We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food”

Cowboys & Angels Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #6 of 76 Restaurants in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$34
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: 2018 SPECIALS: Sunday Brunch: 10am-2pm Music & Booze start at 1230pm Mouthwatering Mondays: 20% OFF entire Menu/ $5 Sangrias Tapas Tuesdays: Small, unique, affordable dishes with a Southern flare/ $5 House Wines Wild Game Wednesdays: Elk, Venison, Halibut, Duck & More - MKT Price/ $4 Well Liquor Drinks Thirsty Thursdays: $7 Specialty Burgers/ $3 ALL Draft Beer Pints Fridays & Saturdays: Chef Specials & Live Music
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Awesome service from Josh !!! The chef even asked us how we were enjoying our dinner . Great atmosphere . Will be back

1  Thank Earl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Josh was our server ... outstanding! He was the best.
The bison chili was spectacular. Best grits ever! Buttermilk fried chicken was awesome. Great visit. Chef even came out and said hello.

1  Thank TJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Have been to this restaurant several times lately and it has improved from couple of years ago to a b+/a- which is very good. This past Saturday, which was St.Patrick's Day, was a big time flop.
Service and server were very substandard, she was late to deliver cocktails, beers were ordered from her limited memory due to her not wanting to go back to the bar to ask for the draft selections again! This was to be a common theme of very poor service/attention from a server that seemed to want to be anywhere other than working this night!
The steak special that night was delivered horribly under-cooked. Less than rare, more of a purple brown, think it had been frozen and never got up up to a safe temp. Even with the return of the steak it still appeared on the bill, when questioned it was promptly removed, with an astonished it was still there, comment from the server. Super poor customer image left with our table of four and being regulars really wasn't the best way to leave things.
Only thing different about tonight was, Chris, the owner, wasn't present. Know he needs time away but perhaps that was why this attempt to dine hear was soo bad!
Sorry Chris to share but thought you needed to know!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Owner at Cowboys & Angels Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Steve sorry for your experience on Saturday night! We were a little understaffed and extremely busy with it being a holiday. We came together as a team but obviously weren’t up to our usual standards! Time away is not something we’re known for as I was in the kitchen plating food until about 10pm and not floating the floor as usual! Once again, we did the best we could short staffed and extremely busy. We hope to see you again soon! And we urge you to leave a review about all of those good times you’ve had here too!!!

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

A little busy on a Friday night so we sat at the bar and it was just as good as a table. The staff was friendly and the food was really good! We will definitely be returning for another visit!

Thank Anslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Owner at Cowboys & Angels Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

So glad you enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you again soon!

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Come on people. I trusted trip advisor to recommend a decent place to eat. All I did was overpay for crappy food. This steak you see in this picture is a $34 ribeye. I don't mind paying for a decent cut of meat, obviously, but this was awful. Chewy, overcooked, no flavor whatsoever would be the only way to describe the steak. The sweet potato was not what I ordered, but I'm the guy who doesn't trust restaurants to not mess with food that's been sent back and I hate sweet potatoes. The potato soup was the best thing anyone at our table had. Do yourself a favor and skip this place. Not even close to worth the money.

1  Thank Wesley_4024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Owner at Cowboys & Angels Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

We’re very sorry you didn’t enjoy your 14oz hand-cut Angus ribeye. We would have been more than happy to cook you another steak or correct your side! We could have held the spit! I stopped by your table several times and asked how things were but was never presented with an issue. Obviously, by the amount of people who have an excellent time versus the amount of people that have a terrible time speaks for itself! It’s very uncommon and not what we strive to be! Once again, we apologize for your experience! Next time you’re in, your steak is on me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cowboys & Angels Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing