We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
jane

Service and administration services are poor

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Dec 2018
they do not admit their faults especially administration part of it. Kitchen service not good at all breakfast needs to improve. Facilities need to upgraded, water is not adjustable in the rooms showers are too hot.
Date of stay: December 2018
Room Tip: room at the south are sea facing
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Wonderful house. Great view. Great hosts.
R 1 530
  • Priceline
    R 1 530
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 530
0.9 km from La Mercy Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 350
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 350
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 350
  • Vio.com
    R 1 350
3.8 km from La Mercy Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 855
  • Expedia.com
    R 855
  • Agoda.com
    R 855
  • Hotels.com
    R 855
1.4 km from La Mercy Beach Hotel
R 1 110
  • Priceline
    R 1 110
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 110
  • Vio.com
    R 1 110
0.0 km from La Mercy Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 200
Fully refundable
No fees just great deals
  • Booking.com
3.3 km from La Mercy Beach Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
R 1 250
R 1 125
  • Priceline
    R 1 125
  • Official Hotel Site
    R 1 250
  • eDreams
    R 1 125
3.6 km from La Mercy Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 940
R 2 650
  • Priceline
    R 2 650
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 651
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 650
3.8 km from La Mercy Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from the veranda of Die Huis/The House
R 1 530
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 530
3.9 km from La Mercy Beach Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 2 980
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
3.9 km from La Mercy Beach Hotel
View more hotels in La Mercy
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
3
2
4
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
3
2
4
6
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Upon arrival at the hotel as part of a group, I was had on the 5th floor Upon entering the plan white printed room the curtains were closed. Upon pulling them back there was a view of the surf coming in. The television was on, but no remote control to turn it off or change channels. I was advised that the hotel charged 100 rand deposit. In general, the room smelt. Late in the evening, I went down to eat, to be met by the members of our group saying it will take up to 45mins to be served.
In fact, it was some10 mins before I was served, Must of the items on the menu was off. Both the starter and main course came out at the same time.
At breakfast next morning when the whole group was down the English breakfast was very limited, however, once you finished the plates were taken away by the staff, as it appears that both owners were their .w hat a pity one was not around the previous evening.
In general, the only thing this hotel has it favour is the view,

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

On arrival the hotel looked ok, however things got worse.
There were a small flight of stairs just to get to the elevator. Once on our floor, we were greeted by a very unpleasant musty smell, this probably came from the bathroom vented windows that are in the corridor.
Once in the room I found nail clippings after moving the twin beds aside, so we weren’t sleeping together.
The WiFi didn’t work and was told it hadn’t worked for at last 4 days, this was more than inconvenient as I had work to do.
We went down for dinner, all I can say was after actually finding something they actually had, it took ages to arrive, tiny portions and quite disgusting. Also ran out of local beer choice. However the nice lady serving us was lovely and very over worked.
None of our rooms had a TV remote available.
The room was dated, the bathroom needed some TLC, the toilet seat was very loose and dangerous, however the water was hot and I mean VERY hot.
Breakfast buffet was available, however the choices was VERY limited, the hot food was not in any way hot and breakfast seemed to be packed away in a rush as if we were an inconvenience.
I can honestly on behalf of myself and the friends that I was staying with, we all agreed this place was awful and probably the worst hotel we had ever stayed in and the only positive thing I can say about it was the lovely sea view.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank D4846CSsteveh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2018

had the fish and chips from there. the food was ok as the fish was so tiny, chipc was excellent. good curries but not on all days. the atmosphere of the restaurant could do with cleaner tables clothes and floors and also more alert staff.if you need a quick bite this place is fine if not dont bother bringing the family.

Date of stay: March 2018
1  Thank elainen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We have been here at La Mercy Beach Hotel on numerous occasions . The food was absolutely devine every time. The service also has always been superb. Will highly recommend the Hotel to anybody that wants good food with good service

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank vikashini
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

I read the reviews for this hotel and was very unsure of what to expect as some reviews were not very good. We only stayed a night here as it is close to the airport but I have no complaints. The room was clean and of a decent size. All rooms have a sea view. It was a bit odd entering the hotel past the kitchen from the parking lot. We had a 3 course dinner there and it was excellent. It was out of season so good value for money. I would stay here again

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews