We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
182
32
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
182
32
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler room honeymoon suite atlantic room every morning cheese and crackers eggs made to order large walk in closet chocolate chip cookies wedding cake anniversary trip breakfast was amazing top floor other guests view of the ocean a great place to stay front porch ms
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

we didnt have t.v. or internet working in our room the whole time we stayed. normally it wouldn't be that big of a deal but for $300 a night you would at least expect that. the room was very average, the same as a cheap hotel somewhere else. they told us they were going to reimburse us $25 for our stuff not working, but they didn't. they sent it to somebody else's card and had no idea where the money was.

Room Tip: don't stay here
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Connector768333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Guest Relations Manager at DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Good morning, we apologize for the internet inconvenience. Please e-mail reservations@desotobeachhotel.com with more specific details of when and which property you stayed with us and we will be happy to investigate the matter further. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

Management of the DeSoto Beach B&B is through the hotel next door. The DeSoto Beach B&B is a delightful, three bedroom house that has everything to make it feel like home. We arrived about 90 minutes early to check-in and were given some suggestions for things to do by the front desk. She called us when our room was ready. The house is a three-story house with no elevator, and everyone has to go up at least one flight of steps. Our room was on the top floor and was a lovely suite. It had a very comfy King bed with a beach view (limited by more recent buildings, but that is the state of affairs on the island, I'm afraid). There is a very large walk-in closet with refrigerator, a dressing table in a room with a lavatory, a room with a toilet and a lavatory, and another room with a separate shower and a claw-foot tub. It was very clean and comfortable. Another reviewer complained of poor AC, but we experienced exactly the opposite. The AC worked well and there also was a ceiling fan. On the middle floor is a full kitchen, dining room area, sitting area, and beautiful sitting porch. In fact, the house has several porches that we enjoyed: one off our bedroom, two (a front and a back porch) off the middle level, and a beautiful front porch. We enjoyed evenings on our private porch watching the beach and the storm roll in over the water.
Beach access is only a few steps away, and there is a swing on the beach that was a nice resting spot, too. The beach is clean and was not over-populated during our visit.
Hillary cooked breakfast for us each day and set out wine, lemonade, crackers and cheese each afternoon for happy hour. She was a great hostess. The inn was very quiet and a really nice place to go for a restful time of rejuvenation.

Room Tip: The third floor room is a suite and is considerably larger. One of the other rooms has a beach view and the other has a street view.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Guest Relations Manager at DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy you enjoyed our Bed & Breakfast and staff services. We will pass along your kudos to Hilary as well. We hope you will think of us again when your travels bring you our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

We will be back. True southern hospitality. The breakfast was amazing each morning. The service was always warm and welcoming. The beach was almost right outside the door. We hated to leave. Please visit and enjoy.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Guide778617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Guest Relations Manager at DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at our Bed & Breakfast and you taking the time to share your comments. We are very glad you had a great Tybee experience and will look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

We have stayed at the DeSoto B and B numerous times. It is always our first choice when we plan our vacation. It feels like we are at home the minute we arrive. Debra makes a great breakfast and keeps the home looking nice.

Room Tip: Comfortable and clean
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank tlanyi2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Guest Relations Manager at DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and are very happy that you are a satisfied repeat guest. We will pass along your compliments to Miss Debra as well. Please think of us again when your travels bring you back to our little island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

This Bed and Breakfast is located on the less touristy part of the island which makes it great for relaxing and not having to deal with big crowds of people. The staff is an absolute delight and will bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable. Breakfast is wonderful and will leave you full for hours.
Its only a 20 to 30 minute drive into Savannah, so there is plenty to do around here.
My only complaint was that the bed was too soft for my liking and a little loose so it squeaked when you moved around or turned over.

Room Tip: The Atlantic is right off the stairway and dining area, you may want to request a different room.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrswiggles28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Guest Relations Manager at DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We have passed along your concerns to our housekeeping and maintenance departments regarding your bed. We are happy you were able to relax and enjoy the serenity of our little three mile island. Our staff is always striving to ensure an outstanding guest experience and we were glad to hear we accomplished this for you. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews