring your own food.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank joshuahF2858UD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Very nice place to stay and relax and have fun also. I've been there with 2 friend and we had a great time, it's located near a small village with a view on the ocean. Staff is very friendly and helpful, food is nice and also you can buy fresh seafood from locals for a very cheap price, we bought 12 just from the ocean oysters for 50 rands. Location is awesome, I recommed you to take a walk from there to river mouth, also it's possible to rent a surf, wet suit and hire a coach. Even in May it's not too cold and ok to swim in the ocean. They have wifi and it's not bad I even managed to have a video call from there, though it's not always working, right after a had a call it collapsed for a couple of hours and mobile network is hardly working there.

Be prepared for the road, it's very bumpy to all Mdumbi area not only this backpackers.

Room tip: great views, surfing, seafood, beach, river
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie_V0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Really amazing location. Staff are very friendly. Food is really nice and cheap. Fresh Seafood can be bought off the locals. Rooms are cozy and beds are comfortable. Atmosphere is sociable and peaceful.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank th0mas15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Mdumbi is heaven. I fell in love with the little village in the middle of nowhere.

I was planning to stay there for a few nights but couldn't leave. I ended up staying 2 weeks and even then left with a heavy heart.

The staff is amazing! So friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to help you.

I stayed in a dorm. It was clean and neat.

They serve quality meals (breakfast, lunch & dinner) that is very well priced. There is also a self catering kitchen to prepare your own feast.

The Lounge is an awesome place to chill with a book and sit and stare at the ocean.

The wooden deck is great for sundowner.

You can do amazing hikes from there all along the coast to discover breath taking views of the coast line.

If you become friends with the fishermen on the rocks, you can braai fresh fish most nights.

I can highly recommend to go for a kayak trip ,it was one of my highlights!! Or relax and go for a massage.

There is the Cool Banana Spaza shop where you can buy basic food items. The local shebeen for a cold beer.
Roots Cafe that serve local cuisine on the Tuesday night is a must do!


If you want a break from a busy life, Mdumbi is the place!!

Thanks to all the staff for making it one of my best holidays. I will be back!!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank Corne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews