We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Beach Eats!”

North Beach Bar & Grill
Ranked #15 of 59 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Nestled between the lighthouse and the beach, the North Beach Bar and Grill offers an amazing lunch and dinner menu that will tantalize even the most reserved palate. Eclectic fusion with a Caribbean flair, our menu features local, sustainable seafood and the freshest ingredients. While our chefs create gourmet dishes rivaling the best restaurants in town, we also serve hot dogs, crab cake sandwiches, fish tacos, and wings in our quaint beach shack by the sea. So whether you've been out on the beach and want a cold beer and a burger or you're planning a catered business luncheon, the North Beach Bar & Grill is the place for you.
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Seafood cakes appetizer was out of this world! Stuffed with the good stuff for sure! I ordered the peel and eat shrimp with red beans and rice and sweet potato fries with a balsamic glaze. The shrimp was fantastic... served hot and full of flavor. Red beans and rice wasn’t so great... but the fries were different and delicious. Highly recommend those fries, the shrimp and the seafood cakes. Service is very laid back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 1 121 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Visiting North Beach, we stopped here for a drink on a hot, August afternoon. I looked for shade from the building as we sat outside at a table under an umbrella. Shade we got but not much of the sea breeze which was more prominent at tables on the perimeter. They have fans but the air from them bounced off the umbrella tops and missed us entirely. Just luck of the draw on my part, nothing the NBBnG did wrong.
Service, however, was a little slow, particularly since this was a slow Wednesday after 3 pm and few people were there. Once the server brought the menu and learned we were there for drinks only, she pleasantly gave us the drink menu , left and didn't return for a very long time to take our order. Once she delivered our drinks, she never returned again to check on us for refills or ask if we needed anything. We finally waved down another server and asked for the check.
Now, at no time was our server rude or unpleasant. She was simply not attentive at all. With about 3 other tables occupied outside and no one eating inside for her to serve, I have no idea what occupied her time or attention but it sure wasn't us.
The drinks were fine, the location lovely, and we would return to try this place again. I'll chalk today's visit up to a preoccupied server who needs a little more experience.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 20hdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

There is simply nothing better than going to the North Beach on Tybee, and taking a break to have a cheeseburger, sweet potato fries and cold Red Stripe tall boy at the North Beach Grill.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank G2496JRchrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

This was our second visit to North Beach Bar and Grill. Our first was over 5 years ago in the off season. This time the restaurant was a lot more crowded, but we were pleased to be seated inside right away. We opted for a table inside since it was a very hot day, however, it was not a whole lot cooler. Ceiling and floor fans placed near tables helped.
The restaurant was full and we unfortunately experienced very slow service. Staff did not seem to be able to keep up with the tables. As for our meal, we all opted for the fish sandwich which was served as a very generous portion. It came with two sides-the sweet potato fries were delicious!
We will definitely return on our next visit to Tybee. Know that inseason expect a bit of a wait and dress in cool attire.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank LynnVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Last time we came here a few years back, it was pretty good. This time it was awful. They ran out of stuff on the menu, it was hot, food was cold and service was terrible. I probably won't stop there again

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank carezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to North Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing