We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium
Ranked #10 of 99 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the Mote Marine Laboratory, this is home to a 135,000 gallon outdoor shark tank and many other marine species.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

It really something you have to see, all of the different sea creatures. It made our day .things I have never
Seen or known they existed, my company from Vermont where amazed and talked about it for days. (Skip the bird exhibits)

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Dirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3 804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sea turtles"
in 340 reviews
"shark tank"
in 123 reviews
"touch tank"
in 67 reviews
"giant squid"
in 55 reviews
"otter exhibit"
in 54 reviews
"research facility"
in 72 reviews
"sea world"
in 42 reviews
"all ages"
in 232 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 46 reviews
"second building"
in 39 reviews
"main building"
in 61 reviews
"answer questions"
in 64 reviews
"boat trip"
in 69 reviews
"bird sanctuary"
in 46 reviews
"rainy day"
in 91 reviews
"great for kids"
in 61 reviews
"few hours"
in 89 reviews
Filter

186 - 190 of 3 804 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We really liked it here. Educational and a cool place to see marine animals. My boys enjoyed touching the rays and seeing the manatee!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We have an aquarium where we are from so it is hard to not compare. It was informative and probably more fun for older kids ( we took our toddler). It didn’t take us very long to go through the main building, definitely less then an hour. Part of the exhibits are outside.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank JennOSUDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in today. This place has just the right amount of exhibits. Took less than 2 hours to see everything which was great! The aquarium exhibits were some of the best I’ve seen. Very clean and the fish looked very healthy. Staff was really friendly and offered information as we walked up with out asking. But not in an annoying way. Very enjoyable.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Resort213474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

The Mote is a must if you have children that love sea life and ecological facts in general. Could literally spend hours at the Mote and not see everything. Love the Mote.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Mortgageman9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing