We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect vacation - and a yoga studio too!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blue Moon Antigua

Upper villa deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upper villa deck
Galleon Beach upper villa dining and living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Upper villa deck
Galleon Beach
upper villa dining and living room
kitchen/living room
upper villa kitchen
outdoor garden shower
lower villa bathroom
upper villa living room
walk to beach
sunset from villas
Galleon Beach (villas on left) from Middle Ground
Jacuzzi
morning rainbow from villa deck
steps to villas
Jacuzzi and BBQ area between villas
lower villa bedroom
Galleon Beach dock
hike to Shirley's Heights from villa
view from Shirley's Heights with Galleon Beach and villas
classic yacht racing from villa deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint Paul Parish, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Janetanni...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation - and a yoga studio too!”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I have had the gift of being at many luxury vacation rentals, and I can honestly say Blue Moon is now my favorite.
The private, beautifully appointed villas overlooking the turquoise water of the English Harbor, combined with Mike and Shonnie's generous, gracious hosting, made the six days I spent in Antigua the best vacation I've ever had.
The villas are a part of Galleon Bay resort and perched above the English Harbor - which means one can walk down to the quiet beach, swim and snorkel in the clear and warm sea, have lunch at Roxy's (a casual, open air restaurant), then walk back and enjoy the comforts of home. (At the end of the dock there is a water taxi to take you on a five minute ride into town, with delicious restaurants and a bit of shopping.) The villas themselves are elegant and comfortable, with an outdoor shower and long patio to enjoy the view. If that weren't enough, there is a hot tub and a small, open to the air yoga studio. Several mornings I was able to practice yoga facing the harbor with a warm breeze and hummingbirds for company.
Finally, Mike and Shonnie are perfect hosts - somehow knowing just the balance between making sure you have everything you might need, while also allowing total privacy.
One small suggestion: If you think you will want to cook while there, consider picking up groceries on your way from the airport. Once you have supplies, you may never want to leave!

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than advertised”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This place was awesome! The villa was very comfortable, thoughtfully designed and outfitted. (The bed was so comfortable, the outside shower with stars overhead and palms and ferns nearby was lovely, the kitchen had everything we could have wanted, library of books had something for everyone, the wraparound terrace and large screened windows in every room maximized our enjoyment of the beautiful surroundings...) The landscaping, the harbour view, and the hiking nearby are beautiful. Shonnie and Michael are experts on both Antigua itself, and the art of hospitality. The advice and guidance we received from them made a tremendous impact on our vacation. We found places we never would have found on our own! We had plenty of privacy, but their help whenever we wanted it. We would not hesitate for a second to recommend Blue Moon to anyone looking for a vacation rental in the Caribbean.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie N
Chappaqua, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best vacation spot ever”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent five blissful days at Blue Moon and I can not wait to return there. It is a dreamy, romantic and low key spot to enjoy the very beautiful island of Antigua with the input and guidance of Shonnie and Michael. They seem to intuit exactly what you would want to see and experience while there and offer everything possible to make it happen . The villas are simple and elegant with views of the harbor and the sunset and an endless blue ocean. I enthusiastically recommend it....I have never ever considered returning to the same vacation spot twice but I hope I'm lucky enough to return to Blue Moon many more times.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sage R
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We just returned from 12 days at Blue Moon for our honeymoon, and we couldn't have had a better experience. The villas are beautiful and very well stocked with all the amenities you could possibly need; the view across English Harbor is stunning; and the hosts, Michael and Shonnie, are incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. We were so busy with wedding planning that we didn't plan anything for our honeymoon besides flights and lodging, but it wasn't a problem at all because Michael and Shonnie were so helpful when we arrived with suggesting the best things to do and see and making us reservations.

We spent our days in such a wide variety of ways -- relaxing on our private deck just taking in the view; hiking on trails both straightforward and challenging; snorkeling and swimming at secluded beaches; circumnavigating the whole island by catamaran; getting massages; testing out the wonderful cuisine the island has to offer; and cooking for ourselves in the villa kitchen. We've only been back for a few days, and we're already wishing we could return to Antigua immediately! When we do, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere other than Blue Moon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GahuGrrl
Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“There is no better villa experience on Antigua!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We just finished our third stay at Blue Moon, and will be back! I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Antigua. Located above the English Harbour and just next to Falmouth Harbor, there are 2 spacious, comfortable villas nestled into the hillside with astounding views of the water and surrounding landscape.

We've stayed in both the upper and lower villas. Each is laid out in a similar way, with a front porch/balcony overlooking the harbour (we ate our meals out on the porch), a living room with desk/bookshelves, tv (we didn't use the tv but it had access to various channels), well-equipped kitchen, bathroom and bedroom.

The bedroom featured a king bed that was more comfortable than ours at home, with ample closet and dresser space, and a luxurious mosquito net.

The kitchens are laid out perfectly - ample space to work and cook, quality cookware, microwave and stove, cutlery, blender, coffee maker, and mid-size refrigerator with an ice maker that made our lives soooo sweet! We went shopping in a couple of the local supermarkets and easily prepared our own meals, something that not only saves money but heck, why would we want to eat out when we had the best view on the island?

The bath is also spacious and contains plenty of storage and many helpful items. The shower is located just outside, via a door from the bath or an entryway from the front of the villa. While Antigua doesn't get cold, the hot water felt good right after a swim. Ample bath and beach towels are provided.

Folks who visit tend to leave books behind and both villas feature a ton of random reading if you want it. There are ample outlets installed anywhere they might be needed, so plugging in and using the wireless internet (a private, secure signal) was easy no matter where we were sitting.

The lovely breeze floated through the screens of the huge windows of the house, one of my favorite aspects of these villas - they are extremely well-designed, open and airy. It's so nice to fall asleep lulled by the very gentle waves that wash up into the protected harbor, and to feel a breeze - I'll take this over a hotel room any day.

Between the two villas is a hot tub - yes, a hot tub, situated so we can sit and look out over the harbor while sipping on a margarita and letting the jets work on our tired snorkeling muscles. Next to the hot tub, up on a little platform, is a gas grill for guests to use. The layout of that area is particularly suited if both villas are rented out by friends, as a place to sit on cushioned benches, soak, and socialize.

Flowering bushes and plants abound on the property, and the host, Shonnie, is just down below the villas in her home if needed. Down at that house guests can be supplied with snorkel equipment, or use the yoga area, which is such a bonus for those of us who practice. Right from the house we hiked to many amazing areas - up to Shirley Heights, or around the shore to castle rock, or down to the beach to take a water taxi to Nelson's Dockyard. Shonnie gave us excellent advice on places to eat in Falmouth Harbor as well as ideas of where to find info on places to visit and how to get there. We've never rented a car there - once at the Harbour, everything is just too easy to get to - but there is parking and the entire area of Galleon Beach is gated and safe. This time around we used Shonnie's massage therapist, who visited our villa for a very reasonable rate - there is a massage table usually stored in the upper villa but it's available to guests of both.

This is a great place for folks who want a quiet and friendly atmosphere. Can't recommend it highly enough!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing