We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!!!”
Review of Bubba Gumbo's

Bubba Gumbo's
Ranked #5 of 59 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Description: Bubba Gumbo's is a family owned and operated business. We are a waterfront restaurant located on historic Lazaretto Creek on Tybee Island. All our seafood is local caught and served fresh to you. We are family friendly and also offer boat parking!
Restaurant details
Description: Bubba Gumbo's is a family owned and operated business. We are a waterfront restaurant located on historic Lazaretto Creek on Tybee Island. All our seafood is local caught and served fresh to you. We are family friendly and also offer boat parking!
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Had read reviews on how yummy Bubba’s gumbo was and it did not disappoint!! Hush puppies were delish as well! It’s a must have if you are on Tybee.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Was suggested to us by a local. One of those out of the way places that every vacationer hopes to find to enjoy some true local flare. Loved it and food was great. Best peel and eat shrimp. Met a shrimper on the dock there bringing fresh shrimp in. We had red fish and barracuda. Both excellent!!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 260elisabethv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

There were 11 of us ladies that went and we were a bit Leary at first. So glad we didn’t let the looks scare us away. The hush puppies with honey butter are to die for. I could have made a meal off if them. I had the fried shrimp and it was so fresh and tasty. I highly recommend Bubbas!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank rtr8272011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

While vacationing in the Tybee area, we depended on reviews to choose dinner each night and the reviews did this place right! The special this evening was scallops and OMG! These and their hush puppies with honey butter were on the mark. My daughter chose the gumbo which she usually loves, theirs was good but not her favorite but we make it at home so that could have been the difference. Everything else we ordered was amazing, definitely a good choice! I am so glad we followed the reviews to this out of the way place. Even made a few nice photos of the area when we finished dinner. We will be visiting again when we go back to Tybee.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank trav1194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

The food was fantastic, fresh, and made to order - plus the atmosphere was so relaxing in the evening - you can even walk through the property towards the water!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Food
Thank hellofrom060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bubba Gumbo's also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Bubba Gumbo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing