We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Away from Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Front entrance and part of the front yard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entrance and part of the front yard
wide view of front yard with bird feeders front door and part of living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Front entrance and part of the front yard
wide view of front yard with bird feeders
front door and part of living room
Living room with custom built entertainment center
entertainment center
bar and kitchen
bar and kitchen
very comfy king bed in the HUGE master bedroom
2nd bedroom
organic garden guests are welcome to take whatever you want
Hundreds of bulb flowers are blooming all over the property
cook smores over the fire pit while relaxing in the oversize porch swing
chillax in the hot tub or on the deck while grilling
guest enjoy watching birds at the 'bird Bordello' located near the front porch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Darien, Georgia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeanne T
Chaska, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved how tranquil the Chum Shack was. The house was decorated in a Beach theme and had everything a person could need to have a great vacation. The master bedroom is huge and the king size bed was SO comfortable. Cotton sheets. Plenty of towels, kitchen was well supplied. Cable TV, fire pit, hot tub, patio, front porch. Plenty of wildlife. Watched a group of hawks who lived nearby, picked strawberries out of the garden. Dave, the owner, lets the people renting his place, have at the garden. Beautiful flowers. Near to the small town of Darien, where there are some good restaurants to fill up on seafood! Georgia sweet shrimp rules! Darien is situated close enough to St. Simons, Jekyll, Sapelo islands to visit. Savannah and Tybee beach about an hour away. Great place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility of the place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you Jeanne for your awesome review of the shack. It will only get better. I am glad y'all enjoyed your stay. Safe travels
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acolcl
Hopewell, VA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Master Bedroom”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The master bedroom was the largest I had ever stayed in. The kitchen had many extras with a water filter on the faucet. It was a beautiful area and we awoke one morning to a wonderful bird singing. The grandkids loved the place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The size of the master bathroom.
Liked least: The floors
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Thank you for staying and for your kind review. Safe travels y'all take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M
Clinton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Paradise”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place has everything you could possibly need for a wonderful vacation. It is a great place to relax after a long day of enjoying everything Darien, Sapelo Island, St. Simons Island, Jekyll Island, Savannah and Jacksonville FL has to offer. The hot tub is great to relax in! The owner, Dave Hust, really goes out of the way to make your stay enjoyable. He runs a fishing charter and eco-cruise tour business and really knows his stuff....we took an informative eco-cruise with him and saw a HUGE sea turtle! and lots of dolphins This was one of the most enjoyable properties and regions we have ever been too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Landscaping
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thank you Sean for your review of the chumshack. Seeing that turtle is probably going to be a high light of my year. I look forward to seeing you guys back for some shark fishing. Yall take care, it was nice meeting you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkiePadok...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In one WORD!!! AWESOME!!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This trip has been planned for quite some time with another couple and at the last minute, the other couple cancelled... At first, I was disappointed, but as it turned out, our vacation was more like a honeymoon!!! The seclusion and serenity couldn't have been more romantic! Our host, Captain Dave, who BTW is such a super nice and fun
guy, left us wanting for nothing!
Captain Dave owns a charter called "Mad Shark Charter"!! Let me tell you!! Exciting!! We had a BLAST!! He knew exactly where to go to make sure we caught all we wanted!! Afterwards, we cooked some of our catch, which was amazing, and sat completely fulfilled and relaxed by the fire pit. The
next day was just down the road to enjoy some local hospitality and more seafood!! And then there was some beach time!! There was not enough time to do it all over again!! I will be making this trip a MUST every year!!! Thank you Captain Dave!! It was AWESOME!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind review of the chum shack. It very nice meeting you guys and I had a great time putting you guys on your first big sharks. I am sorry I was unable to get the hot tub set up during your stay, it is now in place and waiting for you next time you get this way. Good luck with your new life together, ya'll take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mvintn
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Peace and quite, kayaking paradise!”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We really enjoyed our stay. It is very peaceful and you have everything you need. The master bedroom is awesome! We love to kayak and if your into that kind of thing this rental is the perfect location! It is a short drive to several cool places. There is so much to see in this area... a week is hardly long enough! We also went on a fishing charter with Captain Dave and caught several sharks. He has a great personality and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Pets love this location too, it has a big yard in a secluded location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and the peace and quite. I loved just sitting outside and hearing all the birds..
Liked least: I can't really think of a negative... Maybe add a larger boiling pot for a shrimp and crab boil :) There is plenty of fresh seafood that you can buy locally in Darien... yum!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
Thank you Maria, it was nice meeting you guys and I am glad you were able to fit a fishing trip into your plans. yall take care thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing