We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Segunda Central”

La Segunda Central Bakery
Ranked #1 of 54 Bakeries in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is probably the best Latin bakery in Tampa. It has been family owned for more than 100 years and is now in the 4th generation of ownership. I have gone there over the years and really like everything they make, They used to stop making Cuban sandwiches and cafe con leche at 3 pm but now they make them until closing time. I stopped in this past Saturday and bought a large Cuban and a large cafe con leche. I drank the cafe con leche over the afternoon but brought the sandwich home for later. Last night I ate 1/4th of the sandwich and have the rest to enjoy later. It was huge and filled with all the traditional items our sandwiches here in Tampa are famous for. By the way, others know how wonderful this place is because it was absolutely packed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank slp135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
771stephanie, Manager at La Segunda Central Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you so much for visiting us and for the wonderful review. We are SO HAPPY you enjoyed your visit, your cafe con leche and your sandwich! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

This place does not skimp on their sandwiches! The Cuban was chock full of meat, with just the right balance of pickle. The Continental Special was delicious, and served as lunch the day I bought it and breakfast the next morning (as did half the Cuban for my spouse!). The Continental has rare roast beef, smoked ham, salami, and Swiss cheese on three layers of pumpernickel. The cookies were a bit of a disappointment. We ordered two chocolate chip, and when we took them out they did not have the same big chunks of chocolate like the ones in the display case.

Thank JStudebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Lori (counter help) and the person with multi-colored hair with no name tag should kindly not be working the register. Clearly no customer service training, no smile - basically the first set of people representing the bakery are rude (Lori), or just don't care to make an effort to smile and say hello (multi-colored hair assistant). Food is always amazing, it is unfortunate that they can't find people with the most basic person skills - maybe increase the wage and get the right people in those positions, all other staff are, at the least, smiling.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LocalSef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

No sit down, but walk in and see the many pastries available. My husband loves the apple flip. The Cuban bread is fresh, and served right out of the oven most of the time. You can order a full loaf, for 1/2 loaf. Full loaf $2.50, half $1.25. I ordered the Guava Cheese Turn Over $2.25. Great place to stop and enjoy. We parked about 1/2 mile away, walked to the bakery, got our goodies and ate warm, fresh bread as we walked all over Ybor City.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank celesteu2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
771stephanie, Manager at La Segunda Central Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thank you Celesteu2015 for visiting and the wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your selections.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

best bakery! We got the cuban bread and some cuban sandwiches to go! Had a picnic , hours later, and the sandwiches were delicious!!
We also bought cookies, cinnamon rolls and treats!
Best selection for breakfast, dinner desserts and snacks!!
Great menu for sandwiches, salads and such too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank riley0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
771stephanie, Manager at La Segunda Central Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thank you Debbi R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Segunda Central Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing