We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit”

Lakeland Motor Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lakeland Motor Museum nestles in the picturesque Leven Valley, at Backbarrow, close to the southern tip of Lake Windermere in the beautiful English Lake District.This thought-provoking attraction provides a perfect 'whatever the weather', all year venue, which entertains and enthrals all ages.Our free educational quiz helps pass on knowledge and understanding.We offer combined ticketing with Windermere Lake Cruises and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Steam Railway.The museum's adjacent Cafe Ambio has a beautiful riverside setting and our welcoming gift shop is among the best of places to find the perfect present for any occasion.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent atttaction friendly and helpful staff well worth a visit good displays and interesting vehicles to see. Love the old fashion games and at 20p a go very reasonable. Well worth the ticket price also interesting Campbell exhibition to see as well free parking as well.

Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluebirdC, Public Relations at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review and five star rating. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit to our museum and found it well worth the admission. We hope to welcome you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"donald campbell"
in 140 reviews
"bluebird exhibition"
in 105 reviews
"separate building"
in 44 reviews
"old cars"
in 71 reviews
"petrol head"
in 34 reviews
"on display"
in 61 reviews
"shop fronts"
in 14 reviews
"speed records"
in 37 reviews
"blue bird"
in 23 reviews
"pedal cars"
in 24 reviews
"classic cars"
in 30 reviews
"rainy day"
in 64 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 71 reviews
"great collection"
in 14 reviews
"down memory lane"
in 15 reviews
"isle of man"
in 17 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 19 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 1 218 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a really well kept and impressive museum. All the cars (except one, deliberately) are in exceptional condition. Very interesting to see and came as a surprise. The ladies weren't going to go in, but so glad they did! The museum includes bikes of all descriptions and the whole place naturally evokes memories. So much to see, and a pleasure to see to - being so well restored. Someone puts their heart and soul into this place.

Thank Pixiep92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluebirdC, Public Relations at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What a wonderful review! Many thanks for your lovely, kind comments. We're very pleased you enjoyed your visit especially the ladies!! Thank you for your five star rating. We hope to welcome you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A varied collection of cars bikes motorbikes and scooters to be seen. There is also a exhibition in a separate unit for Donald Campbell land and water speed record attempt.Walking around the museum did make me feel old as some of the exhibits I used to see on the road as an 80s child.And also seeing some of the bicycles in the display, also made me feel old. There is and souvenir shop and a coffee shop on site. I did enjoy the whole experience.

Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluebirdC, Public Relations at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit to our museum- thank you for your review. 80s child isnt old- prime of your life! we hope to welcome you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A wide range of cars and particularly motor cycles, plus other related exhibits. Although the museum apparently moved to this location quite recently the buildings are bulging at the seems with exhibits making it hard to do them justice. A few nostalgia moments on the way round.

The separate exhibition on the Campbells was less cramped and interesting.

A bit expensive for what it offered but good for a wet day.

Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluebirdC, Public Relations at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're pleased you enjoyed your visit to our museum. We try to show as much of the wonderful artefacts we have for everyone's enjoyment and set prices in accordance with similar attractions in the area. We hope to welcome you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I've been to this museum before and will return as loved my trip down memory lane. If you like cars and bikes and old stuff then it's worth a visit. There's something that will take you back in time and the Blue bird exhibition is not to be missed. When growing up we all had bikes and scooters and it was fab to see them here. My husband loved the old cars. His very first car was here too. There's a nice cafe as well to relax and enjoy a cuppa and a piece of cake. Will definitely return.

Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluebirdC, Public Relations at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're delighted you enjoyed it so much you visited us again! Thank you for your lovely review and five star rating. We hope to welcome you a third time and many more thereafter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakeland Motor Museum also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Ravenglass, Lake District
 

Been to Lakeland Motor Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing