We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Destinia.com
CheapTickets
Trip.com
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
53
54
24
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
54
24
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland hotel fiona stag wee host
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

Stayed in this beautiful little gem x1 night .
Richard and Fiona made us very welcome .All Food was made to order fantastically prepared by Fiona .Room tastefully decorated .A very quaint ,cozy friendly hotel off the beaten track

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gillianc650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2020

This hotel is in a small village and makes you feel like you've really got away from it all. A warm welcome from owners Richard and Fiona set the tone and the hotel was room was comfortable with a nice view. The bar was closed due to the Coronavirus situation but there was an ample drinks list and a nice lounde where we enjoyed a G&T before dinner. The food was very good - breakfast made to order and delicious. A highlight was when a large stag (Albert) wandered past the window walking up the main street (hardly any cars) - apparently a regular visitor down from the surrounding hills looking for his tea-time treat of carrots - duly provided for him by Richard and Fiona. An enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Date of stay: September 2020
1  Thank MACKIE901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2020

We were staying nearby for 3 weeks last June 19 and wanted somewhere local for an evening meal for a change from self catering. We had an enjoyable time in the bar which has great facilities and views but no food for non residents. What a shame! If residents can eat, why not non residents. The hotel is missing a big trick for no obvious reason. Sitting on a goldmine and not digging!

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Service
Thank alanCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona C, Owner at The Drumbeg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2020

Thank you for your review
But we have been digging and without the accommodation space required to house staff we are unable to employ people from other areas. Local staff are few and are not willing to travel to us for employment, There is no public transport to offer the required travelling and quite honestly there are not enough people to meet the supply of seasonal workforce.
My husband and I manage, clean, stock, receive guests, serve the bar, cook all food for guests, serve in the dining room, clean and prepare for the breakfast, clean the kitchen, clean the bar, close down for the night and get up in the morning to set for breakfast and then cook and serve breakfast. We then clean the dining room, clean the kitchen after breakfast and have a shower catch up with emails etc any required ordering for stock, food etc. We then clean and service the bedrooms and in between we manage to eat.
So maybe this is why we cannot provide food for non residents. I hope you understand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2019

We literally 'had a blast' en route from Dunnet around the northern coast to Drumbeg as we caught the tail end of Hurricane Dorian. Even without the intermittent heavy rain showers the wind whipped up the sea into spray & formed rainbows with the sun. When we arrived at the tiny Drumbeg Hotel about 3.30 there was a power cut so we sat in the lounge surrounded with candles, chatting to some locals who were also without power. We transferred to the bar & other guests joined us whilst our hosts were planning what sandwich fillings they could offer for 'dinner.' However, when power was restored about 7.15 they managed to offer about half their usual menu & by 8.30, dinner was served. Fantastic welcome & service all the way!

Date of stay: September 2019
2  Thank hildenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona C, Owner at The Drumbeg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2020

Thank you for your lovely review it was indeed a special time and the phrase be prepared is our back up plan. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Fiona & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019 via mobile

Richard and Fiona made us most welcome. Breakfast and dinner were exceptional. Moreover, the bar has a great ambience.
We would highly recommend it to all our friends.
The hotel was recommended by a friend who had a family reunion here and they loved it.
There are some nice walks nearby. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t kind to us so we were limited in this regard.
The scenery is beautiful.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank denniss712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona C, Owner at The Drumbeg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2020

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope you return and see the ongoing changes.
Fiona & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews